August 19, 2019, 02:29:20 PM

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.


Messages - Kaarin

Pages: 1 ... 24 25 [26]
376
Strategy and Tactics / Re: surging wave push&slam
« on: September 22, 2015, 09:40:19 AM »
You're correct that the Wall of Pikes attack isn't unavoidable. I like the way you think!
Actually Wall of Pikes' attack is unavoidable. It's because there's a rule stating that every wall attack is unavoidable.
Quote from: rulebookv3.3p17
This is a special kind of attack that is neither melee nor ranged, cannot be avoided, and does not trigger any damage barrier or Counterstrike attacks (see “Attacks” on page 22).

377
General Discussion / Re: about waiting...
« on: September 21, 2015, 07:45:28 PM »
IMO goal for waiting strategy would be to conserve your resources while opponent is wasting theirs. That's why You need to make them waste resources first for your strategy to be successful. Other goal could be use of resources at similar rate (for example to counteract your enemy strategy) but having way to make something from nothing, so You will end up with more resources later.
Samara Tree Druid with 7 (or more with Academy) armor and healing 4 every turn could be considered waiting strategy.
Waiting strategy may be more viable in other games where threat from the enemy isn't so immediate like in MW (in 1st round QC teleport 2 and cast range 3 attack spell or run 2 and cast conjuration with range 2 attack). That's why You have to adapt to what your opponent is doing or force him into reacting to your actions. I would recommend waiting strategy only when your opponent is also going for that strategy, but You can outwait him.

378
Rules Discussion / Re: Casting cost of Purify?
« on: September 21, 2015, 03:46:19 PM »
To summon a precise copy of a legendary creature you have to have that creature's permission. Unfortunately, only a single copy of a unique individual can exist at a time.
Can there be more than one arena fight at a single time? If yes, then how mages deal with summoning copy of legendary creature when one copy of that creature is already fighting in different arena?
Can a mage bribe another mage to summon Brogan and prolong fight, because an hour later than other mage he'll be fighting Priestess?

379
Off topic / Re: I need help naming a tournament.
« on: September 21, 2015, 03:37:10 PM »
You're a grizzly, so a bear, right? You're doing tournament for noobs and noobs needs to be raised like kids, right? So why not name tournament after bear children - cubs? Something like Silver Cubs Tournament.

380
General Discussion / Re: Introduction & Male Druid Reccomendations page
« on: September 21, 2015, 02:27:18 PM »
and why not a mineral druid?

he could link with stones....
for example building cromlech through the arena to encrease his power!
This is interesting. How about a Druid trained in Nature and level 1 Earth instead of Water. Abilities might trigger around walls, altars and/or temples.
Problem is that such Druid won't bring tools for current Druid to use.
Alternate druid could either use Vines in different way, for example casting spells similar to Warlord's Battle Orders from them like giving target creature rooted. This would put Vine Tree in even more dominant position for tree of choice. Other option is to give him strategy that would use other trees better, for example healing/gaining life whenever You or your spawnpoint casts plant spell. This would put Samara Tree+Seedling Pods as dominant strategy for alternate druid, because casting Seedling Pod would trigger your ability twice.

Nature- and Earth-trained mage could be desert/insect mage coming from southern continent.
If You want mage focused on cromlech, walls, altars and/or temples I wouldn't limit his earth training to only first level.

Guys. Guys.

We are ignoring one of the most basic druidic skills.

Shapeshifting.
I thought we're playing MW and not D&D. I'm not against shapeshifting mage, it's just that it wasn't only druids who were shapeshifting in celtic myths. Even St. Patrick could do it. It's common thing to do like witches turning people into frogs.

381
Rules Discussion / Re: Casting cost of Purify?
« on: September 21, 2015, 02:02:58 PM »
From what I understand, when a mage summons a creature they are not actually summoning a thing in the world right now. The creatures are merely copies of what already exists. So a Bitterwood Fox is just a "average" Bitterwood Fox (think of it like how all fireballs probably look similar). When you cast a legendary creature you are actually copying a specific thing. So for Brogan Bloodstone the spell is most likely because the mage has gotten to know Brogan and can copy his exact likeness.
If spells are summoning copies of an object, then why can't there be more than one legendary creature in play? Do they have some sort of copy protection? Or maybe it's non-legendary objects that are in public domain?

382
Rules Discussion / Re: before/after or immediately before/after?
« on: September 21, 2015, 01:58:57 PM »
It's quite big burst damage: 24 dice if Wizard decides to cast Hurl Boulder with both Wizard's Tower and QC. You could even cast unavoidable spell from WT first to break their Block/RA. 

Yes, I was thinking about attached objects (mainly enchantments and equipment). While I was writing that post I wasn't sure if You can cast Power Strike twice or more on single creature, but if You were to ask me about multiple conjurations like Enchanter's Wardstone or Tooth and Nail then I would be sure that they can affect single target more than once. Since Incantations aren't attached but only affecting that rule doesn't apply to them. So You're right, just changing HBS abilities to spells wouldn't help. There would be sentence stating restrictions of those spells needed.

383
Rules Discussion / before/after or immediately before/after?
« on: September 20, 2015, 06:29:13 PM »
When I started playing MW I assumed that whenever "before or after any friendly creature's action phase..." is stated on a card it was supposed to mean immediately before/after that action phase (just like it's in QuickCast's description). It wasn't until friend used Temple of Light and Hand of Bim-Shalla (or two HBS; it was long time ago) before his action phase that I got to know correct rule. I simply assumed that his use of ToL was before him using HBS, and not action phase in game terms.*

Why I'm bringing this up? Because soon (I hope so) we will get more conjurations with attacks (Ballista for example).
With current rules there will be a problem that a Wizard (or any other mage) could use Wizard's Tower (or any other conjuration with ranged attack), two Ballistas and QuickCast even before getting to Action Phase (it's doable even now with ToL and Orchid or Lotus; Druid can drop both Orchid and Lotus during deployment phase). I don't want Ballista to end up like HBS (which could be changed in simpler way, it's abilities turned into spells active till end of round; You can't target an object with a spell that's already affecting it). 
This could be avoided by rules clarification. By stating in Rules Supplement (or even directly in rules) that whenever before/after is written on a card it's supposed to be immediately before/after, abuse of some cards could be prevented. Of course this would mean that to use four ballistas and QC in the same round You would need to summon two creatures.

*It could simply be my knowledge (or rather lack of knowledge) of subtleties of English that made me assume that (e.g. Renaissance is after Middle Ages and later than Antiquity, but not after it).
PS. Please correct me when I do mistakes.

384
Rules Discussion / Re: Casting cost of Purify?
« on: September 20, 2015, 03:09:45 PM »
Does make me wonder if technically you're raising the dead or corrupting the lingering essence of a previously cast and destroyed spell?i.e. is it the spell or the creature you're restoring? It only really matters in terms of the mythology or explanation you use.
You may even not be killing those creatures. When one legendary creature is destroyed it may be summoned once again, resurrected or reanimated (and later summoned if reanimated copy is destroyed).

Quote from: sIKE
...the Target Bar: Discarded non-Epic Living Creature, here is one of the places where the card text overrides the typical rules, and is therefore possible).
I see no reason why Target Bar of those spells shouldn't state "Zone", just like normal summoning of a creature. EDIT: should have read 2nd page before posting.

385
Spellbook Design and Construction / Re: Warlord vs. Wizard
« on: September 20, 2015, 02:36:48 PM »
All strategies posted here seem to be aimed against economy-type Wizard. In my group You usually need to have armor after first QC phase of 2nd round when playing against Wizard.
Minimum amount of dice to KO Wizard is 16. That's two Hurl Boulder with Hawkeye on. Try to get advantage of Akiro's Favor and Gloves of skill. With correct timing You can cast 4 Hurl Boulder in a row. I don't know better strategy for Bloodwave Warlord against Wizard, because every strategy I came up with for him turned out to be better suited for Anvil Throne Warlord or Earth Wizard (other than charging veteran golems or Greatbow Volley).

Sniper Shot + Hurl Rock can be pretty fun vs ravens/pixies :)
I think that taunting them with Thorg is more fun. He can deal with guardians too.

RANGED OPTION.
Why aren't You building Altar of Carnage in ranged option?

Also, if it would be Lightning or Fire wizard, Wall of Earth messing with LoS of Wizard's Tower is also nice to have.
Problem is that Wizard is very likely to have a hydro attack or two.

386
General Discussion / Re: Siren & Paladin Recommendations Page
« on: September 18, 2015, 07:18:19 AM »
I would like to add a new mechanic called sustainment. Its like upkeep, except optional.
If there's something I don't like to see in Mage Wars, it's new mechanics, followed closely by new keywords.

The game needs some streamlining, not increasing it's complexity even further, YMMV.

+1
allready tomany key words, where a text-card could be explain, for example in this case : "if this upkeep isn't paid, don't destroy the creature"
Or "during upkeep phase You may pay X mana to get..."

387
Rules Discussion / Re: Zombie-Demon as Bloodreaper?
« on: September 17, 2015, 11:01:14 PM »
I don't think it would work this way. Creature is destroyed when killed, so Bloodreaper would lose its marker.
Quote
Destroyed:
When an object is destroyed, everything attached to it is destroyed and discarded. This includes damage, condition markers, tokens, enchantments, and conjurations. Ability markers are returned to the Mage. Then, the object is placed in its owner’s discard pile.
But Reanimation summons creature, so You could make that creature Bloodreaper a bit later if it wasn't for this:
Must be summoned either by the Warlock or a Spawnpoint that the Warlock controls, according to the Battlegrounds rulebook.
Does reanimation counts as summoning by Warlock?

388
General Questions / Re: Equipment Control
« on: July 22, 2013, 03:24:32 PM »
Equipment control is interesting in context of team plays.

Can I cast equipment saying "X Mage only" on Y Mage?
If yes, as I am still owner of the equipment who uses things like Moloch's Torment?

Pages: 1 ... 24 25 [26]