October 21, 2018, 07:43:47 AM

Author Topic: Can a creature with the Uncontainable trait be Pushed?  (Read 4746 times)

sIKE

  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 4172
  • Banana Stickers 18
  • Ugh
    • View Profile
Can a creature with the Uncontainable trait be Pushed?
« on: February 17, 2015, 06:47:45 PM »
Did a little looking around at the FAQ, the Codex, and a google search on the forum.arcanewonders.com site and didn't come up with an answer. Could of missed it though.

From the v2 Codex:

Uncontainable
This creature has a slippery and/or amorphous body, making it difficult to hold in place. Some spells, conditions, and effects will not work against an Uncontainable creature. All Incorporeal creatures have the Uncontainable trait.
  • Favourite Mage: Malakai Priest

DaveW

  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 789
  • Banana Stickers 3
    • View Profile
Re: Can a creature with the Uncontainable trait be Pushed?
« Reply #1 on: February 17, 2015, 07:05:16 PM »
Interesting question... I guess I see no reason why it could not be pushed. The Spell Push talks about its not working on Unmovable creatures, but says nothing about Uncontainable ones. I think that if Uncontainable ones were to be unable to be Pushed, then that condition would also be listed.

In pseudoscience theory or whatever, I can imagine that the spell or any push effect would provide a wide-enough cross-sectional area of force that can ensure that all parts of any movable creature can be forced to move by it. I don't imagine that the spell produces a small, focused force that an Uncontainable creature could move around without effect.

Certainly not official, but my best interpretation.
  • Favourite Mage: Asyra Priestess

Laddinfance

  • Administrator
  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 4646
  • Banana Stickers 2
    • View Profile
Re: Can a creature with the Uncontainable trait be Pushed?
« Reply #2 on: February 17, 2015, 07:20:13 PM »
Uncontainable creatures can be pushed. Being Uncontainable makes you very hard to hold in place, not necessarily difficult to move around.

Sailor Vulcan

  • Secret Identity: Imaginator
  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 3128
  • Banana Stickers 3
    • View Profile
Re: Can a creature with the Uncontainable trait be Pushed?
« Reply #3 on: February 17, 2015, 10:38:41 PM »
It can't be restrained though.. It says that under the entry for restrained and not the entry for uncontainable. That can make it a bit harder to find, unfortunately.
Unless you were thinking of unstoppable? Unstoppable creatures always have the uncontainable trait AND the unmovable trait, which means they can neither be restrained nor pushed.
  • Favourite Mage: Salenia Forcemaster
I am Sailor Vulcan! Champion of justice and reason! And yes, I am already aware my uniform is considered flashy, unprofessional, and borderline sexually provocative for my species by most intelligent lifeforms. I did not choose this outfit. Shut up.

wtcannonjr

  • Ambassador of Wychwood
  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 742
  • Banana Stickers 2
    • View Profile
    • WBC Mage Wars Tournament
Re: Can a creature with the Uncontainable trait be Pushed?
« Reply #4 on: February 18, 2015, 05:46:32 AM »
However, Snatch has no effect on uncontainable creatures. So you can push a Wind Spirit but can't snatch one. Apparently snatch has an implied restraining effect.
  • Favourite Mage: Wychwood Druid
"Not everything that is faced can be changed, but nothing can be changed until it is faced." - James Baldwin

Zuberi

  • Rules Guru
  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 2484
  • Banana Stickers 56
    • View Profile
Re: Can a creature with the Uncontainable trait be Pushed?
« Reply #5 on: February 18, 2015, 06:31:18 AM »
Hmm, that is very interesting that you can Push an Uncontainable object but you can't Snatch one.

ACG

  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 859
  • Banana Stickers 5
    • View Profile
Re: Can a creature with the Uncontainable trait be Pushed?
« Reply #6 on: February 18, 2015, 08:51:45 AM »
Well, don't forget that incorporeal creatures (which comprise most of the uncontainable creatures) are unaffected by D12 effects from non-ethereal attacks. So Jet Stream will push them, but not Surging Wave.

It makes sense that you can push but not snatch them, though; snatching requires you to get a grip on the object AND exert a force, whereas pushing just requires exerting a force.

sIKE

  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 4172
  • Banana Stickers 18
  • Ugh
    • View Profile
Re: Can a creature with the Uncontainable trait be Pushed?
« Reply #7 on: February 18, 2015, 09:12:39 AM »
I was making the comment on the why the wiz is so good thread, and that (Snatch) popped into my mind about the Druid creatures and I should of just looked up Snatch in the codex.
  • Favourite Mage: Malakai Priest

wtcannonjr

  • Ambassador of Wychwood
  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 742
  • Banana Stickers 2
    • View Profile
    • WBC Mage Wars Tournament
Re: Can a creature with the Uncontainable trait be Pushed?
« Reply #8 on: February 18, 2015, 04:55:31 PM »
And I suppose the Force Pull spell ability of the Force master does work against uncontainable creatures since it is not a Snatch.

And we wonder why new players can feel overwhelmed with the rule set. :)
  • Favourite Mage: Wychwood Druid
"Not everything that is faced can be changed, but nothing can be changed until it is faced." - James Baldwin

ringkichard

  • Flightless Funpire
  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 2564
  • Banana Stickers 18
  • Kich, if you prefer.
    • View Profile
Re: Can a creature with the Uncontainable trait be Pushed?
« Reply #9 on: February 18, 2015, 06:25:42 PM »
Well, don't forget that incorporeal creatures (which comprise most of the uncontainable creatures) are unaffected by D12 effects from non-ethereal attacks. So Jet Stream will push them, but not Surging Wave.

Whoa! Never noticed this, and I know I've researched Incorporeal before. Thanks!
I can take the fun out of anything. It's true; here, look at this spreadsheet.

DaveW

  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 789
  • Banana Stickers 3
    • View Profile
Re: Can a creature with the Uncontainable trait be Pushed?
« Reply #10 on: February 18, 2015, 08:36:34 PM »
And I suppose the Force Pull spell ability of the Force master does work against uncontainable creatures since it is not a Snatch.

And we wonder why new players can feel overwhelmed with the rule set. :)

Wouldn't it be Force Pull does work against an uncontainable creature?
  • Favourite Mage: Asyra Priestess

ACG

  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 859
  • Banana Stickers 5
    • View Profile
Re: Can a creature with the Uncontainable trait be Pushed?
« Reply #11 on: February 19, 2015, 03:32:59 AM »
Wouldn't it be Force Pull does work against an uncontainable creature?

I see what you did there...:)

Sailor Vulcan

  • Secret Identity: Imaginator
  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 3128
  • Banana Stickers 3
    • View Profile
Re: Can a creature with the Uncontainable trait be Pushed?
« Reply #12 on: February 23, 2015, 09:43:14 PM »
Wouldn't it be Force Pull does work against an uncontainable creature?

I see what you did there...:)

I don't. At least I don't think I do. You mean Work=Force(pull)*distance?
  • Favourite Mage: Salenia Forcemaster
I am Sailor Vulcan! Champion of justice and reason! And yes, I am already aware my uniform is considered flashy, unprofessional, and borderline sexually provocative for my species by most intelligent lifeforms. I did not choose this outfit. Shut up.