June 24, 2019, 05:00:53 PM

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.


Messages - Arkdeniz

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 17
1
Rules Discussion / Re: Damage to Swarm Creature between attacks
« on: June 08, 2019, 07:12:38 PM »
Because the additional strikes occur before damage barrier and counter strike step, a full health Killer Bee Swarm can do a total of 4 attacks with 1 dice each against the same target.
What if the target had Redirect or Eye for an Eye on them?

Well, redirect is a defence and so takes place in step 4, before the additional attacks step. This would cause damage and reduce the overall number of attacks by the swarm.

Eye for an Eye would also deal damage to the swarm before the additional attacks step. But I am unsure whether it is direct damage (and thus would deal full damage to the swarm) or counts as an attack (and thus would only deal a maximum of 1 damage).

2
Rules Discussion / Re: Priest of Abenek
« on: May 29, 2019, 07:13:24 PM »
I believe Arkdeniz is correct that you may still deal the damage even if there's no damaged mummy.  However, If you do the damage, I don't believe you can opt out of removing a damage from a damaged mummy, that seems to be required if possible.

I agree with that assessment. There is no ‘may’ in the second sentence.

3
Rules Discussion / Re: Priest of Abenek
« on: May 29, 2019, 03:20:00 AM »
"As a full action Priest of Abenek may..."

In that sentence there are no conditions that need to be met other than it needs to use a full action. So yes, as written, it can use (wastefully, most likely) a full action to cause 1 damage even if there are no damaged mummies in its zone. Removing a damage is just an extra bonus on top.   

4
Spellbook Design and Construction / Re: The Brutemaster
« on: April 17, 2019, 04:06:28 PM »
Alas you cannot cast Plagued on a Brute, as it has Poison Immunity.

I found that out back in the day when I tried to play the spell on Malacoda :(

5
Spellbook Design and Construction / Re: The Brutemaster
« on: April 15, 2019, 07:59:55 AM »
Hey Puddnhead

Just wanted to say that I don’t as a rule work well with Forcemasters, but there is some good advice here for most mages in general. Thanks!

6
Rules Discussion / Re: Rage Tonic and Dancing Scimitar (autononous)
« on: April 14, 2019, 04:35:35 PM »
The Scimitar is Autonomous, and cannot be affected by traits, abilities or conditions of the creature it is attached to.

It can be affected by “other sources and objects”, which might be thought to cover the Corrosive Concoction. However, the CC clearly states that it can be applied to a creature damaged by the mage. The Scimitar is autonomous from the mage (essentially in practice functioning like a mobile version of the various attack conjurations).

So my reading is no.

7
Rules Discussion / Re: Rage Tonic and Dancing Scimitar (autononous)
« on: April 14, 2019, 03:28:56 AM »
The Rage Tonic cannot be applied to the Scimitar's attack (it is not a living creature).

You can use the Rage Tonic on yourself or another living creature in your zone while you have the scimitar equipped.

8
Spells / Re: The Embalmed
« on: April 12, 2019, 02:59:27 AM »
So during playtesting my favorite creature to embalm was the Affliction Demon.

Since it is nonliving the weak tokens fall off and he is primed at 5 dice out of the gate.

Ah, a playtester!

Kharhaz, did you ever see it turned into an Eternal Servant, and if so, how did it work?

9
Spells / Re: The Embalmed
« on: April 11, 2019, 09:43:11 AM »
Probably something like:

“When The Embalmed is Summoned for the first time, remove a non-Epic living creature from any discard pile. Obliterate that creature. For the remainder of the game The Embalmed gains the life, armor, attacks, traits, abilities, and subtypes of the obliterated creature.”

The key would be to demonstrate that the initial summoning is materially different from any re-summoning that may occur (from, for example, the Eternal Servant power), and indicate clearly that once a creature form is taken, that it is permanent.

We both at least seem to agree that the card’s actual wording is sloppy and imprecise. So that’s something!

10
Spells / Re: The Embalmed
« on: April 11, 2019, 09:08:34 AM »
I see where you are coming from, but I think that to obtain the effect you postulate it would have been much more efficient just to introduce an incantation named "Embalm" with text something like "take a discarded living creature and summon it into play. It retains all its own powers, traits and subtypes and gains mummy and undead. Casting cost 2+ the cost of the discarded creature."

It is important to note that The Embalmed is a Creature in and of itself, and it is the only card that remains standing after it copies the discarded/removed creature card. That card is formally gone from the game (even if you keep it on the board as an aide memoire). It can't be summoned again, but the 'The Embalmed' creature card is and reverts to its neutral state.

Don't forget the Magic Rule of the game: if there is conflict between a card and another rule, the card takes precedence.

I don't know. I think my theory makes more sense, but I can see where you are coming from. Are there any playtesters (or heaven forfend a designer!) around to tell us how they interpreted it?
 

11
Spells / Re: The Embalmed
« on: April 11, 2019, 08:10:57 AM »
I've just watched the card reveal video (good job, guys! Everyone else, go watch it!) and was about to post about this card as well.

I've reached a different conclusion, keejchen.

My reading is that if this creature (The Embalmed) is made into an Eternal Servant, then it is the vanilla 'The Embalmed' card that is reanimated following destruction, and each time it is so reanimated it needs to take a fresh discarded creature to copy. That is, the first copied creature is not a permanent form. 

I base this conclusion on the interaction of the following three excerpts of rules:

1) The 'The Embalmed' card says: "When Summoning The Embalmed, remove a non-Epic living creature from any discard pile from the game. This creature [The Embalmed] becomes a copy of the removed creature, gaining The Embalmed's traits and subtypes." 

2) Eternal Servant says "should the servant be destroyed, the Necromancer may Reanimate it"

3) Reanimate says: "at the end of the round the creature is Summoned into play."

So if Reanimate Summons a creature into play, and if the 'The Embalmed' has to copy a discarded creature each time it is Summoned, then each Eternal Servant use has to utilise a fresh body from a discard pile, and the Necromancer needs to pay 2+the casting cost of the dead creature as the casting cost of the Eternal Servant.

To use keejchen's example:

The 'The Embalmed' comes into play. The Necromancer chooses to have it copy a dead Feral Bobcat, spending (2+5=) 7 mana to do so, and makes it his Eternal Servant. Later in the game the 'The Embalmed' is destroyed. The Necromancer chooses to bring his Eternal Servant back, reanimating 'The Embalmed'. At the end of the round the 'The Embalmed' is Summoned back to the arena. Part of this Summoning process requires the removal from the game of a discarded living creature, so the Necromancer looks through his opponent's discard pile and finds a Timber Wolf he killed earlier. He decides that his newly Summoned 'The Embalmed' will take the form of that Timber Wolf, so he pays the casting cost of the 'The Embalmed', which in this case is (2+9=) 11 mana. His Eternal Servant now functions as a Timber Wolf with Undead and Mummy traits.   

Confused?

If so, perhaps it might be appropriate to think of 'The Embalmed' as some form of spirit that animates corpses, rather than as a physically chemically treated corpse.   

TL/DR: Each time an Eternal Servant is brought back into play it is a fresh Summoning, and every time the The Embalmed is Summoned, it needs to take the form of a dead creature from a discard pile. It cannot be the same creature it copied in its initial summons, since that creature is removed from the game and is no longer in a discard pile.

12
General Discussion / Re: Necromancer Spoiler Review!
« on: April 11, 2019, 03:25:32 AM »
Soul Harvest vs Beastmaster Pets = Nasty

(or if there is ever a minor creature blood reaper)

13
Strategy and Tactics / Re: Druid: Focus the Plants or the Tree
« on: March 29, 2019, 07:23:46 PM »
I have had mixed luck against Druids (mostly bad) so take this with all relevant caveats, but...

If I have a mage-only or mage-buddy build, I go after the Druid and her tree. If I go after the plants I will inevitably get outgunned and overwhelmed, so time is against me.

If I have an army of my own, then I will go after the plants, since if I win that war then the druid will have nowhere to go.

14
Absolutely correct:

'If it has no damage on it, remove all Rage tokens'.

15
General Discussion / Re: Hired Bodygurd
« on: March 28, 2019, 09:22:48 PM »
originally it was also supposed to be a quick cast creature as well.

That makes sense.

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 17