February 23, 2019, 10:06:46 PM

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.


Messages - theasaris

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 11
1
Events / Re: Mage Wars German Nationals 2018
« on: May 30, 2018, 07:14:05 PM »
Dear players,

What an extraordinary weekend we had! Thank you all for that! I think we can be proud to have such an exemplary community. We would appreciate your feedback!

What is there for us to improve? I think the majority of players approved of the new scoring system and that it lead to fairer rankings. We need to speed up the scoring process in between rounds and will use a notebook or tablet next time.

We took some photos but would really also like to collect all of your images from the event. Jannis will publish a link soon where you can upload and view everybody’s photos.

You can find the full results here: https://www.dropbox.com/s/xqm9eigsbs0rdq7/GN2018_Results.pdf?dl=0

We really hope to see you all again next year in Bad Nauheim!

Thank you very much again,
Jannis and Jan

2
Events / Mage Wars German Nationals 2018
« on: May 10, 2018, 04:47:37 AM »
Hey all! The largest Mage Wars tournament worldwide is coming up in two weeks (May 26-27) in Germany. In the previous two years there were even more players than at GenCon. Perhaps some of you would still like to join? If you'd like more details in English please don't hesitate to ask! Please do hurry though because registry closes soon!

The full tournament rules (in German) can be found here:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/015pny8t0xb7x3d/Mage%20Wars%20German%20Nationals%202018%20Turnierreglement.pdf

3
Rules Discussion / Re: Goblin Legionnaire casting cost
« on: April 27, 2018, 09:17:24 AM »
So indeed ring and cape do NOT work with the additional Legionnaires and Arkdeniz is correct. :/

So all the Legionnaires are Summoned, but only the first one is Cast and entitled to any discount.

The best cost I can see is the mage casting the first with both ring and cape: 1+4+4=9. From barracks only the ring applies to the first one, so 2+4+4=10.

4
General Questions / Re: Press the attack multiple rerolls?
« on: April 24, 2018, 04:26:26 AM »
Thank you!

5
Rules Discussion / Re: Goblin Legionnaire casting cost
« on: April 24, 2018, 04:24:18 AM »
Do we have clarification on whether cast=summon, allowing ring and cape to work with the second and/or third legionnaire?

6
General Questions / Re: Press the attack multiple rerolls?
« on: April 23, 2018, 05:55:19 AM »
Could anybody point me to a quote that explains one reroll per trigger only?

7
General Questions / Press the attack multiple rerolls?
« on: April 21, 2018, 07:04:27 PM »
The way I read the card, a creature with Doublestrike or other ways to have multiple attacks may reroll each of them as long as you pay mana every time. However, would you even be allowed to reroll the same attack dice multiple times until you are satisfied with the results, paying mana for each reroll?

8
Spells / Re: Arcane Ward
« on: April 21, 2018, 03:41:34 AM »
While the mana used to cast the spell is refunded, the card does indeed go to the discard pile (as opposed to e.g. Jinx).

9
General Discussion / Re: Organized Play
« on: December 18, 2017, 12:40:56 PM »
The most important thing in my opinion is a fairer scoring system for times matched where wins by mage death and timed wins are differentiated more than 4-3-1-0. This is the current system used in German organized play:

http://forum.arcanewonders.com/index.php?topic=18360.msg87272#msg87272

10
Rules Discussion / Siren and Pirate creatures
« on: October 14, 2017, 06:31:29 AM »
As the Siren is trained in pirate spells, the multi-school pirates should only cost her their combined level in SBP:

Blightheart -> 4
Gerard -> 3
Turgut -> 3

OCTGN seems to be wrong there...
spellbookbuilder.com is correct

11
Spellbook Design and Construction / Re: Artillerypriestess
« on: September 07, 2017, 02:29:48 AM »
unfortunately theasaris, Ballad of courage won't work on an iron golem. Hes got psychic immunity. Earth elememtal doesnt though, as ive recently found out.
Ah, true! In that case I'd consider replacing the Iron Golem with a Dwarf Kriegshammer in the Dwarf book.

12
Rules Discussion / Re: Turn to Stone and Enchantment Transfusion
« on: September 06, 2017, 08:00:08 AM »
I think Chant of Rage is a lot less problematic, as it doesn't affect actions in progress. Puddnhead has a good point with Rules as Intended. Clearly the spell isn't intended to affect a creature at all after it has been activated. However, rules as written, this is how it would work:

Mandatory Actions are checked for each time you declare an action. So the latest you could transfuse Chant of Rage and have an effect would be before they've stated what they plan on doing. Once they say they're moving, attacking, guarding, or whatever, then Chant of Rage can not affect that action that is in progress at all. So, basically you'd want to transfuse it immediately after they activate, OR (if their first action is to move) immediately after they move and before they've declared another quick action. In the latter situation, you wouldn't affect their initial move, but you would affect their quick action, forcing them to abide by the chant.

Ok, thank you, Zuberi, but what about the other cases that have nothing to do with mandatory actions?

- Turn to Stone
- Blur (what happens if it is transferred after an attack is declared against a target at range 2?)
- Charm / Song of Love (no effect if transferred after the attack has been declared?)
- Slumber


What effect would these cards have if transferred during a creature's activation?

13
Spellbook Design and Construction / Re: Artillerypriestess
« on: September 06, 2017, 03:47:20 AM »
Maybe something like this?

Artillery DwarfA Anvil Throne Warlord Spellbookbuilt by http://www.spellbookbuilder.com
Equipment2 x Elemental Wand1 x Gloves of Skill1 x Leather Chausses1 x Steadfast BootsConjuration1 x Archer's Watchtower2 x Ballista1 x Deathlock1 x Gravikor1 x Pillar of Righteous Flame1 x Steep Hill1 x Wall of Earth1 x Wall of PikesCreature2 x Dwarf Panzergarde1 x Grimson Deadeye, Sniper1 x Iron GolemEnchantment2 x Akiro's Favor1 x Ballad of Courage1 x Blur2 x Brace Yourself2 x Hawkeye1 x Healing Madrigal1 x Jinx1 x Nullify1 x Regrowth1 x Rhino HideIncantation2 x Disarm2 x Dispel2 x Dissolve2 x Lesser Teleport2 x Minor Heal1 x Overextend1 x Repulse1 x Seeking Dispel2 x Sniper ShotAttack2 x Acid Ball3 x Hurl Boulder3 x Hurl Meteorite2 x Hurl Rock1 x Surging Wave1 x Thunderbolt
Total cost: 120 pts

- Gravikor if too many flyers threaten your position atop the hill
- Iron Golem and Ballage of Courage in case you need something to get close to the mage
- Overextend for Grimson when you quickly want to take out some threat

14
Spellbook Design and Construction / Re: Artillerypriestess
« on: September 06, 2017, 03:16:06 AM »
Intriguing idea. :) I think you need some sort of answer to Cloak of Shadows or Blur. Guardian Angels/Gargoyles will probably also be a big problem. Have you also considered adding Grimson and an Archer's Watchtower to apply some pressure in case the other mage hides behind walls?

15
Rules Discussion / Re: Turn to Stone and Enchantment Transfusion
« on: August 31, 2017, 09:14:26 AM »
in order to make it move you must change befor it declares the movement and to make it attack befor it declares attack (or befor it moves away if it is in the same zone at the begining of its action!)

Incorrect.  In order to use Chant of Rage you must reveal it and have it attached to the target before it activates since you are affecting its entire action phase.

I believe the complication here is the fact that CoR is already revealed on another creature. I looked through similar cards which usually cannot be revealed during an action, that might cause some strange effects when used with Enchantment Transfusion:

Turn to Stone
Chant of Rage
Blur (what happens if it is transferred after an attack is declared against a target at range 2?)
Charm
Mind Control -> The card specifically says "cannot be moved to a new target"
Slumber
Song of Love

Perhaps we do need a general rule as suggested by echephron in this thread's opening post along the lines of "Enchantment Transfusion cannot move revealed enchantments which could not be revealed at that moment" ?

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 11