August 16, 2018, 02:42:54 PM

Author Topic: Blind Enchantment and Daze makers  (Read 329 times)

Skra

  • New Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Blind Enchantment and Daze makers
« on: January 16, 2018, 07:01:49 PM »
Suppose an enemy creature that has a faced up Blind Enchantment and two Daze Markers attached to it melee attacks one of your creatures.

In order to succeed in the attack, the attacking enemy creature has to roll a 7 or better on the effect die, - 4 to the roll for the two daze markers, to overcome the penalty of being Dazed and continue its attack. This roll required by the Daze Markers occurs during the Declare Attack step.

But the Blind Enchantment states, "during the Roll to Miss, step, roll the effect die. If the roll is 6 or less, the attack misses."

Considering the two effect die rolls are required to occur during two different steps of the attack, does the attacking creature have to role the effect die twice in order to successfully attack? (once for the two Daze Markers and once for the Blind Enchantment)
If so, do the two Daze Markers on the attacking enemy creature penalize the effect die roll required by the Blindness Enchantment?
It'd be a lot cooler if you did...

Coshade

  • Arcane Duels Host
  • Global Moderator
  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 1831
  • Banana Stickers 6
    • View Profile
    • Arcane Duels!
Re: Blind Enchantment and Daze makers
« Reply #1 on: January 16, 2018, 07:17:19 PM »
Suppose an enemy creature that has a faced up Blind Enchantment and two Daze Markers attached to it melee attacks one of your creatures.

In order to succeed in the attack, the attacking enemy creature has to roll a 7 or better on the effect die, - 4 to the roll for the two daze markers, to overcome the penalty of being Dazed and continue its attack. This roll required by the Daze Markers occurs during the Declare Attack step.

But the Blind Enchantment states, "during the Roll to Miss, step, roll the effect die. If the roll is 6 or less, the attack misses."

Considering the two effect die rolls are required to occur during two different steps of the attack, does the attacking creature have to role the effect die twice in order to successfully attack? (once for the two Daze Markers and once for the Blind Enchantment)
If so, do the two Daze Markers on the attacking enemy creature penalize the effect die roll required by the Blindness Enchantment?


Hey there,

So there are a few things to break apart here.

In the second paragraph you say there are two daze markers and its a -4 to the effect roll. That is not true. There are no negatives to your chance to hit something with any amount of daze markers. The cumulative -2 applies only to a defense roll. So you would get a -4 to use a defense with 2 dazes. Blind however has no effect on defense.

When it comes to making an attack with both a Blind and any number of daze markers you must do the following.
***Editing Due to Zuberi Comment****
Step 1: Declare Attack (any mandatory enchantments are revealed)
Step 2:Pay Costs (if appropriate)
Step 3: Roll to Miss: At this step roll for Daze (7+ proceed). This is where you would roll Blind (7+ proceed).
Proceed as normal with attack steps.
****
It's pretty powerful to do as a combo together. Part of what makes holy good against rushes is the ability to do something like this.

I hope I answered your question!
« Last Edit: January 17, 2018, 12:11:35 PM by Coshade »
  • Favourite Mage: Malakai Priest

Skra

  • New Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Blind Enchantment and Daze makers
« Reply #2 on: January 16, 2018, 07:26:06 PM »
Ah. That clears things up.

Thank you very much Coshade.
It'd be a lot cooler if you did...

Zuberi

  • Acolyte of the Dice Gods
  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 2477
  • Banana Stickers 56
    • View Profile
Re: Blind Enchantment and Daze makers
« Reply #3 on: January 17, 2018, 11:21:47 AM »
Actually, you resolve the Daze effects during the Roll to Miss step, not the Declare Attack Step. This was changed in the 4th edition of the game. Prior to that, there was no Roll to Miss step, so you back then you would resolve Daze during the Declare Attack Step, but now Roll to Miss exists. This is actually very important, as the 4th edition also created a new step for Paying Costs. Thus, if you resolved Daze during the Declare Attack Step and you missed, you would avoid having to pay any costs required by the attack (cause you'd then skip that step). That's just not allowed. You HAVE to pay for your attack, even if it ends up missing.

You would indeed still have to succeed on both rolls though.

Coshade

  • Arcane Duels Host
  • Global Moderator
  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 1831
  • Banana Stickers 6
    • View Profile
    • Arcane Duels!
Re: Blind Enchantment and Daze makers
« Reply #4 on: January 17, 2018, 12:12:26 PM »
Ah thanks Zuberi! I should probably get rid of my old core rules book and just use the online one. I edited the comment above to reflect it incase someone checks this thread out. Also another sticker for your pile!
  • Favourite Mage: Malakai Priest