February 22, 2018, 02:59:05 PM

Author Topic: Armory and Royal Armorer  (Read 148 times)

Arkdeniz

  • Full Mage
  • ***
  • Posts: 117
  • Banana Stickers 1
    • View Profile
Armory and Royal Armorer
« on: February 12, 2018, 05:16:22 AM »
Just want to check my understanding here.

the Royal Armourer gives a +1 Armour token to a soldier that does not already have one, while the Armory just gives +1 Armour.

The Armoury’s power will not interfere with the Armourer’s power, correct?

A Vet token gives +1 melee and +1 armour. Does that count as an Armour +1 token for the purpose of the Armourer? I assume it is something different again.
  • Favourite Mage: Darkfenne Necromancer
"Frost damage is a scam an armor dealer invented once to make a Beastmaster buy a new fur" - Exid

Grimstringer

  • New Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 26
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Armory and Royal Armorer
« Reply #1 on: February 12, 2018, 05:53:04 AM »
Just want to check my understanding here.

the Royal Armourer gives a +1 Armour token to a soldier that does not already have one, while the Armory just gives +1 Armour.

The Armoury’s power will not interfere with the Armourer’s power, correct?

A Vet token gives +1 melee and +1 armour. Does that count as an Armour +1 token for the purpose of the Armourer? I assume it is something different again.

armory doesn't give tokens, it's an effect that is active as long as armory remains, like warlord's orders give +1 armor while guarding, until end of turn, the token is something more permanent

DevilsVendetta

  • Full Mage
  • ***
  • Posts: 236
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Armory and Royal Armorer
« Reply #2 on: February 12, 2018, 06:28:18 AM »
The armorer is separate from everything else that gives bonus armor. Hypothetically you could have the crown of protection and Armorer and stack armor on a creature. One from Armorer and unlimited from crown.

SirJasonCrage

  • New Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Armory and Royal Armorer
« Reply #3 on: February 12, 2018, 06:50:39 AM »
I was actually under the impression that crown is actually the one thing that does interfere with the armorer.

Those two are the only things in the game that place armor tokens. If you use crown first, you can't use armorer, since armorer clearly states he can be used on creatures without armor tokens.

Puddnhead

  • Member of Arcane Duels; MageCast Co-host
  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 1407
  • Banana Stickers 6
    • View Profile
Re: Armory and Royal Armorer
« Reply #4 on: February 12, 2018, 07:16:58 AM »
Sir Jason is correct. Royal Armorer interacts with only "armor +1" tokens. Everything else can exist simultaneously on a creature and it will not block the armorer's ability. If you use the Armorer first, you are still able to use the crown. If you use the crown first, you may not use the Armorer on the same creature.
  • Favourite Mage: Salenia Forcemaster

DevilsVendetta

  • Full Mage
  • ***
  • Posts: 236
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Armory and Royal Armorer
« Reply #5 on: February 12, 2018, 07:31:52 AM »
I don't understand the rules for this game. I really don't.

Arkdeniz

  • Full Mage
  • ***
  • Posts: 117
  • Banana Stickers 1
    • View Profile
Re: Armory and Royal Armorer
« Reply #6 on: February 12, 2018, 01:31:04 PM »
Good. Thanks everyone.

Always nice to see I was reading something right.
  • Favourite Mage: Darkfenne Necromancer
"Frost damage is a scam an armor dealer invented once to make a Beastmaster buy a new fur" - Exid

Arkdeniz

  • Full Mage
  • ***
  • Posts: 117
  • Banana Stickers 1
    • View Profile
Re: Armory and Royal Armorer
« Reply #7 on: February 14, 2018, 12:43:48 AM »
Another wording question:

Alandell:
“He gains Melee +1 and adds +1 to his effect rolls for each mana spent”

Now, this does not seem 100% clear to me.

Does each mana give +1 melee and +1 effect,
or
does the first mana give +1 melee and +1 effect, and each subsequent mana only gives a +1 effect

I can read both options into the wording.

What is the right one?
  • Favourite Mage: Darkfenne Necromancer
"Frost damage is a scam an armor dealer invented once to make a Beastmaster buy a new fur" - Exid

RomeoXero

  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 546
  • Banana Stickers 6
    • View Profile
Re: Armory and Royal Armorer
« Reply #8 on: February 14, 2018, 02:35:36 AM »
 The former. He gains both melee plus one and +1 effect die value per mana spent. 4 mana= melee plus 4 effect die plus 4
  • Favourite Mage: Wychwood Druid
I love this game. Its awesome!

Arkdeniz

  • Full Mage
  • ***
  • Posts: 117
  • Banana Stickers 1
    • View Profile
Re: Armory and Royal Armorer
« Reply #9 on: February 14, 2018, 04:30:05 AM »
That was certainly my first assumption, given how expensive he is.
  • Favourite Mage: Darkfenne Necromancer
"Frost damage is a scam an armor dealer invented once to make a Beastmaster buy a new fur" - Exid

DaveW

  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 723
  • Banana Stickers 3
    • View Profile
Re: Armory and Royal Armorer
« Reply #10 on: February 14, 2018, 02:42:06 PM »
It would have been the latter had there been a comma after the phrase “Melee +1”

Also, if that were the case, the melee +1 would not depend on spending any mana at all... the effect would be constant. The comma would separate the melee bonus from any discussion on spending mana.
« Last Edit: February 14, 2018, 06:06:19 PM by DaveW »
  • Favourite Mage: Asyra Priestess