May 21, 2018, 09:13:16 PM

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.


Messages - iNano78

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 84
1
Strategy and Tactics / Re: Any way to protect a flying creature?
« on: May 10, 2018, 11:25:55 AM »
Yes it can. Targets a creature.

Maim Wings targets a Corporeal Creature, actually.


2
General Discussion / Re: It´s 2018 -- Any news?
« on: May 03, 2018, 04:40:55 PM »
It's a cross-over. Exceed is an unrelated game by Level 99 Games. But for fun they put a Mage Wars character in their game, just as they'd given some Level 99 Games characters to Mage Wars as promos (namely Eligor Larington and Gerard Matranga). Think of it more like an Easter Egg that helps promote both unrelated games in a roundabout way.

3
General Discussion / Re: forum name
« on: April 21, 2018, 09:06:48 PM »
Once upon a time, I was working on a PhD in chemical physics, studying electronic properties of nanoparticles and nanostructures. Around that time, the iPod Nano came out, and I thought the username iNano sounded fun despite having never owned an Apple product.

Since then, I've completed my PhD, no longer work in nanotech (although I'm still a scientist with some degree of association to chemistry and physics), and own an iPhone ("sacrilege!") - and I've continued to use the handle (among others) on a variety of internet forums and such.

4
Rules Discussion / Cowardice / Mass Cowardice and higher level guards
« on: April 17, 2018, 07:57:11 PM »
Living level 1 creature is affected by Cowardice or Mass Cowardice. There is a level 2 enemy creature Guarding the zone, and a different target the creature would like to attack (e.g. a conjuration, perhaps a V'tar orb...). Since the L1 creature can't attack the higher level creature, is it free to attack a different target in the zone... almost as though it has the Elusive trait?

No, I'm not suggesting that an orb can be hit by bypassing a neutral Sslak this way; but if an opponent's creature is guarding, what is the Cowardly creature (dis)allowed to do?

5
Regularly-scheduled Mage Wars action continues in Ottawa on Wednesday April 4... as it has been every other week despite my lack of posting. This week we're at the Royal Canadian Legion in Westboro.

It is recommended (but not required) that each player be prepared to play Domination or Arena on a given night.  That is, it's probably a good idea to bring (at least) 2 spell books: one designed for regular Arena play, and one designed for (presumably multiplayer) Domination - although in principle these could be the same book.

I generally have a few extra Arena and Domination spell books on hand in case you don't have one for a specific format, or want to try for the first time... but probably more fun (and less learning curve) if you arrive with your own spell book.

"Your Wednesday Mage Wars spell book: Don't leave home without it."
- Anonymous Wizard


See you at the Legion!

6
Spells / Re: Mangler Caltrops
« on: March 26, 2018, 06:30:06 PM »
ironically druids probably get the most out of this card. Problem is its 3 sp, and usually not worth the cost for the amount of dice it throws. There's a place for it somewhere, but it's hard to justify the action.

The Druid, Siren or Forcemaster might get the most out of this card, but the Necromancer is enjoying this thread bump.

"Mmmm... aged 5 years. Excellent bouquet. A very nice vintage."

Welcome to the forums, Graendahl!

7
Spells / Re: Second Chance vs Rise Again question
« on: March 19, 2018, 07:59:13 PM »
I guess you could reveal it after the roll dice step, before apply damage and effects.

8
Spells / Re: Second Chance vs Rise Again question
« on: March 19, 2018, 05:54:09 PM »
Was Second Chance already errata'd? Because my copy says nothing about "Reveal on Destroyed." The Reveal Cost-Circle isn't even RED (must reveal). As reading the card, it would appear you need to manually reveal Second Chance BEFORE uninterruptible dmg occurs.

Should look like the image at http://www.spellbookbuilder.com/. Pretty sure there has only been one printing of Academy Priestess...

9
Rules Discussion / Re: Dragon's Breath target options
« on: March 02, 2018, 10:33:30 AM »
I dislike that walls are also not in the zones they border. they should be subjected to zone attacks etc.

Earthquake
Underused, imho.
*edit* Then again, I play multiplayer Domination, where it's common for key conjurations to be in adjacent zones, often separated by an enemy wall, with several creatures I'd be happy to Slam (e.g. de-guard the guards!). And it's a format where the Warlord is among the better mages, so Earthquake is even in-school!

10
Rules Discussion / Re: Dragon's Breath target options
« on: March 02, 2018, 04:35:52 AM »
Heyho.

With the thornlasher epidemic ravaging the meta, I'm trying to find ways to weed out the root of the problem.

I've been thinking about using Dragon's Breath to get rid of the tree from a distance.

Now imagine the Tree in A1 and my Warlock in A4. The druid's not stupid and has conjured a wall of thorns to block me from attacking.

Do I have to see both targets for my Dragon's breath at the start of the attack?

Dragon's Breath
No. The target line only requires a (single) creature or conjuration. Compare to Teleport (and others) that require more than 1 target.

If that wall is between A1 and A2, can I attack the wall as an attack onto A2 and, after successfully destroying it, now choose a target in A1, since vision is no longer blocked?

The card text specifies that you may make the second attack after completing the first, so it stands to reason that you could attack beyond the wall after attacking and destroying the wall with the first attack.

Furthermore, if that wall is between A2 and A3, can I attack the Wall as a target in A2 (where the wall technically is, too) even though I can't see A2, and still use the second attack on the tree in A1?
Definitely. This is how some archers and Ballista (e.g. cards with minimum range of 1), are able to make ranged attacks against a wall bordering their zone. You need line of site to the target (the wall), and the wall must be at the correct range (both 0 and 1, in Ballista's case; both range 1 and 2 in your example).

11
Events / Re: ADMW Open 2 - An Open Online Mage Wars Tournament
« on: February 14, 2018, 11:21:00 AM »
Nice.

Beef

12
General Discussion / Re: The future of Mage Wars
« on: January 22, 2018, 07:18:55 PM »
https://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/1698407/thoughts-next-expansion

Aaron Brosman Posted Sat Dec 31, 2016
...

That was only 1 year ago (plus a few days), Academy was already out, and then Aaron (aka Laddinfance) disappeared from Etheria never to return... so yes, something very drastic thing happened, but it wasn't Academy.

13
More Dragons.

More Trample (including a dinosaur for sure).

Mounts for each mage type.

Frost spells.

Swamp Golem. (There is already leaked art for this, and Magma Golem was in LGv1)

*edit* And I second errata Wizard and Wizard's Tower, since these weren't even in 4th printing of the Core Set.

14
General Discussion / Re: The future of Mage Wars
« on: January 16, 2018, 12:20:56 PM »
you're right isel, I'm afraid the first thing we'll hear about the new academy extension´s will be a picture on a merchant page on the internet, like last year.

Our policy at this time is that we don't announce a new product until the files have been sent to our manufacturer. That equates to approximately 3-4 months before the retail launch.

This is due to times in the past where we said "XYZ is coming in Spring" and then Spring comes and goes.

So we can safely assume that nothing is coming in the next 3-4 months if we haven't heard anything?

15
Rules Discussion / Glancing Blow reveal condition
« on: January 13, 2018, 07:58:03 AM »
I should know this...

Glancing blow:
Quote
When this creature is attacked, you must reveal Glancing Blow at the beginning of the Roll Dice step. If you do, that attack rolls 3 less attack dice (minimum 1 die). Then, destroy Glancing Blow.

If the attack doesn't make it to the Roll Dice step (e.g. because it gets canceled by a defense or something), do I still have to reveal and ultimately destroy Glancing Blow? Or do I only reveal Glancing Blow if the attack makes it to the Roll Dice step?

In other words, should I interpret the first sentences of the card text to read:

"When attacked, you must reveal Glancing Blow. During the Roll Dice step, the attack rolls 3 less attack dice."

Or

"When attacked, if the attack makes it to the Roll Dice step, then you must reveal Glancing Blow. Then this attack rolls 3 less attack dice."

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 84