February 20, 2019, 03:57:12 AM

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.


Messages - Puddnhead

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 53
1
General Discussion / Re: New Arena Player - Introduction
« on: February 06, 2019, 03:21:17 PM »
1) Know the rules! Maybe start with Core Set only? You'll have to judge whether your pupils can handle a full on Arena duel.
2) Have great patience. There is an overwhelming amount of choices in a 120 point spellbook. Maybe explain a few opening options.
3) If possible, walk spectators through an ongoing game so that the strategy, tactics (and consequences!) are observable rather than just theoretical.
4) Play a theme/casual book rather than a tournament book and instruct them on how to beat you.

P.S. Don't thorn-push the newbies.

2
Spells / Re: Buffs and Counters to Killer Bees
« on: January 29, 2019, 09:10:51 AM »
SANDSTORM is now META!

3
Events / Re: ADMW 2-2 Mage Wars Tournament
« on: January 22, 2019, 08:21:13 PM »
shoopuff, that's a holdover from the original tournament rules. Copy error. There are no restrictions on mages you can play in this tournament.

4
Looks pretty fun, Mambo!

Do you find you have any mana issues? With Huginn, Forge AND Tower, I assume you're just zapping all day
If you zap a lot, why not Hawkeye?
I like battlefury + Frost Elementals.  Sounds super fun!

5
Events / Re: Winter Mage War 2
« on: January 17, 2019, 02:56:56 PM »
iNano78 is correct. Under the "discard" system you could attempt to cast Adramelech on the first turn and "oops, I don't have enough mana". Next turn Animate Dead for half cost.

As for Steep Hill, it was pointed out that the rules only have it block line of sight through edges and not corners. Therefore anything that could target through opposite corners of Steep Hill's zone was technically not blocked by Steep Hill's rules.  Minor quibble, hardly ever comes up, but just in case...we clarified.

6
Events / Re: Winter Mage War 2
« on: January 17, 2019, 08:25:00 AM »
Can someone elaborate on what ADMW rules are? The only thing I saw mentioned was about Disciple of Radiance.

Disciple of Radiance Text Change
  • Once per round, whenever your Mage casts or reveals a healing spell, Disciple of Radiance may deal 1 direct light damage to a target creature in her zone
Casting a Spell - Change to the end of the Pay Costs Step
  • Previous wording - If you cannot pay all of the costs, the spell is cancelled and discarded, and you have lost the action.
    New wording -If you cannot pay all of the costs, the spell is cancelled and obliterated, and you have lost the action.
    Everything else remains unchanged about the step
Steep Hill
  • Steep hill will block Line of Sight if you cast a spell and it goes through two diagonal sections of the zone.
Force Pull
  • Once per round, the Forcemaster may cast this quick Force spell. Target creature is Pushed 1 zone towards the source of this spell. Will not Push a creature through a wall with the Passage Attacks trait.
Trample
  • - If a Flying creature attacks a non-Flying object, it loses Flying until the end of the attack.
    - Elusive Creatures can ignore guards when making a Trample Attack
    - Defenses that do not work against Melee attacks cannot be used during the Avoid Attack step, however all other types may be (choosing one during the step following normal rules).

In my horrible Forum abilities, I give you a quote from the ADMW2 Open page. Hope it helps!

7
Rules Discussion / Re: Acid Blast (academy, not promo)
« on: January 11, 2019, 08:56:35 AM »
If the attack is not avoided, there's an automatic Corrode. Therefore, on a 9+, the target would receive a total of 2 Corrodes.

8
Rules Discussion / Re: Defrost
« on: January 03, 2019, 09:20:30 PM »
What I remember from discussions is that Defrost works like Extinguish and is a characteristic of ALL fire attacks (whether they say defrost or not) Therefore, fire attacks would roll one less die and have a -1 to effect for each Freeze condition on the target. I do not recall an official statement of the above discussion.

9
Rules Discussion / Re: Is Gate to Hell a Zone Attack?
« on: January 03, 2019, 09:18:03 PM »
Hooray! Another Swarm loophole.  The way Gate is written is that it is an un-targeted attack against all creatures. Therefore it hits all creatures, but I would say that the way the Swarm trait is written (RAW) it only does a maximum of one damage to them. I would love to be wrong about this.

10
General Discussion / Re: Gen Con Academy pre releases
« on: December 13, 2018, 02:06:40 PM »
I'm pretty sure that it has to do with the trait wording: "...cannot be targeted or affected by non-attack spells that do not specifically target swarm creatures. "

So, chock it up to poor wording, rushed development and almost no legitimate play testing time. Waves of force cannot move little insects.  :P

But it is affected by Etherian Lifetree - because it's not a "spell" but rather a global effect at that point?

Correct, Etherian Lifetree is now an "Object" and not a "Spell". This begs the question of whether objects are also spells since they were once spells, but that has not been officially clarified yet.

11
General Discussion / Re: Gen Con Academy pre releases
« on: December 13, 2018, 10:01:02 AM »
I'm pretty sure that it has to do with the trait wording: "...cannot be targeted or affected by non-attack spells that do not specifically target swarm creatures. "

So, chock it up to poor wording, rushed development and almost no legitimate play testing time. Waves of force cannot move little insects.  :P

12
Rules Discussion / Re: force pull through Mind's eye
« on: November 30, 2018, 12:35:22 PM »
Can we take a minute to understand that Force Pull is Force PULL.  Why is it less important that it actually PULLS rather than is relevant to the position of the Forcemaster?!

The only reason Force Pull is worded the way that it is is because they wanted to use the already extant Game Terminology of "push" instead of having to have a separate entry for "pull". Force Pull as a spell is intended to be a quick "yoink". The reason it costs 1 mana is because it is limited in direction and cannot push through passage attacks.

Why does the "yoink" FUNDAMENTALLY CHANGE DIRECTION when a Mind's Eye casts it? This is preposterous. Mind's Eye CHANGED the RULES. I contend that PULL is more important to the intrinsic spell-ness of Force Pull than "her" is.

*rant snipped out* My views have been stated and the rules lawyers have spoken -- exit Puddnhead.

13
Rules Discussion / Re: force pull through Mind's eye
« on: November 28, 2018, 09:36:34 PM »
So the situation we are left with is that if the target creature is between the Forcemaster and the Mind's Eye, a Force Pull can be used to push it away.

Okay then. Glad we sorted that out.

Only if "pushing it away" makes it closer to the Forcemaster.  In which case, why have the Eye in the first place?

I still contend that "RAW" is the wrong choice here and that since we do not get any rulings from the designers anymore we have to decide for ourselves how it is to be interpreted. My FM will use a spell called "PULL" to always "PULL" thank you very much.  Way more consistent.

14
Rules Discussion / Re: force pull through Mind's eye
« on: November 28, 2018, 04:37:36 PM »

Not disagreeing with you Pudding, but Ini wanted a solid rules foundation.

From FAQ:
"Unless the effect says otherwise, the pushed creature must move one zone away from the source of the Push"

The Force Pull effect overrides the source for the Push effect. It's not a gray area at all really becuase of how force pull is written to always push the creature towards the force master.


I'm in full agreement that a RAW reading of Force Pull (as worded before the idea of Mind's Eye was a twinkle in the designer's eye) is always toward "her". But two points remain

1) First, as mentioned, Mind's Eye wasn't a concept while Force Pull was originally being worded. It still remains that "her" and "source" are interchangeable in RAW understandings of Force Pull until Mind's Eye was created.  Once Mind's Eye hit the field those terms are no longer interchangeable and I definitely believe they deserve a statement of intention. It could be argued that you are no longer using Force Pull in the way it is supposed to be used on either account. Which is the greater part of the intention of Force Pull: That it always closed the gap between FM and target OR That it always PULLS? They are one and the same until Mind's Eye mucks it up for us.

2) What happens now that the Forcemaster is able to target herself with Force Pull through Mind's Eye? Nothing? OR Any direction you choose?  Doesn't it make more sense to force (pun intended) the pull to move in a certain direction..i.e. Toward the source?  Which is now Mind's Eye.  Should changing the Source of Force Pull have ramifications other than range as it does with other spells?  Reverse Magic, Revese Attack will affect the Eye rather than the Forcemaster (or Thoughtspore) when using other spells.  Why does it not change the effect of Force Pull?

Slightly more frivolously, it could be construed that "her" is a very unclear term in that it could be referring to any "her" in the arena.  ;)

I know you and I have been around the block a few times with this one and I respect your rules knowledge and interpretive ability. I am just convinced that the "proper" way to play Force Pull + Mind's Eye is to actually make the Eye cast the spell instead of the Forcemaster and thus BE the "her" to which Force Pull is referring.

15
Rules Discussion / Re: force pull through Mind's eye
« on: November 28, 2018, 01:18:31 PM »
All throughout playtesting, I personally...as well as those with whom I playtested, assumed that Mind's Eye becomes the place toward which the target is pulled... I.E. the Forcemaster's ability gets reworded to "...pulled one zone toward the source".

Force Pull had no historical reason to be worded in the above manner and it is simpler "plain English" to just say "her" instead of "the source" because "her" IS the source...until Mind's Eye comes along.  All of a sudden you've divorced "caster" from "source" and now there's a grey area. Rather brilliant that this is the ONE thing that causes problems with Mind's Eye's wording.

Now, I'm not the designer and I don't know the intent.  I always prefer intent over "Rules As Written" and that may be a shortcoming of mine.

Most of the time Mind's Eye is used to cast Thoughtspore spells in my experience, but the potential to pull anywhere is what makes the spell actually interesting and fun to play.

As the official Rules Codex and Supplement has not been updated on this item it falls to the community to decide how to rule it. I know of at least two tournaments (both of which I've been involved in running, so take this with a grain of salt) that rule the way I have up above. By no means am I the arbiter of your enjoyment of this game, but tradition interprets grey areas and there's a tradition started with both this spell and with Disciple of Radiance and I would counsel to go with tradition.

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 53