March 19, 2018, 07:49:08 AM

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Messages - Puddnhead

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 48
Strategy and Tactics / Re: How to use Force master's Stalker
« on: March 06, 2018, 02:27:53 PM »
Far as I know, Demonic Bloodlust as well as Ballad of Courage work on him.

Both true! It would be interesting to see how those get used. I think the spellbook cost might make ballad not the best choice and demonic bloodlust would hamper his main benefit of being able to hit any target you want.

Strategy and Tactics / Re: How to use Force master's Stalker
« on: March 06, 2018, 01:30:01 PM »
Redistributed Power from Forcemaster Academy is the best buff for the Stalker.  Marked for Death will benefit him as well, but is more useful when you have lots of creatures and I would recommend it if you plan to run the Force, Construct creatures with the Stalker.

Defensively, Symbiotic Orb can prevent him from being melee attacked and Dispel can get rid of an Agony on him. (note he cannot be nullified or have block or reverse attack on him...because "reasons"  :P)

What you should really plan to do with the Stalker is force your opponent to make poor tactical decisions.  Supplement the Stalker with the threat of Force Pull and with Mind Seize or Mind Control.  Always pass until the last possible moment with the Stalker.  Use it as late as possible and you have to be okay with not attacking if that wizard has saved his action for last and not used the quick cast marker.  Make him waste a turn trying to deal with the Stalker. The Stalker excels at annihilating creatures that are out of position with no backup.  Make that situation happen more often than it should.

Spells / Re: Dark L1 Enchantments D-H
« on: March 03, 2018, 09:12:00 PM »
I have said nothing incorrect. Erhen retains the tokens but hits at 1 die while altar of infernia or debilitate are active on him. Once those effects are gone he will hit at 5 dice again.

Second point is that he most certainly rolls 5 and then 1 when you battlefury or sweeping strike him. 

Spellbook Builder / Re: My spellbook builder
« on: March 02, 2018, 07:52:21 PM »
Then I believe you are correct, sir!  Nice catch.  8)

Spellbook Builder / Re: My spellbook builder
« on: March 02, 2018, 01:47:34 PM »
Hi. Love the spellbook buider. Thanks for the great resource!

Might have found a bug: It seems you can only have 4 of the "rust" spell, even though it is level 1.

It is limited by the number of sets you say you own.  Have you tried upping the count of that expansion and seeing if you can increase the number of Rust in your book?

Rules Discussion / Re: commander's cape
« on: February 23, 2018, 09:05:56 AM »
I absolutely agree that the cape shouldn't give the discount, however there is no text anywhere claiming that it can't, so the only reason I feel that it shouldn't is because nothing else does.  Therefore it's an argument from historical precedent which holds no grounds for those wishing to play "Rules As Written".

I believe it says in the rules that you can prep ANY card onto a spawnpoint or familiar, but they can only CAST certain types.  So you have no idea without actually using Reveal Magic or Seeking Dispel, whether Cassiel's controller actually followed the rules.  If it is discovered that someone broke the rules they lose the spell.  If it is not discovered.....oh well.  Current text on Commander's Cape suggests that it follows the Familiar pattern rather than the Ring pattern.

I personally feel that this is an oversight on behalf of Arcane Wonders and all of the playtesters.  As a playtester myself, I'm sorry.  I will endeavor to do a better job of focusing on the wording in the future.

In the meantime....enjoy your FREE Brace Yourself. (Enchanter's Ring + Commander's Cape)

Rules Discussion / Re: commander's cape
« on: February 22, 2018, 04:18:24 PM »
Alright, so after a LONG discussion and rereading ALL of the discount cards...Rules As Written seem to indicate that spells ALWAYS have subtypes and you don't have to prove those subtypes in order to be able to cast the spell (Cassiel, Gurmash, Serseiryx).

Therefore, it seems that Commander's Cape (historical precedent not being a reason for anything in this broken game) would grant the discount when casting a face down command spell.  The bonus only applies ONCE per round across ALL options, however.  So you cannot claim the discount on a soldier or a command incantation/battle order or command reveal if you have already claimed the bonus on a face down enchantment earlier in the round.

For the record, I would prefer that historical precedent be observed and the cape NOT provide the discount...but there are far more broken things that need errata first.

Rules Discussion / Re: commander's cape
« on: February 22, 2018, 02:29:59 PM »
"when you cast or reveal a command spell"
does an command enchantment cost 1 mana less when casting and when revealing... or is it bad worded?

This is the exact same wording as Arcane Ring, Death Ring, Druid's Leaf Ring, Force Ring, Ring of Asyra, Ring of Command, Ring of Curses AND Ring of Ocean's Depths.

I know you're a smart dude, Exid, but it just seems like you're trying to find loopholes that aren't there.

Spellbook Design and Construction / Re: Force master a go-go
« on: February 22, 2018, 12:48:20 PM »

Seriously, though....use Force Pull.  Force Pull gets even better with Mind's Eye from Lost Grimoire.

Use Tomb Guardian, Redistributed Power and Symbiotic Orb from Academy too.  They are even better in Arena.

But, just in case you missed it: USE FORCE PULL  8)

Strategy and Tactics / Re: How to effectively use the Force Master?
« on: February 22, 2018, 11:35:07 AM »
Check the timestamp that comment is 5 years old.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-J327A using Tapatalk

i know, no rulings changed since then though, i was searching for comments on the forcemaster

And, 5 years and much more experience later, I still think that you should be able to cast those things on incorporeal creatures.  It makes no sense that Agony can affect a stalker and Block cannot. :P

I don't use them.  The benefit is that if you are incapacitated they still function.  The detriment is it gives more reasons to purge you and there's always the chance that it just fails.  I don't like actually using defenses.  I like that defenses make my opponent think twice about lobbing that boulder at me.

Spells / Re: Dark L1 Enchantments D-H
« on: February 19, 2018, 06:30:38 PM »

I think this card won't do much to Ehren since he doesn't lose the tokens.

Why wouldn't he lose them?

Ehren: bla bla, place 4 Melee+1 tokens on him.
Debilitate: This creatures loses, and cannot gain Melee+x traits.

I thought Debilitate was the perfect Ehren counter.

Debilitate says the creature loses the trait. It does not say it loses the counters. Subtle and extremely important distinction.

Spells / Re: Card of the Day yah! :)
« on: February 19, 2018, 01:07:10 PM »
Wizard doesn't have trouble with Incorporeal anyway.  Arcane Zap + Hawkeye is all he really needs.  Way cheaper than a full action and 8 mana for a very killable fairy.

Spells / Re: High level Enchantments
« on: February 19, 2018, 11:55:58 AM »
I would think you could steal a runed equipment too and like the pet, would you still get the rune benefit?

Yes, I believe you do as long as it's not mage specific equipment.  You can steal a Runed Vorpal Blade for Pierce +3 or a Runed Reflex Boots for Defense 5+

Spells / Re: High level Enchantments
« on: February 19, 2018, 08:47:37 AM »
You absolutely CAN Mind Control a Beastmaster Pet or a Bloodreaper or a Holy Avenger.  The one that makes the most sense is the Pet as you can gain all of the benefits without helping the enemy mage at all.  The Pet would get +1 Melee while in the Beastmaster's zone too  ;D

Bloodreaper would heal the warlock when it attacked, but you'd still get bloodthirsty +2.

Holy Avenger would only be able to get extra dice against something that attacked the Priest's stuff, but with judicious use of Mind Seize you could force that to happen.  You do still gain the +5 hp on the controlled creature.

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 48