December 11, 2019, 04:35:19 AM

Author Topic: Temple of Asyra  (Read 4166 times)

ABGames

  • New Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Temple of Asyra
« on: November 02, 2012, 01:14:28 PM »
I may just be reading too much into this, but how does the temple work?

It channels 1/turn.  no problem there

Up to twice per round you may have a friendly cleric creature use a full action
to place 1 mana on the temple.  During the deployment phase, if there is two
or more mana on the temple, it may summon 1 holy creature.

Does the cleric have to be in the same zone as the temple to perform the mana action?
Does the temple use its own mana to summon the holy creature, or once 2 mana
is charged is any excess wasted? (would it need 5 mana on it to summon another
Asyran Cleric, or just 2 charged mana, then 5 mana from the main mana pool)
Can the mage use the banked mana?

Shad0w

  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 2934
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Temple of Asyra
« Reply #1 on: November 02, 2012, 01:50:07 PM »
Quote from: "ABGames" post=2849
I may just be reading too much into this, but how does the temple work?

It channels 1/turn.  no problem there

Up to twice per round you may have a friendly cleric creature use a full action
to place 1 mana on the temple.  During the deployment phase, if there is two
or more mana on the temple, it may summon 1 holy creature.

Does the cleric have to be in the same zone as the temple to perform the mana action?
Does the temple use its own mana to summon the holy creature, or once 2 mana
is charged is any excess wasted? (would it need 5 mana on it to summon another
Asyran Cleric, or just 2 charged mana, then 5 mana from the main mana pool)
Can the mage use the banked mana?


Does the cleric have to be in the same zone as the temple to perform the mana action?
Card does not state that same zone required so I would say no.

Does the temple use its own mana to summon the holy creature, or once 2 mana is charged is any excess wasted? (would it need 5 mana on it to summon another Asyran Cleric, or just 2 charged mana, then 5 mana from the main mana pool)

This is from the Spawnpoints: sidebar on PG20 in the rule book
Conjurations with the Spawnpoint trait have the ability to cast spells for you. You select spells for your
Spawnpoints during the Planning Phase, at the same time that you choose spells for your Mage to prepare (one additional spell for each Spawnpoint). Usually, the Spawnpoint can only cast certain types of spells, as listed on the Spawnpoint’s card. Place the spell face down near your Spawnpoint, and tell your opponent that it is the Spawnpoint’s spell. Only your Spawnpoint may cast that spell during the round.
During the Deployment Phase, both players may cast these assigned spells, starting with the player who has the initiative. If you cast your spell, pay the casting costs and resolve the spell. If you do not (or cannot) cast the spell, it returns to your spellbook at the beginning of the next planning Phase. If a Spawnpoint is destroyed, any spell still assigned to it is also destroyed.
Most Spawnpoints also have a Channeling attribute, which means that they produce their own mana during the Channel Phase. Track the Spawnpoint’s mana with mana counters.
Spawnpoints cast spells the same way your Mage does, using the target and range shown on the spell. Always count range from the Spawnpoint (instead of your Mage). The Spawnpoint must spend its own mana first (by removing mana counters). If the Spawnpoint does not have enough mana to cast the spell, you must pay the difference from your Mage’s Mana Supply. You control all spells cast by your Spawnpoints.

Can the mage use the banked mana? Nope

I hope that helps.
"Darth come prove to meet you are worthy of the fighting for your school in the arena and not just another scholar to be discarded like an worn out rag doll"


Quote: Shad0w the Arcmage

ABGames

  • New Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Temple of Asyra
« Reply #2 on: November 02, 2012, 02:27:09 PM »
Makes sense, thank you

Shad0w

  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 2934
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Temple of Asyra
« Reply #3 on: November 02, 2012, 03:47:17 PM »
Quote from: "ABGames" post=2853
Makes sense, thank you


NP we are here to help
"Darth come prove to meet you are worthy of the fighting for your school in the arena and not just another scholar to be discarded like an worn out rag doll"


Quote: Shad0w the Arcmage