March 22, 2018, 08:09:21 PM

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Messages - DaveW

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 49
Spellbook Design and Construction / Re: Enjoying a Stream-lined Druid
« on: March 20, 2018, 04:54:56 PM »
This probably belongs in the Spellbook Design thread.

You might get a better reply there.

General Discussion / Re: Its 2018 -- Any news?
« on: March 12, 2018, 07:21:42 PM »
Since when is unplayable not a word?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-J327A using Tapatalk

It is a word. It was not the word he was looking for, however.

League / Tournament Play / Re: Indianapolis Mages Wanted
« on: March 04, 2018, 10:06:16 PM »
I am unavailable 3/24-25... not sure about Friday. I will have to let you know as the time gets closer.

Spells / Re: Dark L1 Enchantments D-H
« on: March 03, 2018, 09:02:19 AM »
As far as I know, the markers give you the trait, yes?

That's what I've always thought... but Puddin' seems to believe differently, and he know better than I.

Still it seems odd to me if he is right.

I can only tell you what it seems (to me) to be saying (I know... it doesn't say this, just saying)... and that would be that you needed to move closer to the Siren and could not move away from her... that's just what makes the most sense to me FWIW.

If you can satisfy the requirement by moving closer and then moving farther away, then why not be able to move farther away first, and then move closer? You still (sort of) move one zone closer during your action.

Rules Discussion / Re: Push Errata?
« on: February 27, 2018, 04:07:29 PM »
If having to spend extra mana is specifically mentioned in the spell text (as with Force Push or Force Wave) in question, then yes... you spend extra mana. If not (as with Jet Stream), then no. Note that some spells (Cascading Force Wave, for instance) specifically mention that you can't push through any kind of wall. Go blow your opponents away through those nasty walls!

Rules Discussion / Re: Tsunami pushes when things happen to the caster
« on: February 24, 2018, 02:06:07 PM »
A Creature being pushed into a wall with the Passage Blocked trait would undergo the bash. The push would not carry the Creature "over" the wall., but a Tsunami encountering such a wall would continue into the next zone past it (presuming that zone can be targeted by the caster), even without any such Creatures being pushed into it.

Rules Discussion / Re: commander's cape
« on: February 24, 2018, 12:42:34 PM »
Izzy would have the subtype as long as you controlled it... from spellbook building on. If another Mage took control of Izzy somehow, then it would lose the subtype (and potentially gain a different one, depending on who the new controller is).

At no time does training ever cease to exists.

Rules Discussion / Re: Weapon familiar for the warlock
« on: February 24, 2018, 12:07:32 PM »
Note that the spell must be prepared for the weapon to cast it, just as with other familiars

Rules Discussion / Re: Tsunami pushes when things happen to the caster
« on: February 24, 2018, 12:05:48 PM »
i have read several post about tsunami and several doubts i have.

1) When the spell is cast it do another attack to the same target when this is pushed to the next zone?
2) How many zones affects this spell?
3) if one enemy is pushed to the last zone , and is the wall arena, Does he suffers 3 attack dice?
4) Does this attack target walls?

Yes, it attacks all objects in the zone, including creatures pushed there from the prior attack

Every zone in the direction the Tsunami is flowing, including the zone into which it is cast... walls are ignored for purposes of Taunami movement, but movement is subject to targeting  / line of sight.

Yes, a push in the last zone results in a wall bash.

No, the attack does not impact walls as they exist on the border of zones.

League / Tournament Play / Re: Indianapolis Mages Wanted
« on: February 21, 2018, 09:14:55 PM »
Me weekend? I guess you do think that its all about you 😉

Rules Discussion / Re: zone enchantments
« on: February 21, 2018, 09:13:30 PM »
Thanks... thought that was ruled the other way, but apparently not.

Rules Discussion / Re: zone enchantments
« on: February 21, 2018, 11:22:27 AM »
In a Paladin v Warlord match, could both mages put a Fortified Position down and reveal or is it a first come-first serve proposition?

Both could play it face down, since neither player is aware at that time that another already exists in the same zone. As soon as one is revealed, the other is destroyed however, as it is illegal to have two in the same zone, and it is then obvious to at least one player that two exist there.

If one is placed face down and then revealed, another could not be played into the same zone by either player (even face down) until the first is removed from the zone.

Spells / Re: Novice Enchantments
« on: February 19, 2018, 06:17:46 AM »
Reveal Magic -- I absolutely do use this... especially in my Priestess book.

Think about those times when you have only enough mana to cast one spell from your Mage, and/or your opponent has an enchantment face down that could wreck you (Forcefield, Lion Savagery on Cervere, Nullify or Arcane Ward, etc.)

And then there is the life gain for the Priestess, being a Holy Incantation....

One other thing... consider using RM on your own facedown enchantment if you end up without enough mana to reveal on a mandatory reveal condition that might come into play later that turn... it preserves your enchantment.

Spells / Re: Card of the Day yah! :)
« on: February 19, 2018, 06:07:05 AM »
Quicksand might be a somewhat better version of Tanglevine for the Warlord, I guess... same spellbook points, and a chance to kill the target creature (even if only 1/4 or so). It also takes up the target's actions, whereas an enemy creature in a tanglevine might just ignore that. You wouldn't use it on your own creatures as you might a Tanglevine.

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 49