August 23, 2019, 09:53:42 PM

Author Topic: Circle of lightning daze is near useless?  (Read 1936 times)

BoomFrog

  • Full Mage
  • ***
  • Posts: 222
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Circle of lightning daze is near useless?
« on: June 04, 2014, 04:56:44 PM »
If my understanding of the rules is correct then it seems like if you have CoL and are attacked them the attacker suffers daze or stun from the damage barrier then their action ends and the condition is immediately removed with no actual effect. You could attack a guard and then the guards counter attack may cause him to actually be stunned but that seems like an amazingly nitch  usage compared to circle of fire which can always burn.

Obviously neither are used much but still this seems like a glitch in the rules that makes this spell significantly weaker then intended.

Lord0fWinter

  • Warden of the North
  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 623
  • Banana Stickers 7
  • www.magewars.weebly.com
    • View Profile
Re: Circle of lightning daze is near useless?
« Reply #1 on: June 04, 2014, 05:09:36 PM »
From the rulebook "Any conditions that the attacker gained as a result of the defender’s damage barrier or counterstrike, if they have “end of Action Phase” effects, are not resolved at the end of this Action Phase. For example, if the defender Stunned the attacker with his damage barrier, leave the Stun marker on the attacker and do not remove it at the end of this Action Phase. In this manner it will remain in play and will have an effect on the attacker for his next Action Phase."

In short, no, they stay on.
« Last Edit: June 04, 2014, 05:12:39 PM by Lord0fWinter »
  • Favourite Mage: Darkfenne Necromancer
Visit my Mage Wars blog at www.magewars.weebly.com, also check me out on facebook at https://www.facebook.com/MageWarsBlog and on twitter at @MageWarsBlog

Shad0w

  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 2934
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Circle of lightning daze is near useless?
« Reply #2 on: June 05, 2014, 04:42:55 PM »
From the rulebook "Any conditions that the attacker gained as a result of the defender’s damage barrier or counterstrike, if they have “end of Action Phase” effects, are not resolved at the end of this Action Phase. For example, if the defender Stunned the attacker with his damage barrier, leave the Stun marker on the attacker and do not remove it at the end of this Action Phase. In this manner it will remain in play and will have an effect on the attacker for his next Action Phase."

In short, no, they stay on.

A sticker for Lord  8)
"Darth come prove to meet you are worthy of the fighting for your school in the arena and not just another scholar to be discarded like an worn out rag doll"


Quote: Shad0w the Arcmage