April 07, 2020, 12:03:41 PM

Author Topic: Clarification on how condition works  (Read 2331 times)

Loht

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Clarification on how condition works
« on: October 18, 2013, 01:10:52 PM »
Hello, i am relatively new to the game and i'm still learning most of the basics.
One of the aspects i cant find explained is how conditions work regarding its mana cost to discard.
It is explained in the book rules that in order to discard a specific condition one must pay the number in grey area at the bottom of the token. My question is when is this to occour?
I mean burn for example, during the upkeep we roll 1 die, 0 we remove it, 1 or 2 we take the dmg acording to the number rolled. In grey area its a 2, so i assume that when we roll a 0 we pay 2 mana and the token is out. So what if u dont have the money to pay? Or does this number means that if you want at anytime u pay 2 mana to remove the token? Other tokens like stun have a remove cost of 4, and it says to remove it after Acting. So why would anyone pay 4 mana if right after it is removed with no cost? Or does the 4 mana cost is mandatory to be removed after acting? Other conditions like weak dont have a remove situation at all. Just have a remove cost of 2, so i assume i have to remove the condition with spells? Or like i mentioned before the player pay at anytime to remove the token and just pay 2 mana? Please give me some clearings on this. Thanks in advance!

Wildhorn

  • Superior artificial brain, feel free to call me Blaine.
  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 1063
  • Banana Stickers 3
    • View Profile
    • Mage Wars Quebec
Re: Clarification on how condition works
« Reply #1 on: October 18, 2013, 01:39:31 PM »
You need to use a spell or ability that allow you to remove them. Like Purify for poison effect, or the Priestess ability.

Shad0w

  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 2934
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Clarification on how condition works
« Reply #2 on: October 18, 2013, 01:44:04 PM »
A few get removed when certain conditions are met. For some examples: Burn on a roll of a blank, Bleed when you would heal damage(for each 1 you would heal you remove 1 bleed instead).
"Darth come prove to meet you are worthy of the fighting for your school in the arena and not just another scholar to be discarded like an worn out rag doll"


Quote: Shad0w the Arcmage

HomelessJoe

  • Full Mage
  • ***
  • Posts: 121
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Clarification on how condition works
« Reply #3 on: October 18, 2013, 02:37:00 PM »
There are also the holy 'Renewing Spring' conjuration in the Kumanjaro expansion that can remove one token instead of healing. You still pay the mana requirement shown on the token. It's a nice way to deal with tokens while freeing up your mage.

Good luck, you picked a great game!

Zuberi

  • Rules Guru
  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 2504
  • Banana Stickers 57
    • View Profile
Re: Clarification on how condition works
« Reply #4 on: October 18, 2013, 03:58:13 PM »
To expand on what Shadow said, if a condition says it is removed when certain criteria are met, you do NOT have to pay the removal cost. They simply get removed. Otherwise, you have to use some kind of spell or ability to remove them.

The only time you have to pay the removal cost is when something tells you to pay the removal cost. Usually spells and abilities that remove conditions have you pay this cost, though not all. Geyser and Surging Wave can remove Burn without paying the removal cost, for example.

sIKE

  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 4172
  • Banana Stickers 18
  • Ugh
    • View Profile
Re: Clarification on how condition works
« Reply #5 on: October 18, 2013, 05:02:51 PM »
There are also the holy 'Renewing Spring' conjuration in the Kumanjaro expansion that can remove one token instead of healing. You still pay the mana requirement shown on the token. It's a nice way to deal with tokens while freeing up your mage.

Good luck, you picked a great game!
Renewing Spring's Condition removal is in addition to the 3 dice healing. I consider it a must with many Wizards running Gorgon Archer.
  • Favourite Mage: Malakai Priest

HomelessJoe

  • Full Mage
  • ***
  • Posts: 121
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Clarification on how condition works
« Reply #6 on: October 18, 2013, 06:09:54 PM »
There are also the holy 'Renewing Spring' conjuration in the Kumanjaro expansion that can remove one token instead of healing. You still pay the mana requirement shown on the token. It's a nice way to deal with tokens while freeing up your mage.

Good luck, you picked a great game!
Renewing Spring's Condition removal is in addition to the 3 dice healing. I consider it a must with many Wizards running Gorgon Archer.


Crap, your right.......

Note: Avoid posting specifics of random cards while at work  :o

Shad0w

  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 2934
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Clarification on how condition works
« Reply #7 on: October 18, 2013, 06:38:50 PM »
To expand on what Shadow said, if a condition says it is removed when certain criteria are met, you do NOT have to pay the removal cost. They simply get removed. Otherwise, you have to use some kind of spell or ability to remove them.

The only time you have to pay the removal cost is when something tells you to pay the removal cost. Usually spells and abilities that remove conditions have you pay this cost, though not all. Geyser and Surging Wave can remove Burn without paying the removal cost, for example.

Correct
"Darth come prove to meet you are worthy of the fighting for your school in the arena and not just another scholar to be discarded like an worn out rag doll"


Quote: Shad0w the Arcmage