October 23, 2017, 04:43:30 AM

Author Topic: Akiros Favor VS Temple of the Dawnbreaker  (Read 159534 times)

jacksmack

  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 976
  • Banana Stickers 17
    • View Profile
Akiros Favor VS Temple of the Dawnbreaker
« on: July 23, 2014, 10:03:20 AM »
Can somebody explain me how these 2 works together?

I believe there could be a difference on wether akiros is revealed or not depending on what the ruling is.



ACG

  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 859
  • Banana Stickers 5
    • View Profile
Re: Akiros Favor VS Temple of the Dawnbreaker
« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2014, 10:18:49 AM »
These two cards have completely different functions. Akiro's Favor lets you reroll when attacking, whereas Temple of the Dawnbreaker lets you reroll when defending or escaping. Combine the two, and you just have both effects - I don't think the two cards interact with each other at all.

Wildhorn

  • Superior artificial brain, feel free to call me Blaine.
  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 1063
  • Banana Stickers 3
    • View Profile
    • Mage Wars Quebec
Re: Akiros Favor VS Temple of the Dawnbreaker
« Reply #2 on: July 23, 2014, 10:21:15 AM »
ACG is right. None of the effect interact with each others. One is when you attack, the other is when you defend.

jacksmack

  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 976
  • Banana Stickers 17
    • View Profile
Re: Akiros Favor VS Temple of the Dawnbreaker
« Reply #3 on: July 23, 2014, 10:29:58 AM »
Erhhh.

The priestess has the temple.

The warlord has akiros favor.

The warlord attacks the priestess. And rolls really good or really bad. Who decides first if there should be a reroll?

Wildhorn

  • Superior artificial brain, feel free to call me Blaine.
  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 1063
  • Banana Stickers 3
    • View Profile
    • Mage Wars Quebec
Re: Akiros Favor VS Temple of the Dawnbreaker
« Reply #4 on: July 23, 2014, 10:33:13 AM »
Like everytime both players want to do something at sametime.... Initiative.

And just to add, because you talked about Akiro revealed or not, that once in the rolling dice step, you can't reveal it. You can only reveal inbetween steps.
« Last Edit: July 23, 2014, 10:36:35 AM by Wildhorn »

jacksmack

  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 976
  • Banana Stickers 17
    • View Profile
Re: Akiros Favor VS Temple of the Dawnbreaker
« Reply #5 on: July 23, 2014, 10:55:56 AM »
Akiro can use its effect outside of the roll dice step.
Why? because if Akiro is face down, then you can reveal it between the roll dice step and apply damage step and actually use it straight away.

Can temple be used outside of the roll dice step?


I have a feeling that it's not as simple as you suggest.

« Last Edit: July 23, 2014, 10:59:39 AM by jacksmack »

Wildhorn

  • Superior artificial brain, feel free to call me Blaine.
  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 1063
  • Banana Stickers 3
    • View Profile
    • Mage Wars Quebec
Re: Akiros Favor VS Temple of the Dawnbreaker
« Reply #6 on: July 23, 2014, 11:28:07 AM »
Ooo, interesting. Indeed with the wording of both spells, you could reroll the attack dice outside the rolling dice step. Only the Defense/Escape part of the temple require to do it right after you rolled.

BoomFrog

  • Full Mage
  • ***
  • Posts: 222
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Akiros Favor VS Temple of the Dawnbreaker
« Reply #7 on: July 23, 2014, 12:57:59 PM »
So player with initiative decides the order that players have the opportunity to reroll, and once you pass the opportunity then you don't get a new one?

Let's say warlord has initiative and rolled crappy. He decides priestess chooses first and she is course doesn't reroll. Warlord now rerolls and rolls high. Priestess can not use temple, its too late, correct?

Wildhorn

  • Superior artificial brain, feel free to call me Blaine.
  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 1063
  • Banana Stickers 3
    • View Profile
    • Mage Wars Quebec
Re: Akiros Favor VS Temple of the Dawnbreaker
« Reply #8 on: July 23, 2014, 02:24:59 PM »
No. If warlord has initiative, he decide if he want to reroll. Then priestesse decide if she want to.

jacksmack

  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 976
  • Banana Stickers 17
    • View Profile
Re: Akiros Favor VS Temple of the Dawnbreaker
« Reply #9 on: July 23, 2014, 02:27:25 PM »
Any argument for:
temple must reroll during the dice roll step, while akiro can do it until damage has been applied?

Wildhorn

  • Superior artificial brain, feel free to call me Blaine.
  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 1063
  • Banana Stickers 3
    • View Profile
    • Mage Wars Quebec
Re: Akiros Favor VS Temple of the Dawnbreaker
« Reply #10 on: July 23, 2014, 02:39:23 PM »
The way they are worded, both spell effect for attack roll can be rerolled between Roll Dice and Apply Damage steps.

Shad0w

  • Global Moderator
  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 2934
  • Banana Stickers 3
    • View Profile
Re: Akiros Favor VS Temple of the Dawnbreaker
« Reply #11 on: July 23, 2014, 06:42:13 PM »
Ooo, interesting. Indeed with the wording of both spells, you could reroll the attack dice outside the rolling dice step. Only the Defense/Escape part of the temple require to do it right after you rolled.


I would need to review the card wording




BTW ACG got a sticker
"Darth come prove to meet you are worthy of the fighting for your school in the arena and not just another scholar to be discarded like an worn out rag doll"


Quote: Shad0w the Arcmage

Shad0w

  • Global Moderator
  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 2934
  • Banana Stickers 3
    • View Profile
Re: Akiros Favor VS Temple of the Dawnbreaker
« Reply #12 on: July 23, 2014, 06:43:26 PM »
Any argument for:
temple must reroll during the dice roll step, while akiro can do it until damage has been applied?


Sound correct but as above need to review cards
"Darth come prove to meet you are worthy of the fighting for your school in the arena and not just another scholar to be discarded like an worn out rag doll"


Quote: Shad0w the Arcmage

Sailor Vulcan

  • Secret Identity: Imaginator
  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 2895
  • Banana Stickers 3
    • View Profile
Re: Akiros Favor VS Temple of the Dawnbreaker
« Reply #13 on: November 24, 2015, 11:29:46 AM »
I understand if it's decided by initiative, but I don't think that's always enough. What if my opponent rolls 5 damage, i reroll with the dawnbreaker and it goes to 3, then they decide they want to reveal akiro's favor and have the attack rerolled a second time?
  • Favourite Mage: Salenia Forcemaster
I am Sailor Vulcan! Champion of justice and reason! And yes, I am already aware my uniform is considered flashy, unprofessional, and borderline sexually provocative for my species by most intelligent lifeforms. I did not choose this outfit. Shut up.

FrostByte

  • Playtester
  • New Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 36
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Akiros Favor VS Temple of the Dawnbreaker
« Reply #14 on: November 24, 2015, 11:56:18 AM »
Akiro's Favor Temple of the Dawnbreaker
Neither spell specifies a step during which to roll. 

My initial claim during that game may have been wrong.   If Akiro's favor can reroll during the Damages and Effects step then he could have activated it and used it in your particular case Vulcan.

However if it already had been revealed whoever had the initiative could have chose whether or not to reroll first. and if it's not limited to the roll dice step then the person with the initiative would get to decide first whether they want to act in either step.
  • Favourite Mage: Salenia Forcemaster