February 24, 2020, 05:32:52 PM

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.


Messages - aridigas

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 6
16
Mages / Re: Paladin training question
« on: January 21, 2017, 03:14:39 AM »
There is the word proper.
We agree that he is not trained in Conquer, as he would have to pay 8 points instead of 4, right?
So he does not have proper training. He is only a War Mage for spells of the Level 1 and 2. Conquer is a Level 4 War Mage only Spell and Paladin does not fulfill the requirements.

17
Events / Re: ADMW Winter Special - OCTGN Tournament
« on: January 20, 2017, 02:26:43 PM »
Aridigas' Paladin outcreatures CapnRedBeardIV's Bloodwave Warlord

18
Events / Re: ADMW Winter Special - OCTGN Tournament
« on: January 20, 2017, 05:50:11 AM »
Me and CapnRedBeardIV will meet in the Arena at 8pm Cet (7h from now)

19
Events / Re: ADMW Winter Special - OCTGN Tournament
« on: January 18, 2017, 02:42:01 AM »
Aridigas' Wizard defeated MrBubu's Straywood Beastmaster with a big lot of luck.

20
Events / Re: ADMW Winter Special - OCTGN Tournament
« on: January 16, 2017, 08:12:47 AM »
Re-rolling dice is a specific effect in the game with its own relative power levels. If you can reroll dice you've already rolled every time you forget to roll enough dice, that is like getting a free extra use of divine challenge or akiros favor. It literally does change the statistics involved. There is no way that if wouldn't. Rolling 2 dice and then rolling 3 dice is statistically different from just rolling 3 dice. That's why divine challenge is useful in the first place.


Rerolling dice that would be applied is a special event in Mage Wars. Just rerolling some dice isn't. If my Mage is to attack your Grizzly or whatever, does it change the outcome of my attack if I roll 5 dice before, pick them up and proceed to throw my attack dice? No. It does not.
Does it change the outcome of the attack if I make my attack, roll some dice, am not satisfied and use my akiros favor to roll again? Yes. It does.
The only important thing is that you handle these situations in the same manner every time. If I roll 1 die less 2 times and both times roll my ectra die seperately, that's okay. If I reroll the correct amount of dice every time, that's okay as well. If I add one extra die to one attack and reroll the other, that's not okay.
Different people may choose different approaches, so two players might reroll one attack and add a die to the other attack. But that's fine as well.
[Ninja'd by Enti!]

Well if you don't see anything wrong with someone bringing strategy notes into a high level competitive tournament, nor with no one else being told that this was permitted, even though it's common sense not to do this and even after I explained exactly why it is problematic to do this then I'm not sure how else I can explain it to you.

What unfair advantage do you get from bringing strategy notes? You don't have to remember all these things you wrote down. That's it. Strategy notes in your head aren't unfair.

There is no need to tell anyone that something like this is allowed. Noone told me it is allowed to drink a glass of water during play. I did last time. Am I disqualified now?
I am not (hopefully!). Drinking water does not give me an unfair advantage.

I really don't see anything giving unfair advantages that doesn't violates the rules of Mage Wars.
Carrying more cards in your spellbook than allowed?
Planning 3 spells each round?
Channeling 22 mana every turn?
Summoning a Grizzly as a quick action?
These things are unfair. But these things aren't allowed by the rules.

Drinking water?
Carrying sticky notes to make up for your poor memory?
Being completely naked during play?
These aren't unfair. (Some might be weird.) None of these are forbidden.


Most important thing to remember:
This is for fun.




After completely derailing this, is someone available to record MrBubu and me?

21
Events / Re: ADMW Winter Special - OCTGN Tournament
« on: January 16, 2017, 03:27:18 AM »
Tomorrow, Jan 17th, 8pm cet aridigas - MrBubu in Group B!
Looking for someone to record/judge

22
Events / Re: ADMW Winter Special - OCTGN Tournament
« on: January 15, 2017, 06:27:43 AM »
I'm good for a match Sunday after 7 or Monday before 5. Amy one in my group looking for a match? Sorry about my creaky schedule lately

After 7 in which time zone? I'm free to start a game for the next few hours.
Go group B!

23
Rules Discussion / Re: Sirens call no condition?
« on: January 13, 2017, 06:07:08 PM »
It cannot be countered by nullify, as it is neither an ecnchantment nor an incantation.

24
Rules Discussion / Re: Goblin Builder and Mind's Eye
« on: December 26, 2016, 04:40:34 AM »
EDIT: For clarity, the action you use is never a choice. Every action in the game, including spell casts, indicate that they require either a Full Action or a Quick Action. The type of action is never optional.
Quote from: Whirling Strike
Once this round, if this creature uses a full action to make a quick action melee attack, [...]

Whirling strike doesn't say something like "This creature may use a full action", it says "if". No part of the card allows a creatur to change the type of action used.
I know what it is supposed to mean: Don't move before the attack. But as written, it is possible to use a full action to make a quick attack.

25
Rules Discussion / Re: Goblin Builder and Mind's Eye
« on: December 25, 2016, 08:22:59 AM »
Given that, lets not rely too heavily on Goblin Builder casting as a "full action" rather than as a "full spell" without some previous precident that the distinction comprises a difference. Are there any other cards worded this way? The solution here may be to make a minor erattum to Goblin Builder to bring it in line with other similar cards.

To me, this is what we absolutely should do.

There are two possibilities:
1) Goblin Builder is meant to use a full action to cast a quick spell as a quick spell.
2) Goblin Builder is meant to use a full action to cast a quick spell as a full spell.

Talking about 1), it is important that the card is worded that way.
If 2) is right, the wording is (slightly) off and might need clarification.


Either way, it is important that Goblin Builder reads full action rather than full spell.

26
Rules Discussion / Re: Goblin Builder and Mind's Eye
« on: December 24, 2016, 08:03:12 AM »
I just went to check the wording and come to different conclusion.

Beastmaster Stats says he may summon a Level 1 animal creature spell as a quick spell.
Goblin Builder says he casts those spells as a full action with range of 0-0.

So the beastmaster changes what category of spell the animal is, the builder specifies, what kind of action he takes to cast that conjuration.

I'd say the builder actually can use Mind's Eye. He still has to take a full action, as he couldn't start the Cast Spell step otherwise.

The even more interesting part is, may the Eye ignore the range restriction?
It sounds like the range restriction is one made to the builder, not to the spell itself. In that case, the Eye might even ignore the range restriction.

I know that the eye cannot ignore the range restriction. The eye only acts as the origin point for a familiar's spell. The familiar is still the one casting the spell and goblin builder must cast at 0-0. This logic is also why I still think the builder cannot use the eye.

Fair point on the range. Guess you're right here.
But I don't see how this logic applies to quick and full spells. The Goblin uses his full action, so this requirement is met. But the spell itself remains a quick spell, so it fulfills the requirement for Mind's Eye.

27
Rules Discussion / Re: Goblin Builder and Mind's Eye
« on: December 24, 2016, 04:28:58 AM »
I just went to check the wording and come to different conclusion.

Beastmaster Stats says he may summon a Level 1 animal creature spell as a quick spell.
Goblin Builder says he casts those spells as a full action with range of 0-0.

So the beastmaster changes what category of spell the animal is, the builder specifies, what kind of action he takes to cast that conjuration.

I'd say the builder actually can use Mind's Eye. He still has to take a full action, as he couldn't start the Cast Spell step otherwise.

The even more interesting part is, may the Eye ignore the range restriction?
It sounds like the range restriction is one made to the builder, not to the spell itself. In that case, the Eye might even ignore the range restriction.

28
Alternative Play / Re: Alandell, Boss Knight
« on: December 20, 2016, 04:59:17 PM »
Let him pay those 4 mana for every attack he makes and I'll never play another mage again!
With +4 on his effect die his holy attacks will stun everything in range. And out of range. And in another dimension.

29
Events / Re: ADMW Winter Special - OCTGN Tournament
« on: December 20, 2016, 04:56:28 PM »
I'm very curious why Aridigas put Alandel in his deck. He's 10 points and not a soldier so it's really an uncommon choice.  :)

Because Alandell is BOSS!  He is henceforth dubbed: Alandell, the BOSS knight.

This.!

On a more serious note, here's why:
I don't care about the ATW's Battleorders in this book. So he doesn't need to be a Soldier. I only chose the Kriegshammer over a brute because I needed some points.

My goal was to run 3 Amigos with an increasing threat-level:
Kriegshammer/Brute; Alandell, the BOSS Knight; Dwarfy-Dwarf, the Dwarfen Mage.

My manaplanning was a little (totally) off. That Bearstrength on Alandell wasn't useful either. But let's assume, I did all of those things right. Alandell hits for some really nice damage and Stun-Chance.
The Kriegshammer is a nice little distraction.
A geared-up ATW is nothing you should underestimate. 3 mana for a 6-dice rock?


With those assumptions, my creatures work without action support. And Alandell is a fantastic creature if you got no actions to spare. Feed him some mana, give him Akiro's Favor and watch him wrecking everything. In theory. 3-4 mana on Alandell, a 3 mana rock and a 4 mana rock. Or a boulder and a melee attack.



While I'm at it, some more notes:
That dispel-wand should have been a teleport-wand. IF I HAD ONE! A single Teleport could have swung the game a lot. But I only had lesser ones.

Should have dissolved that Cloak. Twice.

On one of the Rocks I totally forgot my Gloves of Skill. Just forgot them. 3 damage on 6 dice MUST be rerolled. Forgot it.

Zombies are really good at tearing down Earth Walls. Underestimated that. Twice.

Runed Pants are cheap. Runed Harshforge-Plate isn't.

That Gorgon-Kill was awesome, hands down.


Shark made a really fantastic game, so my gamble didn't really work out. If he'd take one of his stronger (read: darker) mages, he'll maybe lack that particular mage in a possible rematch. If he chose a mage with a better match-up, I could maybe score a win without using a top-tier mage.
Fun match, thanks again!

30
Rules Discussion / Re: Tainted
« on: December 16, 2016, 02:57:02 PM »
This is no problem and works just fine. It's not like you gain Life +3 or something, you just lose Life -3.
The tainted condition is gone and your total life rises.

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 6