May 26, 2018, 09:02:11 AM

Author Topic: Gerard Matrange  (Read 253 times)

Santar

  • Jr. Mage
  • **
  • Posts: 94
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Gerard Matrange
« on: February 02, 2018, 07:11:12 AM »
Hi Mages!
Gerard Matrange's text: your Mage may spend Gold tokens as mana when THEY summon solder or pirate creatures.

Can I use Gold when summon from Barraks or Echo of the Depths?

Puddnhead

  • Member of Arcane Duels; MageCast Co-host
  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 1435
  • Banana Stickers 7
    • View Profile
Re: Gerard Matrange
« Reply #1 on: February 02, 2018, 07:24:49 AM »
No you cannot use gold tokens in combination with a spawn point. Look at general's signet or death ring as a comparison.
  • Favourite Mage: Salenia Forcemaster

Santar

  • Jr. Mage
  • **
  • Posts: 94
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Gerard Matrange
« Reply #2 on: February 02, 2018, 11:09:15 AM »
So why it's WHEY keyword?

Example: ring of beasts: once per round, this mage may pay 1 mana less when HE casts...
ring of the ocean's depth's: when he or she casts...


Puddnhead

  • Member of Arcane Duels; MageCast Co-host
  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 1435
  • Banana Stickers 7
    • View Profile
Re: Gerard Matrange
« Reply #3 on: February 02, 2018, 12:43:38 PM »
"They" is gender neutral plural in English, however it has increasingly been used as a gender neutral singular as well. Mage Wars is no exception.
If the Mage is casting a creature, the Mage may use the gold tokens.  If the spawnpoint is casting the creature the spawnpoint may not use the gold tokens.
  • Favourite Mage: Salenia Forcemaster

drmambo23

  • Ambassador
  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 551
  • Banana Stickers 2
    • View Profile
Re: Gerard Matrange
« Reply #4 on: February 02, 2018, 01:11:20 PM »
Spawnpoints only get a discount if a card specifically states that you can, death ring, soldier ring i think is one, etc.

Like ring applies to both but cape only applies to mage.

Like puddin said, they is a neutral plural for english so its an easier way of say he or she
  • Favourite Mage: Darkfenne Necromancer
"Only the dead have seen the end of war"

Arkdeniz

  • Full Mage
  • ***
  • Posts: 150
  • Banana Stickers 1
  • Hated by the Dice
    • View Profile
Re: Gerard Matrange
« Reply #5 on: February 02, 2018, 01:47:03 PM »
Everyone is right. In the text on Matranga's card "they" = "your mage".
  • Favourite Mage: Darkfenne Necromancer
"Frost damage is a scam an armor dealer invented once to make a Beastmaster buy a new fur" - Exid

Santar

  • Jr. Mage
  • **
  • Posts: 94
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Gerard Matrange
« Reply #6 on: February 05, 2018, 11:39:35 AM »
Thanks for the explanations. I want to be clear in this moment :)