June 06, 2020, 02:04:47 AM

Author Topic: Drokarr!  (Read 2048 times)

Santar

  • Full Mage
  • ***
  • Posts: 108
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Drokarr!
« on: February 25, 2017, 12:07:25 PM »
Hi! I have some question. Can Drokarr attack 6dices if he attack another Drokarr's prey?

Borg

  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 571
  • Banana Stickers 3
    • View Profile
Re: Drokarr!
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2017, 01:00:48 PM »
I'm pretty sure the answer to that will be : no.
6 dice only vs his OWN prey.
  • Favourite Mage: Salenia Forcemaster

Santar

  • Full Mage
  • ***
  • Posts: 108
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Drokarr!
« Reply #2 on: February 25, 2017, 02:24:39 PM »

NightFurie

  • New Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Drokarr!
« Reply #3 on: February 25, 2017, 05:46:32 PM »
I'm pretty sure it will work on other drokarrs because of what the card says "while attacking the drokarrs prey" so as long as -a- drokarr has it it should work against it but I haven't had this question yet. I don't know though the apostrophe makes it seem like only that drokarr gets it its kinda weird I think it should be explained a little better.
« Last Edit: February 25, 2017, 05:50:39 PM by NightFurie »

iNano78

  • Ambassador
  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 1290
  • Banana Stickers 4
  • Playing at the Royal Canadian Legion in Ottawa
    • View Profile
    • Ottawa/Gatineau Mage Wars (FB group)
Re: Drokarr!
« Reply #4 on: February 25, 2017, 06:03:54 PM »
I think "the Drokarr's prey" should have said "this Drokarr's prey."
  • Favourite Mage: Salenia Forcemaster

Halewijn

  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 1786
  • Banana Stickers 6
    • View Profile
Re: Drokarr!
« Reply #5 on: February 26, 2017, 04:10:29 AM »
I think it is pretty clear that prey and predator are always linked to one another and that you cannot do this. The language is not 100% solid about this but you can check yourself that in mage wars they use the name of the creature a lot to clear up the text instead of "this creature". Mostly this is for legendary creatures with a name so this issue never arrises. :)

Maybe Coshade could give an official answer?
  • Favourite Mage: Bloodwave Warlord
When in doubt kill it with fire? I never doubt and crush them right away.

iNano78

  • Ambassador
  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 1290
  • Banana Stickers 4
  • Playing at the Royal Canadian Legion in Ottawa
    • View Profile
    • Ottawa/Gatineau Mage Wars (FB group)
Re: Drokarr!
« Reply #6 on: February 26, 2017, 06:26:54 AM »
I think it is pretty clear that prey and predator are always linked to one another and that you cannot do this. The language is not 100% solid about this but you can check yourself that in mage wars they use the name of the creature a lot to clear up the text instead of "this creature". Mostly this is for legendary creatures with a name so this issue never arrises. :)

Maybe Coshade could give an official answer?

Agreed. The wording ("the") makes me think Drokarr was going to be Legendary or Unique... then wasn't, and should have been changed to "this." But if it were meant to work the other way, I think it would say "a Drokarr's prey" or "any Drokarr's prey" instead. So I think it's fairly clear how it was intended to work. ("The" implies there is only one, so is equivalent to "this" in this context)
« Last Edit: February 26, 2017, 06:28:56 AM by iNano78 »
  • Favourite Mage: Salenia Forcemaster

Coshade

  • Arcane Duels Host
  • Administrator
  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 1888
  • Banana Stickers 6
    • View Profile
    • Arcane Duels!
Re: Drokarr!
« Reply #7 on: February 26, 2017, 08:03:50 AM »
Drokkar was designed to only get the Tail Spike bonus when he was attacking his own prey. The wording of "the" is supposed to refer to this card, but is unclear enough to probably warrant an entry into the Supplement. I'll let Matt know and see if he thinks it should make it in.
  • Favourite Mage: Malakai Priest

Santar

  • Full Mage
  • ***
  • Posts: 108
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Drokarr!
« Reply #8 on: February 26, 2017, 12:01:54 PM »
Thanks a lot for all answers =)
So, the same thing with this guy

Ravepig

  • Ambassador
  • Full Mage
  • ***
  • Posts: 214
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Drokarr!
« Reply #9 on: March 02, 2017, 09:38:19 AM »
I'm pretty sure it will work on other drokarrs because of what the card says "while attacking the drokarrs prey" so as long as -a- drokarr has it it should work against it but I haven't had this question yet. I don't know though the apostrophe makes it seem like only that drokarr gets it its kinda weird I think it should be explained a little better.

The apostrophe is what clears this up in my mind. Nouns with apostrophes indicate ownership and possession. So, who is the owner or holder of the prey? This Drokarr, because he is the one with possession.
  • Favourite Mage: Wychwood Druid
No tree, it is said, can grow to heaven unless its roots reach down to hell. Carl Jung