July 14, 2020, 07:38:35 AM

Author Topic: Gate to Voltari  (Read 6766 times)

reinfire13

  • New Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Gate to Voltari
« on: September 11, 2012, 12:16:29 AM »
Hello!

Gate to Voltari specifies that when a Mage resolves a spell you place 1 mana on Gate.  My question is, do abilities on cards that can be "used as a quick spell" count towards this.  An example of this would be the crown of protection.  It allows you, as a quick spell, to add an armor token to a creature.  

Spawn points or other creatures that ready spells I don't believe count towards it since the rules for Familiars and Spawn Points state that they are considered to have cast the spell.  I assume a wand would count since its the mage casting it.

Pretty much we have been playing it where "if its a card that you mage plays it counts but no abilities that just use up a quick action (though the actual wording is quick spell).

Sorry for rambling on lol

Klaxas

  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 1092
  • Banana Stickers 1
    • View Profile
Re: Gate to Voltari
« Reply #1 on: September 11, 2012, 10:20:21 AM »
if the wording is quick spell i believe it would count as a spell, but lets wait for an official answer
Favorite Mage: The one I am using.

Tllmdjd

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 0
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Gate to Voltari
« Reply #2 on: September 11, 2012, 11:29:22 AM »
I see no other reasonable interpretation.  If something is "used as a quick spell", then it is a quick spell, and therefore puts a mana token on Gate (assuming it is one of the two allowed per round, of course).

thuzl

  • New Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Gate to Voltari
« Reply #3 on: September 11, 2012, 02:15:20 PM »
Klaxas and Tllmdjd are correct.

Any ability on a card, such as Crown of Protection, Staff of Beast, "as a quick spell" counts as a spell cast for the purposes of Gate to Voltari. Also, you may use the Quickcast Action to activate either of these abilities.

Reinfire13, you are also correct that Spawnpoints' and Familiars' spells do not count towards the Gate, but the spells bound to either of the Wands would create mana for the Gate.

Arcanus

  • Administrator
  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 1000
  • Banana Stickers 2
    • View Profile
Re: Gate to Voltari
« Reply #4 on: September 11, 2012, 08:55:06 PM »
Thomas Huzl is Good!

Mestrahd

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 0
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Gate to Voltari
« Reply #5 on: September 12, 2012, 11:33:20 AM »
I plan on playing 4 player 2v2. If I had a Gate To Voltari out would I get 4 mana per turn (minimum)?

Sparkytbg

  • Sr. Mage
  • ****
  • Posts: 261
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Gate to Voltari
« Reply #6 on: September 12, 2012, 11:48:52 AM »
Hi Mestrahd,

Gate to Voltari states, "choose an
opponent Mage. Whenever that Mage casts and
resolves a spell, place 1 mana on Gate"

The caster of the gate will have to pick one of the Mages that is an opponent, when the gate comes into play.  So you will get one mana for channeling each turn and then one more each time that chosen mage casts and resolves a spell.  So that means you will get up to three mana on the Gate per turn.

Klaxas

  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 1092
  • Banana Stickers 1
    • View Profile
Re: Gate to Voltari
« Reply #7 on: September 12, 2012, 12:17:27 PM »
unless you cast harmonize on it :::grins:::
Favorite Mage: The one I am using.

bowlkart

  • Guest
Re: Gate to Voltari
« Reply #8 on: September 12, 2012, 12:58:58 PM »
Nevermind my post, I can't read.  Gate seems like a very strong card.

Shad0w

  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 2934
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Gate to Voltari
« Reply #9 on: September 13, 2012, 07:06:05 AM »
Quote from: "thuzl" post=1021
Klaxas and Tllmdjd are correct.

Any ability on a card, such as Crown of Protection, Staff of Beast, "as a quick spell" counts as a spell cast for the purposes of Gate to Voltari. Also, you may use the Quickcast Action to activate either of these abilities.

Reinfire13, you are also correct that Spawnpoints' and Familiars' spells do not count towards the Gate, but the spells bound to either of the Wands would create mana for the Gate.


Also remember that because act as a spell cast you follow they follow the casting order.
"Darth come prove to meet you are worthy of the fighting for your school in the arena and not just another scholar to be discarded like an worn out rag doll"


Quote: Shad0w the Arcmage

tarkin84

  • Jr. Mage
  • **
  • Posts: 89
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Gate to Voltari
« Reply #10 on: December 26, 2013, 06:09:13 PM »
Sorry to necro this thread, but I thought it would be nice to have every question related to gate to Voltari in the same thread.

Will Meditation amulet's ability trigger the gate?

Thank you in advance!
My Mage Wars blog (in Spanish): www.gatetovoltari.blogspot.com

Wildhorn

  • Superior artificial brain, feel free to call me Blaine.
  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 1063
  • Banana Stickers 3
    • View Profile
    • Mage Wars Quebec
Re: Gate to Voltari
« Reply #11 on: December 26, 2013, 07:10:45 PM »
Sorry to necro this thread, but I thought it would be nice to have every question related to gate to Voltari in the same thread.

Will Meditation amulet's ability trigger the gate?

Thank you in advance!

Summoning it, yes.

Using it, no. It is a special ability, not a spell.