July 13, 2020, 07:31:01 PM

Author Topic: Academy Priestess Reveal - Temple Sentry  (Read 6234 times)

ArcaneDuels

  • New Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 28
  • Banana Stickers 1
    • View Profile
    • Arcane Duels - YouTube
Academy Priestess Reveal - Temple Sentry
« on: January 20, 2016, 12:09:51 PM »
Reveal #6!

No body knows where he came from, but his enemies would never forget him.


Is this guy crazy or what!? No, really, let us know.
Subscribe to us on YouTube to catch all of our videos!

iNano78

  • Ambassador
  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 1290
  • Banana Stickers 4
  • Playing at the Royal Canadian Legion in Ottawa
    • View Profile
    • Ottawa/Gatineau Mage Wars (FB group)
Re: Academy Priestess Reveal - Temple Sentry
« Reply #1 on: January 20, 2016, 12:36:59 PM »
He'll be great in Domination.  Pack 6 of these and it's like having a free indestructible Altar of the Iron Guard.  Makes protecting your Orbs a lot easier.
  • Favourite Mage: Salenia Forcemaster

Halewijn

  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 1786
  • Banana Stickers 6
    • View Profile
Re: Academy Priestess Reveal - Temple Sentry
« Reply #2 on: January 20, 2016, 12:40:45 PM »
That's a very cool card! I love that they try to force the holy mages to be defensive. giving them more personal flavor.

Also, since the creature has less armor while it isn't guarding the enemy has too choose between killing the defender while he hasn't much armor or attacking the original target and risking to lose more attacks on it while it has more armor later on.  very neat!

I should try the holy school more often, definitely the school I play the least.
  • Favourite Mage: Bloodwave Warlord
When in doubt kill it with fire? I never doubt and crush them right away.

RomeoXero

  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 600
  • Banana Stickers 6
    • View Profile
Re: Academy Priestess Reveal - Temple Sentry
« Reply #3 on: January 20, 2016, 02:21:36 PM »
Interesting. I see these being baller in academy, but in arena?I suppose they will make for more cheap creatures from the temple, and they are soldiers so they can benefit from armory, which practically makes them battle forge stats while guarding. They might be right up the priest's ally for some stuff. But 2 dice, 5 life, no intercept (duh lol), all I see in t this card is stall tactics. Hmm, very interesting
  • Favourite Mage: Wychwood Druid
I love this game. Its awesome!

Boocheck

  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 2108
  • Banana Stickers 3
    • View Profile
Re: Academy Priestess Reveal - Temple Sentry
« Reply #4 on: January 20, 2016, 02:26:50 PM »
Just with a General Signet ring, this guy is my new favourite "Brace yourself". Yes, his health is low for DoT cards but still, he is one of three cards i was super excited from the day one and i am really envy of you that you didnt know what is behind the corner :)

  • Favourite Mage: Bloodwave Warlord
I am one with the force, the force is with me! (Warlord is still my fav mage ;) )

Moonglow

  • Sr. Mage
  • ****
  • Posts: 448
  • Banana Stickers 2
    • View Profile
Re: Academy Priestess Reveal - Temple Sentry
« Reply #5 on: January 21, 2016, 03:03:06 AM »
Reveal #6!

No body knows where he came from, but his enemies would never forget him.


Is this guy crazy or what!? No, really, let us know.

Dont want to sound unappreciative as I enjoy your discussion on these cards, but can you post a image of the card with these posts? even if its a day or two after the post.  Its kinda a pain to always have to go back to youtube to refer/look at the card text in relation to any discussion.

Wildhorn

  • Superior artificial brain, feel free to call me Blaine.
  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 1063
  • Banana Stickers 3
    • View Profile
    • Mage Wars Quebec
Re: Academy Priestess Reveal - Temple Sentry
« Reply #6 on: January 30, 2016, 12:47:13 PM »
I agree with Moonglow on this.

Ophidimancer

  • Jr. Mage
  • **
  • Posts: 71
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Academy Priestess Reveal - Temple Sentry
« Reply #7 on: January 30, 2016, 11:54:04 PM »
With Altar of the Iron Guard out, this guy comes in with two Guard markers, which is something I'm not sure we've seen before.  I think the rules accommodate, though, right?  He just gets to guard twice?

Wildhorn

  • Superior artificial brain, feel free to call me Blaine.
  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 1063
  • Banana Stickers 3
    • View Profile
    • Mage Wars Quebec
Re: Academy Priestess Reveal - Temple Sentry
« Reply #8 on: January 31, 2016, 07:31:16 AM »
With Altar of the Iron Guard out, this guy comes in with two Guard markers, which is something I'm not sure we've seen before.  I think the rules accommodate, though, right?  He just gets to guard twice?

No.

Ophidimancer

  • Jr. Mage
  • **
  • Posts: 71
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Academy Priestess Reveal - Temple Sentry
« Reply #9 on: January 31, 2016, 09:48:06 AM »
No, you don't get to guard twice, or no you don't get two guard markers?  Reviewing the rules, I don't see where this would be against the rules.  I don't see a prohibition against having two guard markers and the rules say an attack removes "the" guard marker, as in singular.  Is there something I'm missing?

ringkichard

  • Flightless Funpire
  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 2564
  • Banana Stickers 18
  • Kich, if you prefer.
    • View Profile
Re: Academy Priestess Reveal - Temple Sentry
« Reply #10 on: January 31, 2016, 09:50:17 AM »
I don't believe it's ever spelled out, but from emails with Laddin, I believe I recall that you just remove both guard markers.
I can take the fun out of anything. It's true; here, look at this spreadsheet.

Wildhorn

  • Superior artificial brain, feel free to call me Blaine.
  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 1063
  • Banana Stickers 3
    • View Profile
    • Mage Wars Quebec
Re: Academy Priestess Reveal - Temple Sentry
« Reply #11 on: January 31, 2016, 10:03:44 AM »
No, you don't get to guard twice, or no you don't get two guard markers?  Reviewing the rules, I don't see where this would be against the rules.  I don't see a prohibition against having two guard markers and the rules say an attack removes "the" guard marker, as in singular.  Is there something I'm missing?

Because there was no way to get more than one guard marker before, so they wrote it to singular. But if you keep reading, it says: "Once the attack is resolved, the creature is no longer guarding [...]".


silverclawgrizzly

  • Charlotte Mage Warrior
  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 2480
  • Banana Stickers 4
    • View Profile
Re: Academy Priestess Reveal - Temple Sentry
« Reply #12 on: January 31, 2016, 10:14:46 AM »
This is an excellent card I think will see lots of play in Domination, and likely a fair amount in Arena.
  • Favourite Mage: Straywood Beastmaster
What we must all remember is no matter the game we were all newbies at one point.

Ophidimancer

  • Jr. Mage
  • **
  • Posts: 71
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Academy Priestess Reveal - Temple Sentry
« Reply #13 on: January 31, 2016, 10:43:17 AM »
I don't believe it's ever spelled out, but from emails with Laddin, I believe I recall that you just remove both guard markers.

I see.  I wonder if there are any negative play effects from allowing them to stay?

Wildhorn

  • Superior artificial brain, feel free to call me Blaine.
  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 1063
  • Banana Stickers 3
    • View Profile
    • Mage Wars Quebec
Re: Academy Priestess Reveal - Temple Sentry
« Reply #14 on: January 31, 2016, 11:23:38 AM »
I don't believe it's ever spelled out, but from emails with Laddin, I believe I recall that you just remove both guard markers.

I see.  I wonder if there are any negative play effects from allowing them to stay?

1 Full action to prevent 2 attacks is too powerful.