May 27, 2019, 06:43:47 AM

Author Topic: DvN rules questions  (Read 236160 times)

baronzaltor

  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 1765
  • Banana Stickers 19
    • View Profile
Re: DvN ruels questions
« Reply #30 on: September 10, 2013, 12:13:47 PM »
The creature still dies, so all those checks apply such as removing damage, conditions and attached items.  Otherwise a creature would be coming back with damage equal to its health already on it too, which would instantly kill it again.

Laddinfance

  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 4646
  • Banana Stickers 2
    • View Profile
Re: DvN ruels questions
« Reply #31 on: September 10, 2013, 12:19:30 PM »
Baron has taken care of you.  They have to be destroyed to be reanimated.

Hale_32bit

  • Jr. Mage
  • **
  • Posts: 56
  • Banana Stickers 2
    • View Profile
Re: DvN ruels questions
« Reply #32 on: September 10, 2013, 12:57:58 PM »
When you kill something and turn it into a zombie when it comes under your control does it retain any of the enchantments that your opponent put on it or does it lose enchantments when it dies?

So like if you fight a Grizzly and it is beefed up with Bear Strength, Rhino Hide etc etc, even though it isn't your Bear Strength can you still use it?  I presume if it has regrowth enchantment on the newly reanimated Grizzly Zombie can't use that, but all other enchants are fair game and stay on?
Bear strength, Rhino hide, Regrowth can target only living creature.

Phoenix

  • Jr. Mage
  • **
  • Posts: 71
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Corrode vs resilent
« Reply #33 on: September 10, 2013, 09:02:22 PM »
On the news it is stated that "This object is incredibly resistant to damage. This object ignores all non-critical damage from Attacks. Direct damage, and attack effects, occurs normally."
Under the discussion of the corrode effects of the raptor it talks about  "...Corrode is a powerful weapon against zombies as they have no natural armor and very few ways to gain any."

If the resilient zombie is immune to non-critical direct damage, I do not know of any critical direct damage how is corrode going to be effective regardless of the state of the zombies armor?

note: I found the answer.  there is a period at the end of the sentence of non-critical damage from Attacks, not a comma.  Direct damage and attack effects are a new sentence.  Thank you for reading this
« Last Edit: September 10, 2013, 09:17:35 PM by leonej »

Laddinfance

  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 4646
  • Banana Stickers 2
    • View Profile
Re: Corrode vs resilent
« Reply #34 on: September 10, 2013, 09:16:48 PM »
You're totally fine. Direct damage applies normally to resilient creatures.

DarthDadaD20

  • Dark Father of Random Occurrence/TeamRocket Grunt
  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 1790
  • Banana Stickers 14
    • View Profile
Re: DvN ruels questions
« Reply #35 on: September 11, 2013, 08:49:53 AM »
I am going to go ahead and say it: Playing with and against these zombies feels just like you think it would.

Its almost like you are playing through a zombie horror movie- they really do give you that feeling.
Where does my greatest enemy lie?
It has been around since the dawn of time,
it follows your loved ones as well as mine,
takes the form of a mountain as well as a flower,
it cannot be outrun by the greatest of power.
Where does my greatest enemy lie?
Within Shad0w.

ringkichard

  • Flightless Funpire
  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 2564
  • Banana Stickers 18
  • Kich, if you prefer.
    • View Profile
Re: DvN ruels questions
« Reply #36 on: September 11, 2013, 10:01:24 AM »
Then I want a Mage Wand of Head Shot! (Or a Helm of Gothos of Head Shot, actually.)
I can take the fun out of anything. It's true; here, look at this spreadsheet.

sIKE

  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 4172
  • Banana Stickers 18
  • Ugh
    • View Profile
Re: DvN ruels questions
« Reply #37 on: September 11, 2013, 04:18:16 PM »
So what happens when my Vine Snapper devours a Necro's Eternal Servant? Like the Priest's Holy Avenger can he cast it again?
  • Favourite Mage: Malakai Priest

DarthDadaD20

  • Dark Father of Random Occurrence/TeamRocket Grunt
  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 1790
  • Banana Stickers 14
    • View Profile
Re: DvN ruels questions
« Reply #38 on: September 11, 2013, 07:24:35 PM »
Great question- Ill wait to see what is said.
« Last Edit: September 11, 2013, 07:28:12 PM by DarthDadaD20 »
Where does my greatest enemy lie?
It has been around since the dawn of time,
it follows your loved ones as well as mine,
takes the form of a mountain as well as a flower,
it cannot be outrun by the greatest of power.
Where does my greatest enemy lie?
Within Shad0w.

ringkichard

  • Flightless Funpire
  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 2564
  • Banana Stickers 18
  • Kich, if you prefer.
    • View Profile
Re: DvN ruels questions
« Reply #39 on: September 11, 2013, 08:06:55 PM »
Well, first we need Snapper and Necro officially spoiled, so....
I can take the fun out of anything. It's true; here, look at this spreadsheet.

Laddinfance

  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 4646
  • Banana Stickers 2
    • View Profile
Re: DvN ruels questions
« Reply #40 on: September 11, 2013, 09:03:42 PM »
In the article that covers the Necromancer, I'll be sure that get covered sIKE.

Stormmaster

  • Full Mage
  • ***
  • Posts: 140
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: DvN ruels questions
« Reply #41 on: September 11, 2013, 09:17:53 PM »
For the Druid since it says on her card she can place a vine marker "in a zone" does that mean ANY zone regardless of range or line of sight?  I'm assuming since it doesn't specify you can extend your reach and target any zone in the arena and since the vines are coming from underground presumably they could go past walls and don't have a range?  Am I reading that correctly?

I am a noob at this but I think if you click the little pic below it will make it bigger so you can read what I am asking about.


DarthDadaD20

  • Dark Father of Random Occurrence/TeamRocket Grunt
  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 1790
  • Banana Stickers 14
    • View Profile
Re: DvN ruels questions
« Reply #42 on: September 11, 2013, 10:11:11 PM »
Well, first we need Snapper and Necro officially spoiled, so....

I am not going to say too much and have to deal with the wrath of Shad0w!
Where does my greatest enemy lie?
It has been around since the dawn of time,
it follows your loved ones as well as mine,
takes the form of a mountain as well as a flower,
it cannot be outrun by the greatest of power.
Where does my greatest enemy lie?
Within Shad0w.

Laddinfance

  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 4646
  • Banana Stickers 2
    • View Profile
Re: DvN ruels questions
« Reply #43 on: September 11, 2013, 10:44:49 PM »
For the Druid since it says on her card she can place a vine marker "in a zone" does that mean ANY zone regardless of range or line of sight?  I'm assuming since it doesn't specify you can extend your reach and target any zone in the arena and since the vines are coming from underground presumably they could go past walls and don't have a range?  Am I reading that correctly?

I am a noob at this but I think if you click the little pic below it will make it bigger so you can read what I am asking about.

I can see the confusion. The Vine Markers for the Druid actually take up quite a bit of text.  Here is the rulebook entry for spreading vines, it should clear up any issues.

Quote
Spreading Vines
Life springs up in the footsteps of the Druid. Each Deployment Phase, the Druid may place a new Vine marker in her zone.  Or, she may instead place that marker in a zone, or adjacent to a zone, containing a Vine marker she controls. The Druid, and her spawnpoints and familiars, can use her Vine markers to extend the range of vine spells they cast.  See “Vine Markers” in the codex.


Moonglow

  • Sr. Mage
  • ****
  • Posts: 448
  • Banana Stickers 2
    • View Profile
Re: DvN ruels questions
« Reply #44 on: September 12, 2013, 01:25:20 AM »
Nice, the vine marker seems a pretty cool way to extend influence and board control!

Regarding the Vine Snapper, I seem to have missed something, why would it prevent your 'special creature powers' coming back for reassigning?  I'm not sure why it would do that, but even the resurrecting zombies seems to be clear that it wipes all existing spells and conditions etc before the creature is resurrected.  Thank god really, can you imagine the tracking that would be required?!