January 23, 2019, 10:59:28 PM

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.


Messages - DaveW

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 55
1
I tried playing with Twister and was pretty disappointed. It doesn't do as much damage and effects as I would like, and attacks the caster unlike Electrify. If you are dead set on using Twister, I'd put in a Wind Wyvern Hide to reduce the effect. Alternately, put in Sandstorm instead... one more SBP cost, but it is the only range 2 zone attack that I'm aware of... and has a pretty decent attack bar.
Did you combine it with the Gale Force Ring?

Yes, the air spells mostly were Gale Force Ring, Twister, Sandstorm, WW Hide, Whirling Spirit, a few Jet Streams and some other things... a bit of position control.

2
I tried playing with Twister and was pretty disappointed. It doesn't do as much damage and effects as I would like, and attacks the caster unlike Electrify. If you are dead set on using Twister, I'd put in a Wind Wyvern Hide to reduce the effect. Alternately, put in Sandstorm instead... one more SBP cost, but it is the only range 2 zone attack that I'm aware of... and has a pretty decent attack bar.

3
Events / Re: Winter Mage War 2
« on: January 17, 2019, 07:11:12 PM »
Thanks everyone!

iNano78 is correct. Under the "discard" system you could attempt to cast Adramelech on the first turn and "oops, I don't have enough mana". Next turn Animate Dead for half cost.

Wow. Just... wow.

As for Steep Hill, it was pointed out that the rules only have it block line of sight through edges and not corners. Therefore anything that could target through opposite corners of Steep Hill's zone was technically not blocked by Steep Hill's rules.  Minor quibble, hardly ever comes up, but just in case...we clarified.

So it would have to be like a range four effect, from the corner zone to the hill to the opposite corner zone. That makes sense... though I can't think of anything that might make use of the ambiguity.

4
Events / Re: Winter Mage War 2
« on: January 17, 2019, 12:01:56 PM »
Thanks for the quick assist. I am curious now... what is the difference between discarding and obliterating a spell?

If such a spell is bound to an object, does it become lost under these rules? Is the object that it is bound to affected at all?

5
Events / Re: Winter Mage War 2
« on: January 16, 2019, 11:16:24 PM »
Can someone elaborate on what ADMW rules are? The only thing I saw mentioned was about Disciple of Radiance.

6
Rules Discussion / Re: Academy Twister and Gale Burst vs Guards
« on: January 07, 2019, 11:29:57 PM »
They only loose the opportunity to take an action that turn, whether to go back on guard, move, or whatever else. They do not lose the guard marker simply because the action is lost.

7
Rules Discussion / Re: Is Gate to Hell a Zone Attack?
« on: January 05, 2019, 10:05:33 PM »
My understanding of Gate to Hell from previous discussions (years ago) was that the Gate had to have a line of sight to each creature being attacked, since that is part of declaring an attack.

Was that interpretation changed when GtH went from range = 2 zones to Arena-wide?

8
Mage Wars Academy / Re: How do I order the new expansions for Academy?
« on: December 30, 2018, 01:39:32 PM »
I had to pay $40 for my copy of Druid... it was the last one that I could find on Amazon. I didn't realize that they were ripping me off because I didn't know from looking on the site here how much is was supposed to sell for.

9
Rules Discussion / Re: Dragon's Breath target options
« on: December 23, 2018, 10:56:11 PM »
Thanks guys... it makes more sense to me now. The idea of "pivoting" really helped me understand the concept.

10
Rules Discussion / Re: Dragon's Breath target options
« on: December 22, 2018, 03:42:25 PM »
LoS has nothing to do with my question folks....

11
Rules Discussion / Re: Dragon's Breath target options
« on: December 22, 2018, 11:08:29 AM »
Apologies for resurrecting the thread, but the previous discussion may be helpful in considering my follow-up:

Assume that the caster of Dragon's Breath is in the near center (B2), and that there is a valid target in D2, and another in D3 (i.e. both D2 and D3 are in LoS and have a creature or conjuration in each). Also assume that there is a wall between D2 and D3.

May Dragon's Breath make its attack against the target in D2, and then bypass the wall between D2 and D3 to attack the target in D3? (RAW it seems so... the second target is one zone farther away... but you would think that the wall might "get in the way" of the breath.)

Does it matter what the wall's characteristics (blocks LoS, passage attacks, blocks passage) are in this particular case? I would not think so... which again makes me wonder about how the breath would bypass a steel wall to get behind it and attack the second target.... (It feels like another magical Tsunami effect, flowing over the wall, which still makes no sense to me.)

12
Mage Wars Academy / Re: How do I order the new expansions for Academy?
« on: December 15, 2018, 10:48:26 PM »
Thanks... I didn't think about it before, but I just got them ordered via Amazon. It would have been nice to just have ordered from here....

13
Mage Wars Academy / How do I order the new expansions for Academy?
« on: December 15, 2018, 07:24:05 PM »
I called my local game store and they don't have them. I see that there is this nifty 40% off MW stuff in the online store here, but the new expansions aren't in the list there... can you even buy them anywhere?

I am pretty sure Druid is out at least, and am wondering about Elementalist.

Thanks!
Dave

14
Spells / Re: A little love for the Swamp
« on: December 15, 2018, 10:37:48 AM »
soo, to clear things a little in my head,


swamp is nice for being defensive, they cant attack you if they move it, BUT if they leave  it's stop affecting them and you can do two moves/attack etc. well you leave the swamp ,it kind of annoyed me at the start but it makes sense, you leave the swamp, it doesnt affect you anymore

was it different at any point of the game before?

They actually can attack on entry in some cases. For example, Cervere is Fast. If he moves from an adjacent zone into the Swamp, he then gains Slow. At that point the Fast and Slow nullify each other and Cervere can take any other action that it wants... to move again or to attack in the Swamp. Note that if Cervere moves into the Swamp, and then out, it sounds as if it could attack in that second zone as it no longer has Slow (regains Fast) once in that new zone. Note also that a Fast Creature moving from two zones away (or a "normal speed" Creature from one zone away) can not attack after entering the Swamp as it then gains the Slow condition, and has no action choices to make at that point.

Terrain in general is new-ish. You could have revealed an Enchantment to give a Creature Slow before, but I think that is discussed in other threads. Also, it is very clear at what point that the effect of the Slow from an Enchantment goes into effect (and is removed if the Creature gains Fast afterward during the same Activation). The main question in my mind was whether the Slow gained from the Swamp impacts a Creature after leaving... which it does not. We never had to deal with that before.

Thanks again, everyone, for helping to clarify!

15
Spells / Re: A little love for the Swamp
« on: December 14, 2018, 07:59:20 PM »
Oh good... glad to hear.

What was the decision? Or do I have to wait for AW to print it?

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 55