August 22, 2017, 07:42:30 PM

Author Topic: Paladin training question  (Read 2720 times)

Kosgov

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Paladin training question
« on: August 13, 2016, 09:06:15 PM »
 Please forgive my lack of knowledge. The paladin is trained in level 2 war and level 3 holy. Does this mean he can't cast anything above that or does he pay double for higher level spells?

Reddicediaries

  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 912
  • Banana Stickers 1
  • Don't count me out!
    • View Profile
Re: Paladin training question
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2016, 01:42:25 PM »
He pays double. He is also trained in all holy creatures.
  • Favourite Mage: Wychwood Druid
All sides ready? Remember no killing, maiming, soul sucking, or any other funny buisness. This is just a training match. Let the Battle Comence!

Boocheck

  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 2047
  • Banana Stickers 3
    • View Profile
Re: Paladin training question
« Reply #2 on: August 14, 2016, 01:56:18 PM »
Reddicediaries (that is a tough one to rewrite :) ) is right.

To add more juice into his answer, Paladin will be able to cast everything, which he will be able to put into his spellbook. He will cast Dark Spells, Fire spells etc. Only spell that are out of his reach are those, that are restricted to some other mage. For Example Demonhide Armor is for Warlock only, thus Paladin cannot put it into his spellbook thus cast it in a game :)

Now, for his schools. Holy 3 War 2 and Trained in all Holy creatures.

That means that he will be able to put into his book Temple of Asyra or Altar of Carnage while paying exact prize in Spellpoints. But for spells like Resurrection or Anvil Throne Crossbowman he will pay Double the prize in spellpoints. The last thing "All Holy Creatures" means that even mighty Angels such as Valshalla, Lightning Angel or Selesius, the East Wind will be for exact number of spellpoints. So 5 spellpoints in this matter.

One last thing, which is not actual yet is, that if there will be some creatures with mixed schools, in same manner as Bridge Troll, for example Holy and Fire, you will be able to put it into your book for standard number of spellpoints. Lets sey if the wording was "All Nature Creatures", he would be able to put this troll for 3 spellpoints. It is because he is Nature AND also a War at the same time. Reason why it is not actual yet is, that there is not a creature with mixed schools like Holy and Fire etc.

I hope i didnt add into confusion with my last explanation :)
  • Favourite Mage: Bloodwave Warlord
I am one with the force, the force is with me! (Warlord is still my fav mage ;) )

Reddicediaries

  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 912
  • Banana Stickers 1
  • Don't count me out!
    • View Profile
Re: Paladin training question
« Reply #3 on: August 14, 2016, 02:06:48 PM »
Does this count as a bannna sticker?
  • Favourite Mage: Wychwood Druid
All sides ready? Remember no killing, maiming, soul sucking, or any other funny buisness. This is just a training match. Let the Battle Comence!

Boocheck

  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 2047
  • Banana Stickers 3
    • View Profile
Re: Paladin training question
« Reply #4 on: August 14, 2016, 03:03:25 PM »
I am a mere fórum member. It depends on Ladifance. If it helps, i distribute Salami labels :)
  • Favourite Mage: Bloodwave Warlord
I am one with the force, the force is with me! (Warlord is still my fav mage ;) )

Kosgov

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Paladin training question
« Reply #5 on: August 14, 2016, 04:50:00 PM »
Thank you very much for clearing that up. It is crystal clear now.

Laddinfance

  • Administrator
  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 4646
  • Banana Stickers 2
    • View Profile
Re: Paladin training question
« Reply #6 on: August 14, 2016, 06:37:08 PM »
Does this count as a bannna sticker?

Don't spend it all in one place.

Reddicediaries

  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 912
  • Banana Stickers 1
  • Don't count me out!
    • View Profile
Re: Paladin training question
« Reply #7 on: August 14, 2016, 06:42:56 PM »
Thanks Laddin! Can you actually spend them?
« Last Edit: August 14, 2016, 06:57:07 PM by Reddicediaries »
  • Favourite Mage: Wychwood Druid
All sides ready? Remember no killing, maiming, soul sucking, or any other funny buisness. This is just a training match. Let the Battle Comence!

ringkichard

  • Flightless Funpire
  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 2564
  • Banana Stickers 18
  • Kich, if you prefer.
    • View Profile
Re: Paladin training question
« Reply #8 on: August 14, 2016, 07:07:26 PM »
There was a "rumor" that you could spend them if you got at least 20. I'll let you know if I ever get there. :p

(No, not really 😀 )
I can take the fun out of anything. It's true; here, look at this spreadsheet.

Santar

  • Jr. Mage
  • **
  • Posts: 68
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Paladin training question
« Reply #9 on: January 18, 2017, 11:25:43 PM »
Can Paladin take Conquer? It's lvl 4 War mage spell only, but Paladin know war only for 2.

Reddicediaries

  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 912
  • Banana Stickers 1
  • Don't count me out!
    • View Profile
Re: Paladin training question
« Reply #10 on: January 19, 2017, 10:00:26 AM »
Can Paladin take Conquer? It's lvl 4 War mage spell only, but Paladin know war only for 2.
No he can not.
  • Favourite Mage: Wychwood Druid
All sides ready? Remember no killing, maiming, soul sucking, or any other funny buisness. This is just a training match. Let the Battle Comence!

Santar

  • Jr. Mage
  • **
  • Posts: 68
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Paladin training question
« Reply #11 on: January 20, 2017, 10:37:09 PM »
Quote
School of Magic Only: Some spells can only be cast by a
Mage that is trained in a specific school of magic. You may
not include these spells in your spellbook , nor can you cast
or control these spells, unless the Mage you are playing has
the proper training. For example, the Temple of Asyra says
Holy Mage Only, so only Mages trained in Holy magic, like
the Priestess, can use or control this spell.

No one word about lvl training. Paladin know war school. So he is war mage. But conquer lvl 4, so he must pay 8 points in spellbook.

aridigas

  • Playtester
  • Full Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 138
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Paladin training question
« Reply #12 on: January 21, 2017, 03:14:39 AM »
There is the word proper.
We agree that he is not trained in Conquer, as he would have to pay 8 points instead of 4, right?
So he does not have proper training. He is only a War Mage for spells of the Level 1 and 2. Conquer is a Level 4 War Mage only Spell and Paladin does not fulfill the requirements.

Zuberi

  • Acolyte of the Dice Gods
  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 2377
  • Banana Stickers 46
    • View Profile
Re: Paladin training question
« Reply #13 on: January 21, 2017, 05:55:55 AM »
The official answer you seek can be found in the Druid vs Necromancer Rulebook:

Quote from: Druid vs Necromancer Rules
If a spell has the “X School Only” trait, only a Mage trained in that school, up to that spell’s level or higher, can use that spell.

So a Paladin cannot take Conquer.

Santar

  • Jr. Mage
  • **
  • Posts: 68
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Paladin training question
« Reply #14 on: January 21, 2017, 06:29:19 AM »
Paladin does not fulfill the requirements.

Thank you for answer. It wasn't extremely necessary, but I want to know the rules.  :)

The official answer you seek can be found in the Druid vs Necromancer Rulebook:

Quote from: Druid vs Necromancer Rules
If a spell has the “X School Only” trait, only a Mage trained in that school, up to that spell’s level or higher, can use that spell.

So a Paladin cannot take Conquer.

Oh! Thanks a lot!!! I have not this supplement, yet.
« Last Edit: January 21, 2017, 06:33:59 AM by Santar »