December 15, 2018, 03:40:14 PM

Author Topic: lesser invisibility  (Read 562 times)

exid

  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 862
  • Banana Stickers 4
  • The longer the better!
    • View Profile
lesser invisibility
« on: January 07, 2018, 09:44:38 AM »
if I reveal LI after the declare spell step, is the spell cancelled?

LoS is lost, does it make the target ilegal?

Sailor Vulcan

  • Secret Identity: Imaginator
  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 3128
  • Banana Stickers 3
    • View Profile
Re: lesser invisibility
« Reply #1 on: January 07, 2018, 10:17:51 AM »
You can only reveal lesser invisibility when you have priority. Priority means whenever you would be able to use a hand of bim's effect. So you cannot reveal lesser invisibility during an opponent's action.
  • Favourite Mage: Salenia Forcemaster
I am Sailor Vulcan! Champion of justice and reason! And yes, I am already aware my uniform is considered flashy, unprofessional, and borderline sexually provocative for my species by most intelligent lifeforms. I did not choose this outfit. Shut up.

exid

  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 862
  • Banana Stickers 4
  • The longer the better!
    • View Profile
Re: lesser invisibility
« Reply #2 on: January 07, 2018, 10:19:18 AM »
 :-[

well... next i'll read the card befor asking!

Kelanen

  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 1158
  • Banana Stickers 1
    • View Profile
Re: lesser invisibility
« Reply #3 on: January 07, 2018, 01:43:26 PM »
This was precisely to stop it being used as a counterspell... ;)

exid

  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 862
  • Banana Stickers 4
  • The longer the better!
    • View Profile
Re: lesser invisibility
« Reply #4 on: January 07, 2018, 01:47:42 PM »
so if LoS would be lost before the resolve step, the spell would be cancelled?

Kelanen

  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 1158
  • Banana Stickers 1
    • View Profile
Re: lesser invisibility
« Reply #5 on: January 07, 2018, 02:21:24 PM »
Correct. This is how Divine Intervention is used to counter spells.

It's currently the only spell that can cause this though (and L4, Epic), and I suspect there will never be another.

Other effects that potentially could do this are written to either use Upkeep or Priority to prevent the timing ever being used that way.

Obsidian Soul

  • Full Mage
  • ***
  • Posts: 176
  • Banana Stickers 1
    • View Profile
Re: lesser invisibility
« Reply #6 on: January 07, 2018, 06:46:31 PM »
I imagine that there could be a Dark version sometime, perhaps called Passage through the Underworld (otherwise identical to Divine Intervention).

exid

  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 862
  • Banana Stickers 4
  • The longer the better!
    • View Profile
Re: lesser invisibility
« Reply #7 on: January 08, 2018, 12:28:37 AM »
Correct. This is how Divine Intervention is used to counter spells.

divine intervention is a teleportation, it's clearly specified in the rules that teleportation cancelles the spell.

Beldin

  • The Craziest
  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 727
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: lesser invisibility
« Reply #8 on: January 15, 2018, 03:29:30 AM »
I imagine that there could be a Dark version sometime, perhaps called Passage through the Underworld (otherwise identical to Divine Intervention).

It would worded quite differently. I would vote that such a spell would also require priority