August 22, 2017, 07:39:52 PM

Author Topic: Is the Paladin a War Mage?  (Read 568 times)

Nealo

  • New Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 27
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Is the Paladin a War Mage?
« on: January 18, 2017, 03:58:18 PM »
Can the Paladin use cards that say "War Mage Only?" I see that Paladin is trained in Level 2 War spells, but does that mean that the Paladin can equip Harshforge Plate? It says "War Mage Only" as opposed to "Warlord Only." Does the Paladin count as a war mage? Thanks!

zot

  • Playtester
  • Sr. Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 403
  • Banana Stickers 2
    • View Profile
Re: Is the Paladin a War Mage?
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2017, 04:12:51 PM »
Yes he is a war mage because he is trained in war. The fact that it is limited in level does not matter. In the same way the warlocks are fire mages, and the siren/druids are water mages etc.

Karadox

  • Full Mage
  • ***
  • Posts: 159
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Is the Paladin a War Mage?
« Reply #2 on: January 18, 2017, 04:27:15 PM »
the paladin is a lvl 2 War mage he can use lvl 1 and 2 war mage only spells... but not lvl 3+ war mage onlys
  • Favourite Mage: Darkfenne Necromancer
The Night is Dark and full of fright.

Puddnhead

  • Member of Arcane Duels; MageCast Co-host
  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 1226
  • Banana Stickers 5
    • View Profile
Re: Is the Paladin a War Mage?
« Reply #3 on: January 18, 2017, 04:44:23 PM »
the paladin is a lvl 2 War mage he can use lvl 1 and 2 war mage only spells... but not lvl 3+ war mage onlys

^This is exactly correct.  The Paladin only counts as a War Mage for the purpose of level 1 and level 2 War spells. 

This includes spells that combine into a higher level than 2 but only have 1 or 2 levels of the War school.  Even though Bridge Troll is Nature 2 & War 1 (and thus a level 3 spell) the paladin pays 5 spell book points for it, 4 for nature and 1 for War.

A level 3 War spell such as Dwarf Panzerguard would cost the Paladin 6 spell book points to include in his book because he does not count as trained in level 3 War spells.  Similarly the Paladin may NOT use Akiro's  Hammer but is allowed to use Ballista.
  • Favourite Mage: Salenia Forcemaster

zot

  • Playtester
  • Sr. Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 403
  • Banana Stickers 2
    • View Profile
Re: Is the Paladin a War Mage?
« Reply #4 on: January 18, 2017, 06:04:38 PM »
agreed. just took the question as whether he is war mage or not. spelling it out as you have is much better than what i said.

zot

  • Playtester
  • Sr. Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 403
  • Banana Stickers 2
    • View Profile
Re: Is the Paladin a War Mage?
« Reply #5 on: January 18, 2017, 11:19:36 PM »
after thinking about this, is the paladin a war mage. he is because he is trained in the war school. so he could cast any war mage spells regardless of level. but for any that are level three or higher they would cost double spell points to put into his book.

wtcannonjr

  • Ambassador of Wychwood
  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 593
  • Banana Stickers 2
    • View Profile
    • WBC Mage Wars Tournament
Re: Is the Paladin a War Mage?
« Reply #6 on: January 19, 2017, 06:09:13 AM »
after thinking about this, is the paladin a war mage. he is because he is trained in the war school. so he could cast any war mage spells regardless of level. but for any that are level three or higher they would cost double spell points to put into his book.

This is not correct. I believe the rules supplement explains this clearly as was stated above. The Paladin can only use War Mage only spells that are level 1 or 2 and Holy Mage only spells that are level 1, 2, 3, or creatures.
  • Favourite Mage: Wychwood Druid
"Not everything that is faced can be changed, but nothing can be changed until it is faced." - James Baldwin