June 07, 2020, 01:03:52 AM

Author Topic: Remove Curse [Academy Priestess]  (Read 4531 times)

Kaarin

  • Sr. Mage
  • ****
  • Posts: 388
  • Banana Stickers 2
    • View Profile
Remove Curse [Academy Priestess]
« on: May 25, 2016, 09:54:32 AM »
Quote
X Full Action 0-2 Friendly object Metamagic, Protection
Destroy as many revealed curse enchantments from the target as you wish, paying the total mana cost (casting and reveal) for each one. Then, gain 2 mana.
1. Is its casting cost the same case as Purify? (Purify casting cost discussion)
1a. How does it interact with Arcane Ring?
2. Can I destroy 0 curses and gain mana?
  • Favourite Mage: Bloodwave Warlord
OCTGN: Wstrzasniety (UTC+2)

RomeoXero

  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 600
  • Banana Stickers 6
    • View Profile
Re: Remove Curse [Academy Priestess]
« Reply #1 on: May 25, 2016, 10:02:50 AM »
1: id have to see the printed card but if it carries a zero in the cost slot id say yes  its the same. 
1.a: it receives a one mana discount from the arcane ring if its the first such spell cast that particular round.
2: the way its printed you can indeed destroy 0 curses and gain 2 mana (it says as you wish).
  • Favourite Mage: Wychwood Druid
I love this game. Its awesome!

Kaarin

  • Sr. Mage
  • ****
  • Posts: 388
  • Banana Stickers 2
    • View Profile
Re: Remove Curse [Academy Priestess]
« Reply #2 on: May 25, 2016, 10:19:02 AM »
1: id have to see the printed card but if it carries a zero in the cost slot id say yes  its the same. 
I quoted the card's top bar. Its casting cost is X.
  • Favourite Mage: Bloodwave Warlord
OCTGN: Wstrzasniety (UTC+2)

Schwenkgott

  • Thunderdome
  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 1430
  • Banana Stickers 2
    • View Profile
Re: Remove Curse [Academy Priestess]
« Reply #3 on: May 25, 2016, 10:29:18 AM »
First destroy, then gain mana. If you don't destroy, then you do not gain mana.
Akiro, I have never prayed to you before. No one will remember if we were good men or bad. Why we fought, or why we died. All that matters is that one stood against many. That's what's important! Valor pleases you, Akiro... so grant me strength! And if you do not listen, then to HELL with you!

RomeoXero

  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 600
  • Banana Stickers 6
    • View Profile
Re: Remove Curse [Academy Priestess]
« Reply #4 on: May 25, 2016, 01:49:34 PM »
Good catch schwen. It looks like the mana gain is tied to the curse removal option. So though you CAN cast this spell for zero mana and choose not to remove curses with it (perhaps seeking down a nullify), but if you do opt out of curse destruction you also forgo the mana gain. I stand  corrected lol
  • Favourite Mage: Wychwood Druid
I love this game. Its awesome!

Mystery

  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 1856
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Remove Curse [Academy Priestess]
« Reply #5 on: May 25, 2016, 02:40:36 PM »
as far as i remember AW has said to write a clear ruling on the casting cost of cost X spells in particular purify with the next LG

Kaarin

  • Sr. Mage
  • ****
  • Posts: 388
  • Banana Stickers 2
    • View Profile
Re: Remove Curse [Academy Priestess]
« Reply #6 on: May 25, 2016, 02:47:55 PM »
First destroy, then gain mana. If you don't destroy, then you do not gain mana.
I wouldn't be so sure. In my opinion intent of such wording was to prevent removing curses with mana gained from Remove Curse. If it would say something like "if You destroyed then gain mana" then I wouldn't have any doubts.
  • Favourite Mage: Bloodwave Warlord
OCTGN: Wstrzasniety (UTC+2)

DaveW

  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 922
  • Banana Stickers 4
    • View Profile
Re: Remove Curse [Academy Priestess]
« Reply #7 on: May 25, 2016, 07:21:40 PM »
First destroy, then gain mana. If you don't destroy, then you do not gain mana.
I wouldn't be so sure. In my opinion intent of such wording was to prevent removing curses with mana gained from Remove Curse. If it would say something like "if You destroyed then gain mana" then I wouldn't have any doubts.

Agreed... it appears that you can choose to destroy as many as you wish (even zero), and then gain two mana. This is likely exactly why it is worded this way.
  • Favourite Mage: Asyra Priestess

jhaelen

  • Full Mage
  • ***
  • Posts: 126
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Remove Curse [Academy Priestess]
« Reply #8 on: May 30, 2016, 02:36:15 AM »
First destroy, then gain mana. If you don't destroy, then you do not gain mana.
If this was the Call of Cthulhu LCG, I'd agree (because the FAQ defines how to interpret 'then'). With Mage Wars, I wouldn't be so sure...

Wildhorn

  • Superior artificial brain, feel free to call me Blaine.
  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 1063
  • Banana Stickers 3
    • View Profile
    • Mage Wars Quebec
Re: Remove Curse [Academy Priestess]
« Reply #9 on: May 30, 2016, 07:22:02 AM »
You can destroy 0 curse and then gain 2 mana. But this is a poor use of a full action imo and means you are about to lose :P

Halewijn

  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 1786
  • Banana Stickers 6
    • View Profile
Re: Remove Curse [Academy Priestess]
« Reply #10 on: May 30, 2016, 07:40:49 AM »
I agree with wildhorn.

However, if you are using a temple of asyra to spawn creatures and waiting for the opponent to approach you it might be an ok move... Very situational though. Kinda like a one time use meditation amulet without an initial investment cost.

Edit: in academy, combined with the priestess ability, this card is a variation of Defend.

Edit 2: In the same spirit as above, the arena priestess can use it to gain 2 mana and get 1 life. This is not that bad of a move if you have nothing better to do.
« Last Edit: May 30, 2016, 07:44:56 AM by Halewijn »
  • Favourite Mage: Bloodwave Warlord
When in doubt kill it with fire? I never doubt and crush them right away.

iNano78

  • Ambassador
  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 1290
  • Banana Stickers 4
  • Playing at the Royal Canadian Legion in Ottawa
    • View Profile
    • Ottawa/Gatineau Mage Wars (FB group)
Re: Remove Curse [Academy Priestess]
« Reply #11 on: May 30, 2016, 08:25:46 AM »
Edit 2: In the same spirit as above, the arena priestess can use it to gain 2 mana and get 1 life. This is not that bad of a move if you have nothing better to do.

Remove Curse is a "protection" spell, so Cassiel can cast it.  Then when you reveal it, your Priestess gains 1 life and 2 mana (since she gains 1 life when she "reveals a Holy enchantment spell that she controls" regardless of who cast it).  This frees up the Priestess's own actions.  Again, probably only worth doing when Cassiel has nothing better to do... but it's a good card to plan.  If there is a valid curse to remove, then Ring of Asyra gives a discount on the reveal; if not, you get 2 mana anyway... so it's a win-win when there isn't something better to plan for Cassiel.
  • Favourite Mage: Salenia Forcemaster

Mystery

  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 1856
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Remove Curse [Academy Priestess]
« Reply #12 on: May 30, 2016, 08:31:53 AM »
you wont get a life when cassiel casts it, cause the priestess doesnt cast it

iNano78

  • Ambassador
  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 1290
  • Banana Stickers 4
  • Playing at the Royal Canadian Legion in Ottawa
    • View Profile
    • Ottawa/Gatineau Mage Wars (FB group)
Re: Remove Curse [Academy Priestess]
« Reply #13 on: May 30, 2016, 08:52:55 AM »
you wont get a life when cassiel casts it, cause the priestess doesnt cast it

But you do when you reveal a Holy enchantment that you control, regardless of who cast it.
*edit* Just realized this is an Incantation, not an Enchantment.  Never mind.
  • Favourite Mage: Salenia Forcemaster

Kaarin

  • Sr. Mage
  • ****
  • Posts: 388
  • Banana Stickers 2
    • View Profile
Re: Remove Curse [Academy Priestess]
« Reply #14 on: May 30, 2016, 11:57:03 AM »
  If there is a valid curse to remove, then Ring of Asyra gives a discount on the reveal; if not, you get 2 mana anyway
If it's casting cost is the same as Purify (0) then it can't benefit from Ring of Asyra or Arcane Ring. Nowhere in the card's text is X defined.
  • Favourite Mage: Bloodwave Warlord
OCTGN: Wstrzasniety (UTC+2)