December 17, 2018, 11:02:42 AM

Author Topic: Second Chance vs Rise Again question  (Read 2630 times)

Arkdeniz

  • Full Mage
  • ***
  • Posts: 210
  • Banana Stickers 1
  • Hated by the Dice
    • View Profile
Re: Second Chance vs Rise Again question
« Reply #15 on: March 19, 2018, 07:46:53 PM »
I checked my card against the spellbookbuilder image, and it is different in the same way as werner suggests.
  • Favourite Mage: Darkfenne Necromancer
"Frost damage is a scam an armor dealer invented once to make a Beastmaster buy a new fur" - Exid


'No! Winter is coming." - Elementalist

iNano78

  • Ambassador
  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 1264
  • Banana Stickers 3
  • Playing at the Royal Canadian Legion in Ottawa
    • View Profile
    • Ottawa/Gatineau Mage Wars (FB group)
Re: Second Chance vs Rise Again question
« Reply #16 on: March 19, 2018, 07:59:13 PM »
I guess you could reveal it after the roll dice step, before apply damage and effects.
  • Favourite Mage: Salenia Forcemaster

Kharhaz

  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 2097
  • Banana Stickers 7
    • View Profile
Re: Second Chance vs Rise Again question
« Reply #17 on: March 19, 2018, 08:04:25 PM »
I checked my card against the spellbookbuilder image, and it is different in the same way as werner suggests.

I think there was a promo version? Maybe..... /shrug

Arkdeniz

  • Full Mage
  • ***
  • Posts: 210
  • Banana Stickers 1
  • Hated by the Dice
    • View Profile
Re: Second Chance vs Rise Again question
« Reply #18 on: March 19, 2018, 09:55:04 PM »
Here is my card's text:

"When this creature is destroyed, you may pay its casting cost. If you do, summon it into the zone in which it was destroyed after the current action resolves."

Here is the version in the spellbookbuilder:

"When this creature is destroyed you may reveal Second Chance. You may immediately summon this creature into the zone in which it was destroyed as a free action."

There is nothing in the current version of the Rules Supplement about this change. And certainly my card's wording, as with werner's, suggests that it needs to be revealed before the killing blow destroys the creature. 
« Last Edit: March 20, 2018, 02:29:25 AM by Arkdeniz »
  • Favourite Mage: Darkfenne Necromancer
"Frost damage is a scam an armor dealer invented once to make a Beastmaster buy a new fur" - Exid


'No! Winter is coming." - Elementalist

werner

  • Jr. Mage
  • **
  • Posts: 50
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Second Chance vs Rise Again question
« Reply #19 on: March 21, 2018, 08:40:55 AM »
How strange that it has already been Ninja-Errata'd. We will play it as "May Reveal!"

As we thought this card could be FIZZLED give the nature of "Revealed==0 (non mandatory)."

Coshade

  • Arcane Duels Host
  • Global Moderator
  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 1842
  • Banana Stickers 6
    • View Profile
    • Arcane Duels!
Re: Second Chance vs Rise Again question
« Reply #20 on: March 21, 2018, 12:12:16 PM »
What language is your card set in?
  • Favourite Mage: Malakai Priest

Arkdeniz

  • Full Mage
  • ***
  • Posts: 210
  • Banana Stickers 1
  • Hated by the Dice
    • View Profile
Re: Second Chance vs Rise Again question
« Reply #21 on: March 21, 2018, 03:08:30 PM »
Bog-standard English.
« Last Edit: March 22, 2018, 02:10:36 AM by Arkdeniz »
  • Favourite Mage: Darkfenne Necromancer
"Frost damage is a scam an armor dealer invented once to make a Beastmaster buy a new fur" - Exid


'No! Winter is coming." - Elementalist

Coshade

  • Arcane Duels Host
  • Global Moderator
  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 1842
  • Banana Stickers 6
    • View Profile
    • Arcane Duels!
Re: Second Chance vs Rise Again question
« Reply #22 on: March 26, 2018, 04:44:51 PM »
Any chance you could get a higher res copy? I'm looking for the fine print on the bottom.
  • Favourite Mage: Malakai Priest

Arkdeniz

  • Full Mage
  • ***
  • Posts: 210
  • Banana Stickers 1
  • Hated by the Dice
    • View Profile
Re: Second Chance vs Rise Again question
« Reply #23 on: March 26, 2018, 05:25:27 PM »
Easier just to transcribe it. The bottom row reads:

MW ACADEMY  [copyright sign]2016 Arcane Wonders. Art by Herckeim. MWAPRE08
  • Favourite Mage: Darkfenne Necromancer
"Frost damage is a scam an armor dealer invented once to make a Beastmaster buy a new fur" - Exid


'No! Winter is coming." - Elementalist

Sailor Vulcan

  • Secret Identity: Imaginator
  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 3128
  • Banana Stickers 3
    • View Profile
Re: Second Chance vs Rise Again question
« Reply #24 on: April 02, 2018, 02:24:13 PM »
But rise again isn't an academy spell ...

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-J327A using Tapatalk

  • Favourite Mage: Salenia Forcemaster
I am Sailor Vulcan! Champion of justice and reason! And yes, I am already aware my uniform is considered flashy, unprofessional, and borderline sexually provocative for my species by most intelligent lifeforms. I did not choose this outfit. Shut up.

DevilsVendetta

  • Sr. Mage
  • ****
  • Posts: 273
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Second Chance vs Rise Again question
« Reply #25 on: April 02, 2018, 05:07:09 PM »
But rise again isn't an academy spell ...

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-J327A using Tapatalk

That's Second Chance.

Arkdeniz

  • Full Mage
  • ***
  • Posts: 210
  • Banana Stickers 1
  • Hated by the Dice
    • View Profile
Re: Second Chance vs Rise Again question
« Reply #26 on: April 08, 2018, 06:52:33 AM »
I'll just give this thread a small bump to ask if anyone has had any thoughts on how werner and I have managed to end up with cards from apparently a different printing of a set that is said to have had a single print run?
  • Favourite Mage: Darkfenne Necromancer
"Frost damage is a scam an armor dealer invented once to make a Beastmaster buy a new fur" - Exid


'No! Winter is coming." - Elementalist

Zuberi

  • Rules Guru
  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 2490
  • Banana Stickers 57
    • View Profile
Re: Second Chance vs Rise Again question
« Reply #27 on: April 08, 2018, 10:46:11 AM »
The image on OCTGN and the spellbook builder is wrong. They seem to have used an older image file of the card from when it was being playtested. The actual card that went to print has the text "When this creature is destroyed, you may pay its casting cost. If you do, summon it into the zone in which it was destroyed after the current action resolves."

This does mean it needs to be revealed before the creature gets destroyed.