October 19, 2019, 08:00:32 PM

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Messages - Lukard

Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7
Rules Discussion / Re: Looking again at barracks/garrison post
« on: July 25, 2014, 09:01:47 AM »
Ps. Why is it not stickies here as an erratad card?
How many other cards have changed that aren't advertised here?

Hi Mrmt,

I also want to see a PDF with all cards that have been changed. So, I can print and overlay it on top of the original card using card-sleeves.

Meanwhile, folks have been putting it together on this thread: http://forum.arcanewonders.com/index.php?topic=14277.msg39573#msg39573

Also, you can always take a look at the FAQ which is the official document for erratas and changes: http://www.arcanewonders.com/resources/Mage_Wars_Official_Rules_and_Codex_Supplement.pdf


Spells / Re: Jinx
« on: July 24, 2014, 09:57:28 PM »
I know this is an very old topic, but I would like to correct it so people do not get confused.

What if i have a thunderbold (or so) attached to a staff/wand and get jinxed after that?
Does the Jinx force me to take back my attachment to my spellbook, when i try to quick cast the attack from the staff/wand?

No, it doesn't. You get your mana refunded and the spell still bound to the staff/wand.

FAQ - Jinx:
"If Jinx is used to counter a Spellbound spell, the spell card stays on the equipment to which it was Spellbound, as per the rules of Spellbind."

FAQ - Spellbind:
"If a bound spell is countered, the spell effect is canceled, but the bound spell still remains bound (it is not destroyed or discarded). This includes if the spell is canceled or fails, such as with a Jinx spell, or if the target changes or is moved."

World and Lore / Re: Male Dwarves vs Female Dwarves?
« on: July 21, 2014, 07:02:58 PM »
Some interesting reading about the subject: http://tolkiengateway.net/wiki/Dwarf-women

I particularly like the idea of female dwarves with facial hair. Maybe, they would even shave or do some sort of hair style during special occasions (e.g.: wedding).

General Discussion / Re: Mage Wars in other languages?
« on: July 21, 2014, 12:04:20 PM »
Hi everyone,

We just finished up contracting with a Spanish publisher for Spanish translation and distribution.  As soon as we have more details, we'll be happy to share them.

Currently, we are working with companies worldwide to translate to German, Chinese, French, Italian, and Russian and we are looking into Polish and a few others as well.

As we have more details, we will share them.  Right now, our game is available in English, Chinese, French, Italian and Russian, with again, Spanish just recently signed and in the works.

I hope this helps.

VP of Business Development

Let me know if you guys are planning to translate it to Portuguese. I volunteer to revise the translation.

Rules Discussion / Re: Druid rules question.
« on: July 20, 2014, 08:49:56 PM »
I agree that vines are awesome and can spread quickly. In my opinion, opponents who knows how to position themselves well in the arena are the hardest enemies!

Also, the druid has many rooted plants, it is very common to cast a Thornlasher followed by a Vine Snapper. So, teleporting Thornlasher is very sad for the druid.

Additionally, a Warlock equipped with Lash of Hellfire can cause a huge damage to the Druid's plants!

Spellbook Design and Construction / Re: First Adramelech Book
« on: July 19, 2014, 10:40:57 AM »
Just a small suggestion.

I particularly do not like having Leather Gloves & Leather Boots because of corrodes. I see the value of having these two equipments when combined with Armor Ward; however, one single Acid Ball can reduce your mage's armor permanently to zero.

In most cases I prefer having two basic armors (Dragonscale Hauberk); so my mages can have a good protection agains corrodes and dissolves.

What do you guys think?

League / Tournament Play / Re: BoardgameGeek Top 100 July Poll
« on: July 18, 2014, 03:24:23 PM »
Mage Wars Jeopardy:

This enchantment can potentially cancel a creature spell by teleporting the caster to another zone?

League / Tournament Play / Re: BoardgameGeek Top 100 July Poll
« on: July 18, 2014, 12:11:26 PM »

Mage Wars (2012)
1st: 68.5% (61)
2nd: 23.6% (21)
3rd: 7.9% (7)
Vote count: 89

Rules Discussion / Wildfire Imp against multiple burns
« on: July 17, 2014, 03:35:08 PM »
Hey guys,

Wildfire Imp
Wildfire Imp says: "... Wildfire Imp gains Melee +2 while attacking an object with a Burn condition on it". How about an object with multiple burn conditions?

I am confident that 2 burn conditions won't give Melee +4; otherwise, it would be too strong.

Sorry if this question already came up, I searched for this but did not find any answer.


General Discussion / Re: Size of a zone
« on: July 15, 2014, 12:38:30 PM »
This is a nice post! :)

If that is correct; than, the arena is huge! Imagine watching a match there...

I'm thinking about Poison Gas Cloud with such dimensions

Player Feedback and Suggestions / Re: Arenas with larger zones
« on: June 26, 2014, 05:45:05 PM »
I was thinking about the same thing and decided to make my on board by printing each zone in a full letter page, gluing on corrugated plastic, and laminating its surface. In total, it has 24.5"x41" (the original has 24x32) and it looks very cool!

What I can say is that this board handle most of the cases, but sometimes the zone still too crowded. The original zone can technically accommodate 6 creatures, but in practical terms with 5 creatures it feels crowded already. With my board each zone can technically accommodate 8 creatures, but in practical terms with 7 creatures it feels crowded already.

To summarize, I made a larger board that handles most of the games I play. But sometimes we still find the zones too crowded.

I was wondering about doing a prototype where I would have a plain arena (without any zones printed on it) and adjust the zone areas moving some cord-bands around the board (kind of hard to explain without drawing).

General Questions / Re: Sectarus VS Nullify
« on: June 26, 2014, 05:18:32 PM »
So, if I understand correctly, Nullify works as per normal, while Reverse Magic merely nullifies the curse from Sectarus.

Thank you =D!


General Questions / Re: Sectarus VS Nullify
« on: June 24, 2014, 09:37:49 PM »
Good point! These enchantments have "Object" as target, therefore can target equipments.

General Discussion / Re: So whens FiF coming?
« on: June 23, 2014, 11:07:29 PM »
Not yet in Toronto-ON-Canada.

General Questions / Re: Sectarus VS Nullify
« on: June 23, 2014, 12:15:39 PM »
Hallo!  :D
I'm here for some clarification of rules regarding Sectarus casting spells on a target with Nullify or Reverse Magic.

Does Sectarus's curse spells negate Nullify's and Reverse Magic's effects?
If yes, I can understand that Reverse Magic cannot redirect Sectarus's spell because Sectarus is not a valid target, but what about Nullify? And, does Reverse Magic still get to counter it?

I couldn't find the answer anywhere, so if this question has been answered before, I'm sorry.  :-[

In my opinion, Nullify would be resolved normally.

Reverse Magic is a little trick because Sectarus, Dark Rune Sword may not be a valid target.

From the FAQ:
   "A spell fails and is canceled, if either of the following occur before the Resolve Spell Step:
      1. The target of the spell is no longer a legal target, or..."

In my understanding, when you reveal Reverse Magic, you are the new controller of that spell, if that spell hasn't a legal target; then, it is cancelled.

Currently, as far as I know, there are no Enchantments that target Equipment. Therefore, any Enchantment cast by Sectarus would be cancelled with Reverse Magic.


EDIT: Grammar correction

Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7