September 20, 2018, 02:16:20 AM

Author Topic: Goblin Legionnaire casting cost  (Read 791 times)

Biblofilter

  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 805
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Goblin Legionnaire casting cost
« on: January 17, 2018, 06:10:38 PM »
Could you help me out?

How much does it cost to cast 3 GL at once?
  • Favourite Mage: Wychwood Druid
"Töten". "Alles Töten".
Best strat advice ever

Reddicediaries

  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 1053
  • Banana Stickers 1
  • Out of the ashes, a new power will rise.
    • View Profile
Re: Goblin Legionnaire casting cost
« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2018, 06:18:26 PM »
Could you help me out?

How much does it cost to cast 3 GL at once?
Pretty sure it costs 11 (3+4+4).
The Phoenix shall rise.

silverclawgrizzly

  • Charlotte Mage Warrior
  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 2480
  • Banana Stickers 4
    • View Profile
Re: Goblin Legionnaire casting cost
« Reply #2 on: January 17, 2018, 06:49:16 PM »
Or 9 if you're a boss with the ring and cape!
  • Favourite Mage: Straywood Beastmaster
What we must all remember is no matter the game we were all newbies at one point.

Puddnhead

  • Member of Arcane Duels; MageCast Co-host
  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 1480
  • Banana Stickers 7
    • View Profile
Re: Goblin Legionnaire casting cost
« Reply #3 on: January 17, 2018, 08:44:12 PM »
With a fully functional Barracks it costs you 6.

3 from barracks (don't use the ring discount)
2 for the next one (ring and cloak)
4 for the last one.

Point to consider.  The barracks one that comes out first must follow the normal barracks deploy rules, the other two are cast by your mage, but must be placed in the same zone as the first goblin effectively giving those other two goblins range infinite.
  • Favourite Mage: Salenia Forcemaster

Arkdeniz

  • Full Mage
  • ***
  • Posts: 183
  • Banana Stickers 1
  • Hated by the Dice
    • View Profile
Re: Goblin Legionnaire casting cost
« Reply #4 on: January 17, 2018, 09:49:21 PM »
I did not think you could use the discount from the Ring or Cape on the second or third Legionnaire.

The Legionnaire card seems pretty unequivocal that you may pay 4 mana to summon an additional copy of the spell, not that you are casting that second copy (noting that  ‘casting’ is central to the Signet Ring’s or Commander’s Cape’s power).

It is like extending a wall, from my reading. You cast one section, but can then place a further section as part of the same action. You do not cast that second section.


  • Favourite Mage: Darkfenne Necromancer
"Frost damage is a scam an armor dealer invented once to make a Beastmaster buy a new fur" - Exid

Puddnhead

  • Member of Arcane Duels; MageCast Co-host
  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 1480
  • Banana Stickers 7
    • View Profile
Re: Goblin Legionnaire casting cost
« Reply #5 on: January 17, 2018, 10:27:34 PM »
You're still summoning them.  The rings apply when you summon a soldier.
  • Favourite Mage: Salenia Forcemaster

Arkdeniz

  • Full Mage
  • ***
  • Posts: 183
  • Banana Stickers 1
  • Hated by the Dice
    • View Profile
Re: Goblin Legionnaire casting cost
« Reply #6 on: January 17, 2018, 11:08:13 PM »
You're still summoning them.  The rings apply when you summon a soldier.

Not sure about that. They apply to Casting, not Summoning.

From the cards:
Commander’s Cape: ‘Once per round you may pay 1 less mana when you cast or reveal a command spell or cast a soldier creature spell’
General’s Signet Ring: ‘This mage may pay 1 less mana when he, or a Spawnpoint he controls, casts a soldier spell.’
Legionnaire: when summoned, you may pay 4 mana. If you do, immediately summon a Goblin Legionnaire from your spellbook, into the zone, as a free action.

(Compare the language on Legionnaire to the language on extending walls:  "As you cast a wall, you may choose to pay an additional cost equal to the casting cost of the wall plus the wall’s Level. If you do, when the spell resolves, you may get a second copy of that same wall from your spellbook and place it as a continuation of the first wall." Nobody has ever taken damage from a Magebane for extending a wall, so that is certainly not considered 'casting'.)

I don’t think there is a correlation that ‘summon’=‘cast’, as you suggest.

From the supplement: ‘Summoning is the act of bringing a creature into play and placing it in the arena.’

Up to the release of the Academy Warlord there was only oneway to summon soldiers - casting either by the mage or a barracks. But now there seems to be a second option for these creatures.

So all the Legionnaires are Summoned, but only the first one is Cast and entitled to any discount.

The best cost I can see is the mage casting the first with both ring and cape: 1+4+4=9. From barracks only the ring applies to the first one, so 2+4+4=10.
« Last Edit: January 18, 2018, 12:48:51 AM by Arkdeniz »
  • Favourite Mage: Darkfenne Necromancer
"Frost damage is a scam an armor dealer invented once to make a Beastmaster buy a new fur" - Exid

theasaris

  • Playtester
  • Full Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 238
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Goblin Legionnaire casting cost
« Reply #7 on: April 24, 2018, 04:24:18 AM »
Do we have clarification on whether cast=summon, allowing ring and cape to work with the second and/or third legionnaire?

wtcannonjr

  • Ambassador of Wychwood
  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 722
  • Banana Stickers 2
    • View Profile
    • WBC Mage Wars Tournament
Re: Goblin Legionnaire casting cost
« Reply #8 on: April 24, 2018, 06:02:36 AM »
I always thought of "casting" as the general concept for all spell types, while "summoning" was just a specific term for casting a Creature spell. i.e. you never summon Equipment or Enchantments, only Creatures.

It would be nice to get an official clarification on these terms.
  • Favourite Mage: Wychwood Druid
"Not everything that is faced can be changed, but nothing can be changed until it is faced." - James Baldwin

DaveW

  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 788
  • Banana Stickers 3
    • View Profile
Re: Goblin Legionnaire casting cost
« Reply #9 on: April 25, 2018, 09:13:48 PM »
Isn’t it that you cast each spell, regardless of type, and if the spell happens to be a creature, you summon it?
  • Favourite Mage: Asyra Priestess

exid

  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 854
  • Banana Stickers 4
  • The longer the better!
    • View Profile
Re: Goblin Legionnaire casting cost
« Reply #10 on: April 25, 2018, 11:09:14 PM »
I think both interpretations make sense -> rules supplement!

Kharhaz

  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 2091
  • Banana Stickers 6
    • View Profile
Re: Goblin Legionnaire casting cost
« Reply #11 on: April 26, 2018, 11:36:49 AM »
From the codex

"Summon
When a creature comes into play and is placed in the arena it is Summoned.
Usually this occurs when a creature spell has been cast and successfully resolves."

Usually occurs when a creature spell is cast and resolved; so there is a clear distinction that summoning is not casting.

DaveW

  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 788
  • Banana Stickers 3
    • View Profile
Re: Goblin Legionnaire casting cost
« Reply #12 on: April 26, 2018, 10:05:38 PM »
Then anytime a creature is cast it is summoned...  BUT not necessarily the other way around
« Last Edit: April 26, 2018, 10:10:53 PM by DaveW »
  • Favourite Mage: Asyra Priestess

wtcannonjr

  • Ambassador of Wychwood
  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 722
  • Banana Stickers 2
    • View Profile
    • WBC Mage Wars Tournament
Re: Goblin Legionnaire casting cost
« Reply #13 on: April 27, 2018, 05:53:57 AM »
From the codex

"Summon
When a creature comes into play and is placed in the arena it is Summoned.
Usually this occurs when a creature spell has been cast and successfully resolves."

Usually occurs when a creature spell is cast and resolved; so there is a clear distinction that summoning is not casting.

Can't get more 'official' than a quote from the Codex. :)

Thanks! I need to read more before posting.
  • Favourite Mage: Wychwood Druid
"Not everything that is faced can be changed, but nothing can be changed until it is faced." - James Baldwin

theasaris

  • Playtester
  • Full Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 238
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Goblin Legionnaire casting cost
« Reply #14 on: April 27, 2018, 09:17:24 AM »
So indeed ring and cape do NOT work with the additional Legionnaires and Arkdeniz is correct. :/

So all the Legionnaires are Summoned, but only the first one is Cast and entitled to any discount.

The best cost I can see is the mage casting the first with both ring and cape: 1+4+4=9. From barracks only the ring applies to the first one, so 2+4+4=10.