May 27, 2019, 06:36:11 AM

Author Topic: Rise again  (Read 3118 times)

Knabb master

  • Jr. Mage
  • **
  • Posts: 82
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Rise again
« on: January 19, 2015, 12:51:12 PM »
What would happen if both players had Rise Again on the same creature and the creature gets destroyed who will get too reanimate it then?
  • Favourite Mage: Darkfenne Necromancer

Lord0fWinter

  • Warden of the North
  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 623
  • Banana Stickers 7
  • www.magewars.weebly.com
    • View Profile
Re: Rise again
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2015, 01:06:14 PM »
The player with initiative.
  • Favourite Mage: Darkfenne Necromancer
Visit my Mage Wars blog at www.magewars.weebly.com, also check me out on facebook at https://www.facebook.com/MageWarsBlog and on twitter at @MageWarsBlog

echephron

  • Player
  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 692
  • Banana Stickers 0
  • The finest in mage wear...
    • View Profile
Re: Rise again
« Reply #2 on: January 19, 2015, 01:15:36 PM »
the first person to reveal the enchantment, since it can be revealed prior to the creatures destruction. This relates to the rule that says you must discard duplicate revealed/unrevealed enchantments attached to an object when one is revealed

if they both wait until the same moment to reveal, then yes, its initiative.
« Last Edit: January 19, 2015, 01:19:25 PM by echephron »
  • Favourite Mage: Wychwood Druid

Zuberi

  • Rules Guru
  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 2496
  • Banana Stickers 57
    • View Profile
Re: Rise again
« Reply #3 on: January 19, 2015, 01:21:10 PM »
Also, it has to be revealed before the creature is destroyed. It does not have a trigger and would be destroyed itself if you let the creature be destroyed before reveal. So gotta reveal it before step 4 of combat. Thus, whomever reveals first has it and the other player can't reveal. If two people want to reveal enchant at same time, initiative decides order.

Shad0w

  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 2934
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Rise again
« Reply #4 on: January 23, 2015, 08:53:32 AM »
the first person to reveal the enchantment, since it can be revealed prior to the creatures destruction. This relates to the rule that says you must discard duplicate revealed/unrevealed enchantments attached to an object when one is revealed

if they both wait until the same moment to reveal, then yes, its initiative.


Also, it has to be revealed before the creature is destroyed. It does not have a trigger and would be destroyed itself if you let the creature be destroyed before reveal. So gotta reveal it before step 4 of combat. Thus, whomever reveals first has it and the other player can't reveal. If two people want to reveal enchant at same time, initiative decides order.

They are correct.

If you have a destruction even and Player A chose not to reveal a Rise again then Player B would have a chance if both players passed the creature would die and could not be brought back.

If you have a destruction even and Player A chose to reveal a Rise again then Player B would have a chance to reveal but B could not reveal a Rise Again since the creature already had one on it.

If you have a destruction even and Player A chose not to reveal a Rise again then Player B would have a chance to reveal and B could then reveal a Rise Again since the creature does not already had one on it. Player A would not be able to the reveal since for each event players are only asked once.
"Darth come prove to meet you are worthy of the fighting for your school in the arena and not just another scholar to be discarded like an worn out rag doll"


Quote: Shad0w the Arcmage

Zuberi

  • Rules Guru
  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 2496
  • Banana Stickers 57
    • View Profile
Re: Rise again
« Reply #5 on: January 23, 2015, 05:28:37 PM »
Quote from: Shod0w
Player A would not be able to the reveal since for each event players are only asked once.

This reasoning could be misconstrued as saying Player A doesn't get another opportunity to reveal enchantments, which is inaccurate.

Quote from: English Rulebook v3 page 18-19
If both players want to reveal an enchantment at the same time, the player with the initiative goes first. He may reveal as many enchantments as he wants, one at a time, resolving each one before revealing the next. When he is finished, then the other player may reveal any enchantments,  revealing and resolving them one at a time. Then the first player can reveal again, and so on. Each enchantment is resolved as soon as it is revealed.

Thus, after Player B has revealed Rise Again, Player A can not reveal a Rise Again because the creature already has one on it, not because he doesn't get another chance to reveal.

I would also make clear that the reveal has to occur before the destruction event resolves rather than being able to do it in response to a destruction event. Usually, this would be between steps 3 and 4 of an attack as the latest you could reveal it. It might also be possible for a spell to destroy a creature without an attack though, in which case it must be revealed between steps 2 and 3 of casting that spell. For example, if someone was causing the destruction of the creature by Dispelling a Bull's Endurance off of it. If someone caused a destruction event without using an attack or a spell cast, such as by revealing an enchantment instead, then you would not get any opportunity to reveal Rise Again as the destruction would resolve before you got that chance.