September 17, 2019, 05:53:20 AM

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.


Topics - the_iron_troll

Pages: [1]
1
Rules Discussion / Eagle Wings Vs Quicksand
« on: July 24, 2014, 09:36:03 PM »
What is the last chance to activate Eagle Wings in response to a creature being targeted with Quicksand? Can you activate Eagle Wings on the Counter Spell step, making it an invalid target? I assume that once the Quicksand has Resolved, you can no longer slap on some wings and fly away.

2
Spells / Gate to Hell
« on: November 06, 2012, 09:17:45 PM »
I'm really on the fence about Gate to Hell.

If you're going with a Pentagram strategy, that +1 Melee is a lot..

You could take down a swarm Beastmaster's whole team with the 12 mana 2nd ability.

And it's unquestionably super cool.

I just don't know if it's any good. Compare it to Tooth & Nail. Gate costs 12 mana, instead of 7, and 1 Melee isn't that much better than 1 Piercing. Yes, opening the Gate can be pretty effective, but it's probably going to light your Warlock on fire too, and the cost is huge! And 6 points to put in your spellbook? Yikes. Tooth & Nail is much more affordable at 2 points.

Maybe the Gate will get better when there's a lvl 2 Demon to summon.

Or maybe it's good right now and I would know already if I was playing the Warlock a bunch.

Thoughts?

3
General Questions / Samandriel's bonus vs. Dark creatures
« on: November 06, 2012, 08:46:45 PM »
Does a Warlock count as a Dark creature?

4
Rules Discussion / The Bloodreaper and loss of life
« on: October 05, 2012, 01:35:54 AM »
If you're anything like me, you were using the Warlock's Bloodreaper wrong!

If you look really closely in the Rulebook under "Life +/- X" it is explained that "loss of life" is different from taking damage: loss of life modifies your maximum life total! But the Warlock card doesn't say "Life - X" from the Bloodreaper ability, it just says "loses life equal to Level +1". And thus (If you're like me) you wouldn't even think to look under "Life +/- X", without that handy little note on the Warlock page:

http://www.magewars.com/jsite/detailed-overview/mages/the-warlock

TIL. And perhaps so did you.

5
Rules Discussion / How does dispelling Magebound enchantments work?
« on: September 30, 2012, 11:56:49 PM »
Magebound the cost to bind an enchantment to a Mage.

But does this also increase the cost to Unbind, ie, Dispel it?

6
Rules Discussion / How does Voltaric Shield work with Armour?
« on: September 30, 2012, 11:16:13 PM »
An example:

Okay, so I have out my Beastmaster, going to town on a Wizard. Wizard has 2 Armour, from the Dragonscale thing. Wizard activates his Voltaric Shield this round.

My Bear Strength-ed Beastmaster clocks the Wizard with a 6 die attack.

I roll 0 0 1 2 **1 **2. (Does that style of writing critical hits make sense to people? Two asterisks in front? Okay.)

SOoooo, how much damage does the Wizard take? Do I get to assign the 3 non-critical damage to the Wizard first, and the Wizard then takes 3 critical damage, bypassing his armour? Or, does the Wizard get to decide which damage his shield blocks, cancelling the 3 critical damage, leaving him taking only a single point of damage?

7
Spells / Is it just me, or is Bear Strength kind of busted?
« on: September 30, 2012, 11:08:23 PM »
This is coming from the perspective of someone who has only played a few games, all of them as the Beastmaster.

In every game, I have wanted as many Bear Strengths as possible. +2 Melee is great, and for only 5 mana, it's sick. I realize that it can just get Dispel-ed on you, and you can't stack them on one dude, but, it means that my Beastmaster and Timber Wolves are all doing 6 dice in melee. The Grizzly would do NINE DICE, with his heavy claw. And that's before I drop a totem to give my guys more armour piercing.

So, is this working as intended? Or is this, as my intuition is telling me, kinda busted?

Pages: [1]