October 22, 2019, 07:11:01 PM

Author Topic: Akiros Favor VS Temple of the Dawnbreaker  (Read 218796 times)

exid

  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 862
  • Banana Stickers 4
  • The longer the better!
    • View Profile
Re: Akiros Favor VS Temple of the Dawnbreaker
« Reply #150 on: February 29, 2016, 04:44:12 AM »
the question was:
when a card allows to "re-roll" something,
- must the re-roll take place during the normal roll-step (in this case, if the card is an enchantment like Akiro's Favour, it must be revealed before the normal roll-step)
OR
- can the re-roll take place later... and until when? (in this case an enchantment could be revealed after the rolling is known)

sIKE

  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 4172
  • Banana Stickers 18
  • Ugh
    • View Profile
Re: Akiros Favor VS Temple of the Dawnbreaker
« Reply #151 on: February 29, 2016, 09:22:43 AM »
the question was:
when a card allows to "re-roll" something,
- must the re-roll take place during the normal roll-step (in this case, if the card is an enchantment like Akiro's Favour, it must be revealed before the normal roll-step)
OR
- can the re-roll take place later... and until when? (in this case an enchantment could be revealed after the rolling is known - like Rhino Hide.
There fixed!
  • Favourite Mage: Malakai Priest

exid

  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 862
  • Banana Stickers 4
  • The longer the better!
    • View Profile
Re: Akiros Favor VS Temple of the Dawnbreaker
« Reply #152 on: February 29, 2016, 12:10:48 PM »
the question was:
when a card allows to "re-roll" something,
- must the re-roll take place during the normal roll-step (in this case, if the card is an enchantment like Akiro's Favour, it must be revealed before the normal roll-step)
OR
- can the re-roll take place later... and until when? (in this case, if the card is an enchantment like Akiro's Favour, it could be revealed after the rolling is known).
There fixed!
:D that's not what i meant... re-fixed!

sIKE

  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 4172
  • Banana Stickers 18
  • Ugh
    • View Profile
Re: Akiros Favor VS Temple of the Dawnbreaker
« Reply #153 on: February 29, 2016, 12:16:15 PM »
I was just wanting to point out that there is a place after the dice have been rolled and an enchantment is commonly revealed. It would be down in-between the two steps. As this sentence:

Quote
- can the re-roll take place later... and until when?

made it appear that something like this hasn't already been happening in the game.
  • Favourite Mage: Malakai Priest

exid

  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 862
  • Banana Stickers 4
  • The longer the better!
    • View Profile
Re: Akiros Favor VS Temple of the Dawnbreaker
« Reply #154 on: February 29, 2016, 12:32:05 PM »
I was just wanting to point out that there is a place after the dice have been rolled and an enchantment is commonly revealed. It would be down in-between the two steps. As this sentence:

Quote
- can the re-roll take place later... and until when?

made it appear that something like this hasn't already been happening in the game.
oh! no! that was not my point!
i just wanted to say that if a re-roll enchantment can be revealed after the rolling, the "untill when" question must be answered in the rull.

sIKE

  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 4172
  • Banana Stickers 18
  • Ugh
    • View Profile
Re: Akiros Favor VS Temple of the Dawnbreaker
« Reply #155 on: February 29, 2016, 12:41:14 PM »
What I am saying in the case of the second option the only space this can happen is in-between the Roll Dice Step and the Apply Damage and Effects Step. There is no mystery there, the real question (in my mind) is when an effect says you can re-roll a dice, does the re-roll happen in the Roll Dice Step or after the step.
  • Favourite Mage: Malakai Priest

Moonglow

  • Sr. Mage
  • ****
  • Posts: 448
  • Banana Stickers 2
    • View Profile
Re: Akiros Favor VS Temple of the Dawnbreaker
« Reply #156 on: March 01, 2016, 11:49:31 AM »
If it helps I think we'd worked out the question and we're just waiting to hear back from Brian and Laddin.

exid

  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 862
  • Banana Stickers 4
  • The longer the better!
    • View Profile
Re: Akiros Favor VS Temple of the Dawnbreaker
« Reply #157 on: March 01, 2016, 12:17:53 PM »
If it helps I think we'd worked out the question and we're just waiting to hear back from Brian and Laddin.
yep!
but how to formulate the question is still to discuss  ;D ;D ;D

Moonglow

  • Sr. Mage
  • ****
  • Posts: 448
  • Banana Stickers 2
    • View Profile
Re: Akiros Favor VS Temple of the Dawnbreaker
« Reply #158 on: April 07, 2016, 04:48:55 AM »
You promised!! ;)

With everything else going on with AW, Bryan and I haven't been able to talk about it yet. I have not forgotten this.

You promise?

Yes.

exid

  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 862
  • Banana Stickers 4
  • The longer the better!
    • View Profile
Re: Akiros Favor VS Temple of the Dawnbreaker
« Reply #159 on: April 07, 2016, 05:58:04 AM »
 ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Moonglow

  • Sr. Mage
  • ****
  • Posts: 448
  • Banana Stickers 2
    • View Profile
Re: Akiros Favor VS Temple of the Dawnbreaker
« Reply #160 on: September 06, 2016, 04:45:59 AM »
What ever happened to answer this?  Was it addressed somewhere else and I missed it?

I mean come on, there's even a promise on this! :)

Laddinfance

  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 4646
  • Banana Stickers 2
    • View Profile
Re: Akiros Favor VS Temple of the Dawnbreaker
« Reply #161 on: September 06, 2016, 07:00:24 AM »
Spells that allow for the re-rolling of dice, allow the dice to be re-rolled any time prior to the Damage and Effects step, of an attack.

exid

  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 862
  • Banana Stickers 4
  • The longer the better!
    • View Profile
Re: Akiros Favor VS Temple of the Dawnbreaker
« Reply #162 on: September 07, 2016, 12:38:33 AM »
Spells that allow for the re-rolling of dice, allow the dice to be re-rolled any time prior to the Damage and Effects step, of an attack.
very clear!
please put it in the new rules supplement  ;D

Moonglow

  • Sr. Mage
  • ****
  • Posts: 448
  • Banana Stickers 2
    • View Profile
Re: Akiros Favor VS Temple of the Dawnbreaker
« Reply #163 on: September 07, 2016, 05:15:26 AM »
ummm, its clear, but is it answering all of the question?  I think one of the aspects of the question was around when AF can be revealed.  I think Laddin's reply says that:

If the AF effect can be applied any time before the damage or Effect step then you can reveal AF after the dice roll step (before the damage step) and then re-roll the dice.

If I've understood the implications correctly then I guess it is fully answered :)

The more I re-read the thread the less sure I am - a lot of the question was about whether AF could have an effect on dice already rolled if it was revealed after the roll.... Laddin's answer doesnt explicitly clarify this question.

Quoting an older post:
4th edition, p18: Enchantments cannot affect an event that occured before it was  revealed.
and since it can't be revealed during the step...

« Last Edit: September 07, 2016, 05:19:09 AM by Moonglow »

Puddnhead

  • Member of Arcane Duels; MageCast Co-host
  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 1540
  • Banana Stickers 7
    • View Profile
Re: Akiros Favor VS Temple of the Dawnbreaker
« Reply #164 on: September 07, 2016, 07:16:38 AM »
The way I understand it, Akiro's Favor and its ilk are giving you an additional (albeit partial) "roll dice" step that must be taken before the "damage and effects"  step. so as long as you have revealed before "damage and effects" you are entitled to your reroll.
  • Favourite Mage: Salenia Forcemaster