Arcane Wonders Forum

Mage Wars => Spells => Topic started by: rtgwork on April 22, 2013, 03:59:34 AM

Title: Mangler Caltrops
Post by: rtgwork on April 22, 2013, 03:59:34 AM
Will the caltrops attack creatures that were summoned in the same zone?  How about creatures that were banished and then came back into a zone with a caltrops?
Title: Re: Mangler Caltrops
Post by: DarthDadaD20 on April 22, 2013, 07:53:48 AM
Welcome to the Forums rtgwork!!

As for banish, the rules say that teleporting,push/pull, is entering in a zone. So I would say yes.

Pg.24 Traps side bar-An enemy creature might enter the zone by taking
a move action, or it might get Pushed or Teleported

As for summoned, this is being worked out right now, and we do not have an official answer. Im sorry for the inconvenience. My group plays with the assumption that summoning is in fact entering a zone. It would be the ONLY thing in the game to not be considered entering, and in other games we play, when something is summoned it is entering the square or zone or board, what have you.  

This is from the FAQ:
The Mangler Caltrops only attacks creatures that enter into the zone.  This is by any means -Pushing, teleporting, or just walking right in.
It does not attack creatures who are in the zone when it is cast, or who remain in the zone. It does not attack creatures when they exit the zone. If they leave the zone and come back in, it will attack them when they enter the zone again.
Title: Re: Mangler Caltrops
Post by: Shad0w on April 22, 2013, 08:23:37 AM
Quote from: "DarthDadaD20" post=11548
Welcome to the Forums rtgwork!!

As for banish, the rules say that teleporting,push/pull, is entering in a zone. So I would say yes.

Pg.24 Traps side bar-An enemy creature might enter the zone by taking
a move action, or it might get Pushed or Teleported

As for summoned, this is being worked out right now, and we do not have an official answer. Im sorry for the inconvenience. My group plays with the assumption that summoning is in fact entering a zone. It would be the ONLY thing in the game to not be considered entering, and in other games we play, when something is summoned it is entering the square or zone or board, what have you.  

This is from the FAQ:
The Mangler Caltrops only attacks creatures that enter into the zone.  This is by any means -Pushing, teleporting, or just walking right in.
It does not attack creatures who are in the zone when it is cast, or who remain in the zone. It does not attack creatures when they exit the zone. If they leave the zone and come back in, it will attack them when they enter the zone again.


The reason for this is technically a summoned creature does enter the zone but for balance issue we have been looking at summoning not triggering cards like the caltrops.
Title: Re: Mangler Caltrops
Post by: DarthDadaD20 on April 22, 2013, 10:03:13 AM
But it is so fun to place caltrops in a zone with a spawnpoint!!! come on!
Title: Re: Mangler Caltrops
Post by: Graendahl on March 24, 2018, 09:50:17 PM
Okay..   This might sound stupid..   But the text on the card does not denote if it only attacks enemy creatures or if the "EACH NON FLYING CREATURES" means your friendly forces as well??

   If it attacks both Friend and Foe, what is the use of this card??
Title: Re: Mangler Caltrops
Post by: RomeoXero on March 26, 2018, 10:45:42 AM
Yes it attacks all non flying creatures, regardless of friendly or not.
Title: Re: Mangler Caltrops
Post by: DaveW on March 26, 2018, 11:10:56 AM
Okay..   This might sound stupid..   But the text on the card does not denote if it only attacks enemy creatures or if the "EACH NON FLYING CREATURES" means your friendly forces as well??

   If it attacks both Friend and Foe, what is the use of this card??

Correct... the it attacks all non flying creatures when they enter the zone.

In addition to the spawnpoint issue, note that this technically also means that a flying creature can enter the zone and then go on guard (losing flying) and be immune to the caltrops.

The use is the same as if it didnít attack your own creatures... except that you need to ensure that it s presence will impact you opponent more than it does you. Either you use it in specific situations (maybe you anticipate a zombie frenzy, for example), or you run sturdier and or fewer creatures than your opponent.

Title: Re: Mangler Caltrops
Post by: Coshade on March 26, 2018, 04:43:48 PM
If it attacks both Friend and Foe, what is the use of this card??

The big thing this card is good against is swarm melee strategies. The card does not see a lot of play. I think there is a place for this card in ranged focused warlords. It's a decent combo with steep hill. Also the Siren or Fm could probably get some mileage out of it.
Title: Re: Mangler Caltrops
Post by: RomeoXero on March 26, 2018, 04:55:32 PM
 ironically druids probably get the most out of this card. Problem is its 3 sp, and usually not worth the cost for the amount of dice it throws. There's a place for it somewhere, but it's hard to justify the action.
Title: Re: Mangler Caltrops
Post by: iNano78 on March 26, 2018, 06:30:06 PM
ironically druids probably get the most out of this card. Problem is its 3 sp, and usually not worth the cost for the amount of dice it throws. There's a place for it somewhere, but it's hard to justify the action.

The Druid, Siren or Forcemaster might get the most out of this card, but the Necromancer is enjoying this thread bump.

"Mmmm... aged 5 years. Excellent bouquet. A very nice vintage."

Welcome to the forums, Graendahl!