Arcane Wonders Forum

Mage Wars => Rules Discussion => Topic started by: Mathias on March 01, 2013, 03:11:08 AM

Title: Mind Control and Upkeep
Post by: Mathias on March 01, 2013, 03:11:08 AM
Mind Control states that you gain control of a monster. But you do not own the monster I assume

If you would cast essence drain on a monster ( 2 upkeep for opponent) and you take control of it, I deduce your opponent still has to pay the upkeep?
I'm only messing around with his creature but all negative effects still apply to my opponent?

Mathias

Answer (also below)
Quote from: "DarthDadaD20" post=8375

Ok, so I found this post in a old thread and Arcanus put:If you cast a Mind Control on a creature, you now become the creature's controller, instead of the player who cast the creature. So sorry about what I said earlier, and yes, I would have to assume you would pay upkeep, and any other effects for having that creature. (like Mordok's obelisk for example)
Title: Re: Mind Control and Upkeep
Post by: DarthDadaD20 on March 01, 2013, 04:27:24 AM
No, with mind control you take control of the creature, but you are not the controller or the caster of the creature.Therefor you are correct.
Title: Re: Mind Control and Upkeep
Post by: Gewar on March 01, 2013, 04:43:08 AM
Quote from: "DarthDadaD20" post=8357
No, with mind control you take control of the creature, but you are not the controller or the caster of the creature.Therefor you are correct.


I think you ARE the controler now - not caster.
Title: Re: Mind Control and Upkeep
Post by: Teclis on March 01, 2013, 08:04:19 AM
I think that you are the controller of the creature when it is mind controlled, and you have to pay the upkeep now.
Title: Re: Mind Control and Upkeep
Post by: DarthDadaD20 on March 01, 2013, 08:28:50 AM
I'm sorry, I cant ever look at the cards when I post and have to go by memory, and this card is not on the internet yet so.
Edit:
Ok, so I found this post in a old thread and Arcanus put:If you cast a Mind Control on a creature, you now become the creature's controller, instead of the player who cast the creature. So sorry about what I said earlier, and yes, I would have to assume you would pay upkeep, and any other effects for having that creature. (like Mordok's obelisk for example)
Title: Re: Mind Control and Upkeep
Post by: Mathias on March 01, 2013, 08:30:28 AM
"You control this creature" ...
Title: Re: Mind Control and Upkeep
Post by: DarthDadaD20 on March 01, 2013, 08:38:50 AM
I was thinking it said you control this creatures actions, meaning not the creature, so again, sorry!
Title: Re: Mind Control and Upkeep
Post by: Mathias on March 01, 2013, 08:42:49 AM
Thanks Darth. :)
Title: Re: Mind Control and Upkeep
Post by: DarthDadaD20 on March 01, 2013, 08:48:01 AM
Sorry for making that as confusing and wrong as possible in the first place! And your very welcome.
Title: Re: Mind Control and Upkeep
Post by: DarthDadaD20 on March 01, 2013, 09:05:55 AM
Nice Job putting the answer up at the top! Thats a good idea! I like that.
Title: Re: Mind Control and Upkeep
Post by: Mathias on March 01, 2013, 09:07:25 AM
the thread was getting quite long - it seemed appropriate :)
Title: Re: Mind Control and Upkeep
Post by: diceman on November 19, 2013, 01:56:45 PM
Bear with me if this is a stupid question, but I'm still learning all the tiny details of the rules that make a difference. I posted in this thread, since my question also fits the headline:

So, when an enemy mage takes control of one of my creatures, he becomes the controller while I'm still the owner, right? Now, just hypothetically speaking, what if I casted Essence Drain on it AFTER it has been taken over - who has to pay the additional Upkeep costs: the rules would imply, me, since I'm the still owner of the creature. But on an intuitive level that doesn't really make sense to me. :o (not to mention, that this could be a pretty stupid move, since now the enemy mage could just destroy it by simply not paying Upkeep-costs). Just asking for the rules' sake. Thanks!
Title: Re: Mind Control and Upkeep
Post by: Zuberi on November 19, 2013, 04:19:09 PM
Quote from: Codex
Upkeep +X: This objectís controller pays X mana during each Upkeep Phase or this object is destroyed.

The enemy mage who mind controlled your creature is now the controller. You are still the owner. Upkeep +X clearly says it is the controller who pays the upkeep cost. Therefore, the enemy mage would be required to pay it (and yes could use that to destroy the creature).