July 19, 2019, 08:15:15 PM

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.


Messages - Gregstrom

Pages: [1] 2 3
1
General Discussion / Re: MW Battlegrounds What We Know So Far
« on: March 10, 2015, 02:42:40 AM »

"During the upkeep phase, when Skeelax is in the same zone as an object with a ____ _____, he gains the Regenerate 2 trait."  Maybe "revealed enchantment" "Dark conjuration"?

I think that might say Burn Condition?

2
Rules Discussion / Re: Tanglevine and Stranglevine
« on: January 09, 2015, 05:33:56 PM »
As a supplemental point:  A Deathlock will give Stranglevine Finite Life and prevent it gaining life, but the Altar of Skulls (which may well be the 'finite life altar' referred to) will *not* because it gives Finite Life only to creatures.

3
Spells / Re: Flaming Hellion in a Wizard spellbook?
« on: November 12, 2014, 05:05:49 AM »
It won't work with the hammer because of the Daze roll, as per the card text.

4
General Discussion / Re: Archmage Expansion
« on: October 10, 2014, 05:48:41 PM »
Dark/Nature could be fun, with a whole corrupt vegetation thing going on, and disease and decay all over the place.

5
Strategy and Tactics / Re: On mana crystal effects and efficiency
« on: October 08, 2014, 02:01:05 PM »
I'd like to see a breakdown on Option Theory, because I know nothing about it and it sounds interesting.

6
Rules Discussion / Re: Staff of Stoms. What does "you" mean
« on: October 05, 2014, 11:00:11 PM »
So if I read this right...

1.  An attack has a 'source' (point of origin) and an 'attacker' (entity responsible for the attack).
2.  The source of the attack is where an attack is reflected towards (and possibly where things like damage barriers apply damage if       triggered?)
3.  An attacker may be an enchantment, (autonomous) item, creature, conjuration or other thing that exists on the gameboard.  An attack cannot be its own attacker.
4.  Bonuses (pluses to dice, piercing, etc) derive from the attacker and not the source when the two are separate.
4a.  Occasions where the attacker is not also the source of the attack are extremely rare.

Two things strike me about Burst of Thorns.
Firstly, the spell is an incantation and not an attack.
Secondly, it states explicitly that it is not the caster of the spell that is making the attack.

This gives me the impression that if an attack card is used, the attacker is always the entity that casts the attack (otherwise Burst of Thorns would not need to be an incantation).  Also, for the caster of a spell not to be also the attacker in any attacks then generated, it must be explicitly stated that this is the case.

7
Rules Discussion / Re: Staff of Stoms. What does "you" mean
« on: October 05, 2014, 03:39:37 PM »
The idea of casting Sniper Shot on an enemy creature to boost your own Chain Lightning is sort of funny though.

I think that Jacksmack is saying all of the attacks past the first should be treated as if the Chain Lightning were the source of its own attack though, which is somewhat recursive but would allow the bonus dice to be forced into the 'first attack only' mould.  You can still use Staff of Storms with Electrify if I understand this correctly, so trying to make it behave like +X ranged when it's a different ability seems odd.

8
Strategy and Tactics / Re: On mana crystal effects and efficiency
« on: October 05, 2014, 07:07:22 AM »
Actually... option 2 as given has a place, but it's pretty niche.  If you know your opponent has ways of destoying your stored mana, the drip feed is likely a better bet.

9
Rules Discussion / Chain Lightning and Obscured
« on: October 04, 2014, 05:22:22 PM »
Apologies if this has been asked already - a check through the search brought up nothing.

The card text and FAQ for Chain Lightning imply that each new zap of Chain Lightning works as if targeting were taking place from the site of the previous zap.  Does this mean that Chain Lightning can hit an Obscured target that the casting mage could not otherwise hit (i.e. first target is 1 square away from the caster, second target is Obscured and 2 squares away from the caster)?

10
Rules Discussion / Re: Staff of Stoms. What does "you" mean
« on: October 04, 2014, 05:14:39 PM »
Chain Lightning.


11
Rules Discussion / Re: Staff of Stoms. What does "you" mean
« on: October 04, 2014, 03:20:36 PM »
Cool!  That's a pretty nifty niche use for the staff too - a potential 5 dice of damage at a target 5 squares away.

12
Rules Discussion / Re: Staff of Stoms. What does "you" mean
« on: October 04, 2014, 02:51:36 PM »
This is a rather oddly applied bonus effect though.  The bonus is specifically applied during the roll dice step, and it's implicit that it only applies during that particular roll dice step.  However, you don't have to use all the dice at once and the "may" implies that you don't have to remove any if you don't want to.  And... Chain Lightning has, if I understand correctly, up to 5 roll dice steps.  So presumably, depending on when you chose to remove the counters, the Chain Lightning could do 9-4-3-2-1, 6-5-4-3-1, 5-4-3-2-5 or any other configuration of spending those 4 +1 bonuses.

13
Strategy and Tactics / Re: On mana crystal effects and efficiency
« on: October 03, 2014, 03:55:42 PM »
I think it means "in a specially chosen artificial situation which cannot happen in a real game, it is a bad idea to cast Mana Crystal".

14
Strategy and Tactics / Re: On mana crystal effects and efficiency
« on: October 03, 2014, 01:40:48 PM »
...no.  My choice in the deployment phase is between Mana Crystal and one of 50 other cards, not between Mana Crystal and no card.  If I want to think about comparative benefits between one card and any other card, I don't want to compare one card with nothing.  That doesn't let me make a value judgement.  It doesn't even let me judge some sort of absolute benefit, unless and until I have evaluated every other card in the same way.  Comparing Mana Crystal with a non-specific 5 mana spend doesn't say much either, but at least it doesn't pretend that the only other choice I have is sitting on my behind waiting to be eaten by zombies.

Edit: ninja'd by sIKE...

15
...player 2 has done no more or less than player 1.  Player 1 spent one action creating an asset that provides +1 channeling instead of casting an acid ball.

Pages: [1] 2 3