May 24, 2018, 09:03:19 AM

Author Topic: Eagle Wings and Attack Cancellation  (Read 2316 times)

Alexander West

  • Falconer
  • Full Mage
  • ***
  • Posts: 120
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Eagle Wings and Attack Cancellation
« on: February 01, 2014, 02:42:14 AM »
In the FAQ it says this about Divine Intervention:

Q:  When is the latest that I can reveal Divine Intervention to teleport out of the way to cancel an attack on my creature before its effects are applied?

A:  At the end of the Roll Dice Step.  This means I get to see the roll result before deciding.


Is this also true for Eagle Wings?
"He who asks a question is a fool for five minutes; he who does not is a fool for a lifetime."

Aylin

  • Sr. Mage
  • ****
  • Posts: 494
  • Banana Stickers 4
    • View Profile
Re: Eagle Wings and Attack Cancellation
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2014, 02:53:28 AM »
No.

Page 15 of the rulebook:

"A creature cannot gain or lose the Flying trait in the middle of an attack. For example, if a creature gains Flying in the middle of an attack, the entire attack is still resolved as if the creature did not have Flying, and the Flying is gained after that attack is complete."

Zuberi

  • Acolyte of the Dice Gods
  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 2470
  • Banana Stickers 56
    • View Profile
Re: Eagle Wings and Attack Cancellation
« Reply #2 on: February 01, 2014, 08:42:09 AM »
Exactly. The rules are written to specifically avoid using the flying trait to cancel an attack. The latest you can reveal eagle wings to avoid an attack is after the creature has been activated but before an attack is declared.

Alexander West

  • Falconer
  • Full Mage
  • ***
  • Posts: 120
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Eagle Wings and Attack Cancellation
« Reply #3 on: February 01, 2014, 11:25:31 AM »
Thanks, oh wise and experienced wizards!   ;)
"He who asks a question is a fool for five minutes; he who does not is a fool for a lifetime."

Shad0w

  • Global Moderator
  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 2934
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Eagle Wings and Attack Cancellation
« Reply #4 on: February 01, 2014, 03:23:10 PM »
@Alexander

I do understand that want to get familiar with the rules but please before making a new thread run a search. This had already been answered back in October 2012 in the below thread.
Target becoming illegal during attack

Welcome to the arena.
"Darth come prove to meet you are worthy of the fighting for your school in the arena and not just another scholar to be discarded like an worn out rag doll"


Quote: Shad0w the Arcmage