April 05, 2020, 07:54:19 AM

Author Topic: Academy Priestess Reveal - Temple Sentry  (Read 5832 times)

Ophidimancer

  • Jr. Mage
  • **
  • Posts: 71
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Academy Priestess Reveal - Temple Sentry
« Reply #15 on: January 31, 2016, 11:35:43 AM »
1 Full action to prevent 2 attacks is too powerful.

You can achieve similar effects with a spawnpoint and a summon or the Beastmaster's double summon, given an Altar of the Iron Guard.  Is it just the mana efficiency of it that makes it overpowered?  Or are there actual rules inconsistencies that would result if allowed?

Wildhorn

  • Superior artificial brain, feel free to call me Blaine.
  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 1063
  • Banana Stickers 3
    • View Profile
    • Mage Wars Quebec
Re: Academy Priestess Reveal - Temple Sentry
« Reply #16 on: January 31, 2016, 12:03:57 PM »
1 Full action to prevent 2 attacks is too powerful.

You can achieve similar effects with a spawnpoint and a summon or the Beastmaster's double summon, given an Altar of the Iron Guard.  Is it just the mana efficiency of it that makes it overpowered?  Or are there actual rules inconsistencies that would result if allowed?

The examples you gave are all 2 actions. Not just 1.

Ophidimancer

  • Jr. Mage
  • **
  • Posts: 71
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Academy Priestess Reveal - Temple Sentry
« Reply #17 on: January 31, 2016, 02:46:18 PM »
1 Full action to prevent 2 attacks is too powerful.

You can achieve similar effects with a spawnpoint and a summon or the Beastmaster's double summon, given an Altar of the Iron Guard.  Is it just the mana efficiency of it that makes it overpowered?  Or are there actual rules inconsistencies that would result if allowed?

The examples you gave are all 2 actions. Not just 1.
Okay then maybe my question then is why is being able to guard twice with one action too powerful?

Wildhorn

  • Superior artificial brain, feel free to call me Blaine.
  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 1063
  • Banana Stickers 3
    • View Profile
    • Mage Wars Quebec
Re: Academy Priestess Reveal - Temple Sentry
« Reply #18 on: January 31, 2016, 03:55:29 PM »
Because you gain a huge tempo advantage. Your opponent has to spend 2 actions to bypass your 1 action.

Mystery

  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 1856
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Academy Priestess Reveal - Temple Sentry
« Reply #19 on: January 31, 2016, 04:04:37 PM »
its two actions as you had to summon that altar of the iron guard, and with 5 life and 3 armor he could be killed, it is not changing too much. if bm quick sommon you get a guard for a quick action also, guard dog might give you more actions, etc

Wildhorn

  • Superior artificial brain, feel free to call me Blaine.
  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 1063
  • Banana Stickers 3
    • View Profile
    • Mage Wars Quebec
Re: Academy Priestess Reveal - Temple Sentry
« Reply #20 on: January 31, 2016, 04:12:00 PM »
its two actions as you had to summon that altar of the iron guard, and with 5 life and 3 armor he could be killed, it is not changing too much. if bm quick sommon you get a guard for a quick action also, guard dog might give you more actions, etc

The altar doesn't really count because you cast it in your starting corner then move toward the battle. Once in the heat of the battle, it is a 1 action that require your opponent 2 action to get ride of.

But if you really want to count it, then Altar + 6 Temple Sentry, if they would be able to guard twice, would be 7 actions requiring your opponent 12 actions to get ride of.
« Last Edit: January 31, 2016, 04:14:40 PM by Wildhorn »

Intangible0

  • Arcane Duels Host
  • Playtester
  • Sr. Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 359
  • Banana Stickers 1
    • View Profile
    • Arcane Duels
Re: Academy Priestess Reveal - Temple Sentry
« Reply #21 on: January 31, 2016, 04:16:57 PM »
In the Rule book it states, "If a guard is the target of a melee attack, you must remove the guard marker when the attack is complete, at the end of the Counterstrike Step, even if the attack did not hit. Once the attack is resolved, the creature is no longer guarding and loses both the Counterstrike trait granted by guarding and the ability to protect its zone."

So even though it states that you remove THE guard marker, assuming only one, it also states that you won't benefit from guarding anymore. In that case if you are allowed to have more than one marker you at a time, you still won't have the associated traits after the first is removed.
  • Favourite Mage: Johktari Beastmaster

Mystery

  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 1856
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Academy Priestess Reveal - Temple Sentry
« Reply #22 on: January 31, 2016, 04:36:46 PM »
its two actions as you had to summon that altar of the iron guard, and with 5 life and 3 armor he could be killed, it is not changing too much. if bm quick sommon you get a guard for a quick action also, guard dog might give you more actions, etc

The altar doesn't really count because you cast it in your starting corner then move toward the battle. Once in the heat of the battle, it is a 1 action that require your opponent 2 action to get ride of.

But if you really want to count it, then Altar + 6 Temple Sentry, if they would be able to guard twice, would be 7 actions requiring your opponent 12 actions to get ride of.

and even if it would 5/3 is not unkillable a grizzly kills it in zone with an average roll

Wildhorn

  • Superior artificial brain, feel free to call me Blaine.
  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 1063
  • Banana Stickers 3
    • View Profile
    • Mage Wars Quebec
Re: Academy Priestess Reveal - Temple Sentry
« Reply #23 on: January 31, 2016, 04:57:23 PM »
its two actions as you had to summon that altar of the iron guard, and with 5 life and 3 armor he could be killed, it is not changing too much. if bm quick sommon you get a guard for a quick action also, guard dog might give you more actions, etc

The altar doesn't really count because you cast it in your starting corner then move toward the battle. Once in the heat of the battle, it is a 1 action that require your opponent 2 action to get ride of.

But if you really want to count it, then Altar + 6 Temple Sentry, if they would be able to guard twice, would be 7 actions requiring your opponent 12 actions to get ride of.

and even if it would 5/3 is not unkillable a grizzly kills it in zone with an average roll

The problem is not that it is unkillable. It is that it gives you an action advantage if you can't one shot it. And using a Grizzly to get ride of this, is a serious waste of ressource.

ringkichard

  • Flightless Funpire
  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 2564
  • Banana Stickers 18
  • Kich, if you prefer.
    • View Profile
Re: Academy Priestess Reveal - Temple Sentry
« Reply #24 on: January 31, 2016, 05:41:02 PM »
Please believe me; the game does not support removing one guard marker, and leaving the other, very well.

E.g. Suppose If I make a Sweeping melee attack in a zone with one guarding creature with having two Guard Markers. The second attack would be required to target the guard again, which it cannot.

As a general guideline, if there's an assumption made in the authorship of the game rules, it's best to obey it unless it's being intentionally contradicted.
« Last Edit: January 31, 2016, 06:21:33 PM by ringkichard »
I can take the fun out of anything. It's true; here, look at this spreadsheet.

Laddinfance

  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 4646
  • Banana Stickers 2
    • View Profile
Re: Academy Priestess Reveal - Temple Sentry
« Reply #25 on: January 31, 2016, 05:57:17 PM »
Both are removed after the creature is attacked.

Ophidimancer

  • Jr. Mage
  • **
  • Posts: 71
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Academy Priestess Reveal - Temple Sentry
« Reply #26 on: January 31, 2016, 11:03:05 PM »
E.g. Suppose If I make a Sweeping melee attack in a zone with one guarding creature with having two Guard Markers. The second attack would be required to target the guard again, which it cannot.
Good point, that is a rules inconsistency that would result if one allowed a double guard action.