April 01, 2020, 05:50:25 AM

Author Topic: Enchantment Transfusion VS Dispel  (Read 1706 times)

Santar

  • Full Mage
  • ***
  • Posts: 108
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Enchantment Transfusion VS Dispel
« on: April 19, 2017, 05:47:36 PM »
Hi Mages!
Can I use Enchantment Transfusion to more enchantment from creature to the same creature to prevent destruction from Dispel? I move the enchantment and it is elligal target for Dispel so no destruction.

Reddicediaries

  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 1084
  • Banana Stickers 1
  • Out of the ashes, a new power will rise.
    • View Profile
Re: Enchantment Transfusion VS Dispel
« Reply #1 on: April 19, 2017, 05:59:44 PM »
Yes you can!
Edit: Not to the same creature. Misunderstood the question.
« Last Edit: April 19, 2017, 09:44:11 PM by Reddicediaries »
The Phoenix shall rise.

jacksmack

  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 1073
  • Banana Stickers 19
    • View Profile
Re: Enchantment Transfusion VS Dispel
« Reply #2 on: April 19, 2017, 06:03:20 PM »
I think this has been asked before, and IIRC the answer was no.

You are not moving anything if you put it back to same creature, and text on ET says 'move'.

But i could be wrong.

jacksmack

  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 1073
  • Banana Stickers 19
    • View Profile
Re: Enchantment Transfusion VS Dispel
« Reply #3 on: April 19, 2017, 06:05:00 PM »
Also you could argue that the creature you want to check for legality is not legal at the time your doing it because duplicate enchantment is not allowed.

IE:
Is my mage a legal target for bearstrength?
No he already has it.

Gogolski

  • Jr. Mage
  • **
  • Posts: 98
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Enchantment Transfusion VS Dispel
« Reply #4 on: April 19, 2017, 06:10:15 PM »
Making the dispell useless only works if you move the enchantment(s) to another creature which is not the target of the dispell. If that other creature also has an enchantment transfusion, you can move them back right after the dispell fizzles. It might cost a lot of mana, but protecting certain key enchantments (and at the same time destroying an oponent's dispell) could be worth it.

Zuberi

  • Rules Guru
  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 2504
  • Banana Stickers 57
    • View Profile
Re: Enchantment Transfusion VS Dispel
« Reply #5 on: April 19, 2017, 09:31:43 PM »
This is answered in the Official Rules and Codex Supplement under the entry for Enchantment Transfusion. The answer is that the enchantments must be moved to a different creature. You can not move them to the same creature. Others have presented arguments for why it works this way (you're not actually moving them / it's not a legal target if it already has them). I'll admit though that the text of the card does not actually make this crystal clear. But, luckily this is something that we already have an official answer on.

littlenog

  • Full Mage
  • ***
  • Posts: 106
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Enchantment Transfusion VS Dispel
« Reply #6 on: April 20, 2017, 11:37:55 AM »
Dispel targets the enchantment not the mage.

If the enchantment stays with in casting range of the dispel the dispel should still work.

aridigas

  • Playtester
  • Full Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 140
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Enchantment Transfusion VS Dispel
« Reply #7 on: April 20, 2017, 12:47:16 PM »
Dispel targets the enchantment not the mage.

If the enchantment stays with in casting range of the dispel the dispel should still work.

If either the caster or the target move while a spell is cast, spellcasting fails, even if range still works