Arcane Wonders Forum

Mage Wars => General Discussion => Topic started by: ArcaneDuels on January 20, 2016, 12:09:51 PM

Title: Academy Priestess Reveal - Temple Sentry
Post by: ArcaneDuels on January 20, 2016, 12:09:51 PM
Reveal #6!

No body knows where he came from, but his enemies would never forget him.

Temple Sentry (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=osNgHMHxYd0)

Is this guy crazy or what!? No, really, let us know.
Title: Re: Academy Priestess Reveal - Temple Sentry
Post by: iNano78 on January 20, 2016, 12:36:59 PM
He'll be great in Domination.  Pack 6 of these and it's like having a free indestructible Altar of the Iron Guard.  Makes protecting your Orbs a lot easier.
Title: Re: Academy Priestess Reveal - Temple Sentry
Post by: Halewijn on January 20, 2016, 12:40:45 PM
That's a very cool card! I love that they try to force the holy mages to be defensive. giving them more personal flavor.

Also, since the creature has less armor while it isn't guarding the enemy has too choose between killing the defender while he hasn't much armor or attacking the original target and risking to lose more attacks on it while it has more armor later on.  very neat!

I should try the holy school more often, definitely the school I play the least.
Title: Re: Academy Priestess Reveal - Temple Sentry
Post by: RomeoXero on January 20, 2016, 02:21:36 PM
Interesting. I see these being baller in academy, but in arena?I suppose they will make for more cheap creatures from the temple, and they are soldiers so they can benefit from armory, which practically makes them battle forge stats while guarding. They might be right up the priest's ally for some stuff. But 2 dice, 5 life, no intercept (duh lol), all I see in t this card is stall tactics. Hmm, very interesting
Title: Re: Academy Priestess Reveal - Temple Sentry
Post by: Boocheck on January 20, 2016, 02:26:50 PM
Just with a General Signet ring, this guy is my new favourite "Brace yourself". Yes, his health is low for DoT cards but still, he is one of three cards i was super excited from the day one and i am really envy of you that you didnt know what is behind the corner :)

Title: Re: Academy Priestess Reveal - Temple Sentry
Post by: Moonglow on January 21, 2016, 03:03:06 AM
Reveal #6!

No body knows where he came from, but his enemies would never forget him.

Temple Sentry (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=osNgHMHxYd0)

Is this guy crazy or what!? No, really, let us know.

Dont want to sound unappreciative as I enjoy your discussion on these cards, but can you post a image of the card with these posts? even if its a day or two after the post.  Its kinda a pain to always have to go back to youtube to refer/look at the card text in relation to any discussion.
Title: Re: Academy Priestess Reveal - Temple Sentry
Post by: Wildhorn on January 30, 2016, 12:47:13 PM
I agree with Moonglow on this.
Title: Re: Academy Priestess Reveal - Temple Sentry
Post by: Ophidimancer on January 30, 2016, 11:54:04 PM
With Altar of the Iron Guard out, this guy comes in with two Guard markers, which is something I'm not sure we've seen before.  I think the rules accommodate, though, right?  He just gets to guard twice?
Title: Re: Academy Priestess Reveal - Temple Sentry
Post by: Wildhorn on January 31, 2016, 07:31:16 AM
With Altar of the Iron Guard out, this guy comes in with two Guard markers, which is something I'm not sure we've seen before.  I think the rules accommodate, though, right?  He just gets to guard twice?

No.
Title: Re: Academy Priestess Reveal - Temple Sentry
Post by: Ophidimancer on January 31, 2016, 09:48:06 AM
No, you don't get to guard twice, or no you don't get two guard markers?  Reviewing the rules, I don't see where this would be against the rules.  I don't see a prohibition against having two guard markers and the rules say an attack removes "the" guard marker, as in singular.  Is there something I'm missing?
Title: Re: Academy Priestess Reveal - Temple Sentry
Post by: ringkichard on January 31, 2016, 09:50:17 AM
I don't believe it's ever spelled out, but from emails with Laddin, I believe I recall that you just remove both guard markers.
Title: Re: Academy Priestess Reveal - Temple Sentry
Post by: Wildhorn on January 31, 2016, 10:03:44 AM
No, you don't get to guard twice, or no you don't get two guard markers?  Reviewing the rules, I don't see where this would be against the rules.  I don't see a prohibition against having two guard markers and the rules say an attack removes "the" guard marker, as in singular.  Is there something I'm missing?

Because there was no way to get more than one guard marker before, so they wrote it to singular. But if you keep reading, it says: "Once the attack is resolved, the creature is no longer guarding [...]".

Title: Re: Academy Priestess Reveal - Temple Sentry
Post by: silverclawgrizzly on January 31, 2016, 10:14:46 AM
This is an excellent card I think will see lots of play in Domination, and likely a fair amount in Arena.
Title: Re: Academy Priestess Reveal - Temple Sentry
Post by: Ophidimancer on January 31, 2016, 10:43:17 AM
I don't believe it's ever spelled out, but from emails with Laddin, I believe I recall that you just remove both guard markers.

I see.  I wonder if there are any negative play effects from allowing them to stay?
Title: Re: Academy Priestess Reveal - Temple Sentry
Post by: Wildhorn on January 31, 2016, 11:23:38 AM
I don't believe it's ever spelled out, but from emails with Laddin, I believe I recall that you just remove both guard markers.

I see.  I wonder if there are any negative play effects from allowing them to stay?

1 Full action to prevent 2 attacks is too powerful.
Title: Re: Academy Priestess Reveal - Temple Sentry
Post by: Ophidimancer on January 31, 2016, 11:35:43 AM
1 Full action to prevent 2 attacks is too powerful.

You can achieve similar effects with a spawnpoint and a summon or the Beastmaster's double summon, given an Altar of the Iron Guard.  Is it just the mana efficiency of it that makes it overpowered?  Or are there actual rules inconsistencies that would result if allowed?
Title: Re: Academy Priestess Reveal - Temple Sentry
Post by: Wildhorn on January 31, 2016, 12:03:57 PM
1 Full action to prevent 2 attacks is too powerful.

You can achieve similar effects with a spawnpoint and a summon or the Beastmaster's double summon, given an Altar of the Iron Guard.  Is it just the mana efficiency of it that makes it overpowered?  Or are there actual rules inconsistencies that would result if allowed?

The examples you gave are all 2 actions. Not just 1.
Title: Re: Academy Priestess Reveal - Temple Sentry
Post by: Ophidimancer on January 31, 2016, 02:46:18 PM
1 Full action to prevent 2 attacks is too powerful.

You can achieve similar effects with a spawnpoint and a summon or the Beastmaster's double summon, given an Altar of the Iron Guard.  Is it just the mana efficiency of it that makes it overpowered?  Or are there actual rules inconsistencies that would result if allowed?

The examples you gave are all 2 actions. Not just 1.
Okay then maybe my question then is why is being able to guard twice with one action too powerful?
Title: Re: Academy Priestess Reveal - Temple Sentry
Post by: Wildhorn on January 31, 2016, 03:55:29 PM
Because you gain a huge tempo advantage. Your opponent has to spend 2 actions to bypass your 1 action.
Title: Re: Academy Priestess Reveal - Temple Sentry
Post by: Mystery on January 31, 2016, 04:04:37 PM
its two actions as you had to summon that altar of the iron guard, and with 5 life and 3 armor he could be killed, it is not changing too much. if bm quick sommon you get a guard for a quick action also, guard dog might give you more actions, etc
Title: Re: Academy Priestess Reveal - Temple Sentry
Post by: Wildhorn on January 31, 2016, 04:12:00 PM
its two actions as you had to summon that altar of the iron guard, and with 5 life and 3 armor he could be killed, it is not changing too much. if bm quick sommon you get a guard for a quick action also, guard dog might give you more actions, etc

The altar doesn't really count because you cast it in your starting corner then move toward the battle. Once in the heat of the battle, it is a 1 action that require your opponent 2 action to get ride of.

But if you really want to count it, then Altar + 6 Temple Sentry, if they would be able to guard twice, would be 7 actions requiring your opponent 12 actions to get ride of.
Title: Re: Academy Priestess Reveal - Temple Sentry
Post by: Intangible0 on January 31, 2016, 04:16:57 PM
In the Rule book it states, "If a guard is the target of a melee attack, you must remove the guard marker when the attack is complete, at the end of the Counterstrike Step, even if the attack did not hit. Once the attack is resolved, the creature is no longer guarding and loses both the Counterstrike trait granted by guarding and the ability to protect its zone."

So even though it states that you remove THE guard marker, assuming only one, it also states that you won't benefit from guarding anymore. In that case if you are allowed to have more than one marker you at a time, you still won't have the associated traits after the first is removed.
Title: Re: Academy Priestess Reveal - Temple Sentry
Post by: Mystery on January 31, 2016, 04:36:46 PM
its two actions as you had to summon that altar of the iron guard, and with 5 life and 3 armor he could be killed, it is not changing too much. if bm quick sommon you get a guard for a quick action also, guard dog might give you more actions, etc

The altar doesn't really count because you cast it in your starting corner then move toward the battle. Once in the heat of the battle, it is a 1 action that require your opponent 2 action to get ride of.

But if you really want to count it, then Altar + 6 Temple Sentry, if they would be able to guard twice, would be 7 actions requiring your opponent 12 actions to get ride of.

and even if it would 5/3 is not unkillable a grizzly kills it in zone with an average roll
Title: Re: Academy Priestess Reveal - Temple Sentry
Post by: Wildhorn on January 31, 2016, 04:57:23 PM
its two actions as you had to summon that altar of the iron guard, and with 5 life and 3 armor he could be killed, it is not changing too much. if bm quick sommon you get a guard for a quick action also, guard dog might give you more actions, etc

The altar doesn't really count because you cast it in your starting corner then move toward the battle. Once in the heat of the battle, it is a 1 action that require your opponent 2 action to get ride of.

But if you really want to count it, then Altar + 6 Temple Sentry, if they would be able to guard twice, would be 7 actions requiring your opponent 12 actions to get ride of.

and even if it would 5/3 is not unkillable a grizzly kills it in zone with an average roll

The problem is not that it is unkillable. It is that it gives you an action advantage if you can't one shot it. And using a Grizzly to get ride of this, is a serious waste of ressource.
Title: Re: Academy Priestess Reveal - Temple Sentry
Post by: ringkichard on January 31, 2016, 05:41:02 PM
Please believe me; the game does not support removing one guard marker, and leaving the other, very well.

E.g. Suppose If I make a Sweeping melee attack in a zone with one guarding creature with having two Guard Markers. The second attack would be required to target the guard again, which it cannot.

As a general guideline, if there's an assumption made in the authorship of the game rules, it's best to obey it unless it's being intentionally contradicted.
Title: Re: Academy Priestess Reveal - Temple Sentry
Post by: Laddinfance on January 31, 2016, 05:57:17 PM
Both are removed after the creature is attacked.
Title: Re: Academy Priestess Reveal - Temple Sentry
Post by: Ophidimancer on January 31, 2016, 11:03:05 PM
E.g. Suppose If I make a Sweeping melee attack in a zone with one guarding creature with having two Guard Markers. The second attack would be required to target the guard again, which it cannot.
Good point, that is a rules inconsistency that would result if one allowed a double guard action.