May 26, 2018, 09:07:10 AM

Author Topic: Vine tree can't cast non-vine conjurations, right?  (Read 3584 times)

Sailor Vulcan

  • Secret Identity: Imaginator
  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 3054
  • Banana Stickers 3
    • View Profile
Vine tree can't cast non-vine conjurations, right?
« on: April 08, 2015, 08:09:00 PM »
So I'm playing against someone on octgn right now, and they're saying that they thought vine tree could cast any non-vine conjuration since it can cast a vine creature or conjuration spell. They took that to mean "a vine creature or ANY conjuration", rather than "a vine creature or a vine conjuration". Please clear this up as soon as you can, I don't want to have to argue about house ruling it when I'm almost certain that it's not legal to cast nonvine conjurations with the vine tree.

Thank you!
  • Favourite Mage: Salenia Forcemaster
I am Sailor Vulcan! Champion of justice and reason! And yes, I am already aware my uniform is considered flashy, unprofessional, and borderline sexually provocative for my species by most intelligent lifeforms. I did not choose this outfit. Shut up.

sIKE

  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 4172
  • Banana Stickers 18
  • Ugh
    • View Profile
Re: Vine tree can't cast non-vine conjurations, right?
« Reply #1 on: April 08, 2015, 08:28:24 PM »
The Vine Tree can only cast Creatures or Conjurations with the Vine Subtype.
  • Favourite Mage: Malakai Priest

ACG

  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 859
  • Banana Stickers 5
    • View Profile
Re: Vine tree can't cast non-vine conjurations, right?
« Reply #2 on: April 08, 2015, 08:36:21 PM »
In my experience, as a general rule:

1. If a MW card says

"<Qualifier> <CardtypeA> or <CardtypeB>"

it ALWAYS means

"<Qualifier> <CardtypeA> or <Qualifier> <CardtypeB>"

2. But if a MW card says

"<QualifierA> <CardtypeA> or <QualifierB> <CardtypeB>"

it means "<QualifierA> <CardtypeA> or <QualifierB> <CardtypeB>"

as opposed to

"<QualifierA> <CardtypeA> or <QualifierA & QualifierB> <CardtypeB>"

Zuberi

  • Acolyte of the Dice Gods
  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 2470
  • Banana Stickers 56
    • View Profile
Re: Vine tree can't cast non-vine conjurations, right?
« Reply #3 on: April 09, 2015, 10:06:03 AM »
It is actually common use in English, and perfectly fine grammar, for an adjective to apply to multiple nouns. Some examples:

The nurses have clean sheets and blankets.
Those are very ripe apples and oranges.
My friend has very pretty cats and dogs.

Mage Wars makes use of this, which allows them to save some space on the cards. So, in your question, the descriptive use of the Vine subtype applies to both creatures and conjurations. ACG actually did a really good job breaking it down in detail how this works.