December 15, 2018, 05:34:51 PM

Author Topic: from accademy  (Read 631 times)

exid

  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 862
  • Banana Stickers 4
  • The longer the better!
    • View Profile
from accademy
« on: January 07, 2018, 01:45:39 PM »
When do dodge, redirect or repulsion field reveal in arena?

during the declare attack step (as written) or during the avoid attack step (as in arena cards)?

RomeoXero

  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 600
  • Banana Stickers 6
    • View Profile
Re: from accademy
« Reply #1 on: January 07, 2018, 02:02:34 PM »
 they reveal as written. This way a dodge and a glancing blow can be used In tandem. I believe. Not in front of the cards right now. Regardless of the second part of the answer, they reveal during declare attack as written.
  • Favourite Mage: Wychwood Druid
I love this game. Its awesome!

Kelanen

  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 1158
  • Banana Stickers 1
    • View Profile
Re: from accademy
« Reply #2 on: January 07, 2018, 02:22:42 PM »
Yes, they Reveal as written, which is known to be different to the point an Arena-written card would trigger. This is known and intended (or at least knowingly accepted), and as Romeo says, will let you layer defences.

Sailor Vulcan

  • Secret Identity: Imaginator
  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 3128
  • Banana Stickers 3
    • View Profile
Re: from accademy
« Reply #3 on: January 07, 2018, 04:30:03 PM »
Repulsion field does not reveal during avoid attack step even in arena. It says cancel attack it is not a defense.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-J327A using Tapatalk

  • Favourite Mage: Salenia Forcemaster
I am Sailor Vulcan! Champion of justice and reason! And yes, I am already aware my uniform is considered flashy, unprofessional, and borderline sexually provocative for my species by most intelligent lifeforms. I did not choose this outfit. Shut up.

exid

  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 862
  • Banana Stickers 4
  • The longer the better!
    • View Profile
Re: from accademy
« Reply #4 on: January 08, 2018, 12:26:54 AM »
thanks!

exid

  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 862
  • Banana Stickers 4
  • The longer the better!
    • View Profile
Re: from accademy
« Reply #5 on: January 13, 2018, 01:18:21 AM »
next question: fumble and repulsion field

my oponent attacks, I reveal fumble on him, his attack "doesn't affect me".
does my repulsion field trigger? (it should, since I'm attacked, but if I'm not affected...)

Zuberi

  • Rules Guru
  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 2490
  • Banana Stickers 56
    • View Profile
Re: from accademy
« Reply #6 on: January 13, 2018, 04:30:58 AM »
Repulsion Field would trigger. But luckily, Fumble is optional so you can just choose not to reveal it.

exid

  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 862
  • Banana Stickers 4
  • The longer the better!
    • View Profile
Re: from accademy
« Reply #7 on: January 13, 2018, 10:01:09 AM »
well... I would prefer to be abble to choose one or the other  :)

thanks!

Sailor Vulcan

  • Secret Identity: Imaginator
  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 3128
  • Banana Stickers 3
    • View Profile
Re: from accademy
« Reply #8 on: January 13, 2018, 10:32:52 AM »
If fumble had not been optional, it still would not be revealed. Fumble makes an attack miss, and repulsion field makes an attack be cancelled. Correct me if I'm wrong, but cancelling an attack happens before it can hit or miss.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-J327A using Tapatalk

  • Favourite Mage: Salenia Forcemaster
I am Sailor Vulcan! Champion of justice and reason! And yes, I am already aware my uniform is considered flashy, unprofessional, and borderline sexually provocative for my species by most intelligent lifeforms. I did not choose this outfit. Shut up.

exid

  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 862
  • Banana Stickers 4
  • The longer the better!
    • View Profile
Re: from accademy
« Reply #9 on: January 14, 2018, 12:16:38 AM »
fumble is after the declare step, repulsion field too.

my hope was that fumble writes: "the attack doesn't affect the target".
out of that, both cards are revealed at the same moment.