October 17, 2017, 08:11:16 AM

Author Topic: Second Chance and Ring of Asyra interaction  (Read 452 times)

DaveW

  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 648
  • Banana Stickers 2
    • View Profile
Second Chance and Ring of Asyra interaction
« on: May 11, 2017, 06:08:25 PM »
Since the reveal cost of Second Chance is zero, would the discount from a Ring of Asyra apply to the recasting cost of the Creature?

In other words, and more generally... should additional costs not included in the casting bar at the top of a card be able to be discounted from such a ring?

In other other words... is the casting cost of the spell inclusive of any "additional" costs to cast the spell from other sources and/or text on that or other spells?
  • Favourite Mage: Straywood Beastmaster

jacksmack

  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 975
  • Banana Stickers 17
    • View Profile
Re: Second Chance and Ring of Asyra interaction
« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2017, 07:04:41 PM »
reveal cost of second chance is not 0.

The reveal cost is X and X = the casting cost of the creature.

Assuming its above 0 then you do the get discount of 1 mana.
« Last Edit: May 11, 2017, 07:08:04 PM by jacksmack »

jacksmack

  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 975
  • Banana Stickers 17
    • View Profile
Re: Second Chance and Ring of Asyra interaction
« Reply #2 on: May 11, 2017, 07:15:44 PM »
On another note:
With the ruling of Purify that it actually costs 0 mana to cast, means you wont get any discount even though you later (when resolving the spell) is paying to remove poison conditions and/or enchantments.

DaveW

  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 648
  • Banana Stickers 2
    • View Profile
Re: Second Chance and Ring of Asyra interaction
« Reply #3 on: May 11, 2017, 07:55:16 PM »
On another note:
With the ruling of Purify that it actually costs 0 mana to cast, means you wont get any discount even though you later (when resolving the spell) is paying to remove poison conditions and/or enchantments.

That seems inconsistent with the first note. Isn't the cost to cast Purify equal to the removal costs, just as much as the reveal cost of Second Chance includes the Creature recasting cost?
  • Favourite Mage: Straywood Beastmaster

jacksmack

  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 975
  • Banana Stickers 17
    • View Profile
Re: Second Chance and Ring of Asyra interaction
« Reply #4 on: May 12, 2017, 05:04:05 AM »
Problem with purify is that X is never defined in the text.

Also do note the 'Then' - that says its not a one time cost for this spell removing both enchantemtns and conditions.

Anyway.. the point is... purify is a mess and it has recieved a ruling that the casting cost is = 0.
This means you cannot get discount on it.

Zuberi

  • Acolyte of the Dice Gods
  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 2393
  • Banana Stickers 48
    • View Profile
Re: Second Chance and Ring of Asyra interaction
« Reply #5 on: May 12, 2017, 06:49:18 AM »
The relevant ruling can currently be found in the Lost Grimoire rulebook. It hasn't yet been added to the supplement.

X Mana Cost Spells
The value of X in X mana cost spells is determined by that spell's text. In the case of spells like Dispel and Dissolve, this value is determined when the spell is cast. In other spells such as Purify and Clear Mind, this cost is calculated after the spell resolves.

DaveW

  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 648
  • Banana Stickers 2
    • View Profile
Re: Second Chance and Ring of Asyra interaction
« Reply #6 on: May 12, 2017, 07:28:59 AM »
Thanks. I guess I better get Lost Grimoire....
  • Favourite Mage: Straywood Beastmaster

Coshade

  • Arcane Duels Host
  • Global Moderator
  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 1627
  • Banana Stickers 6
    • View Profile
    • Arcane Duels!
Re: Second Chance and Ring of Asyra interaction
« Reply #7 on: May 12, 2017, 11:21:08 AM »
Both Jacksmack and Zuberi earn a sweet Banana Sticker. Enjoy
  • Favourite Mage: Malakai Priest