July 19, 2018, 10:00:09 PM

Author Topic: Revealing enchantment without paying its reveal cost  (Read 147 times)

Kaarin

  • Sr. Mage
  • ****
  • Posts: 370
  • Banana Stickers 2
    • View Profile
Revealing enchantment without paying its reveal cost
« on: June 19, 2018, 04:45:32 AM »
Does it still count as revealing an enchantment for purposes of 'whenever your Mage casts or reveals a xx spell' effects?
Quote
The second cost, next to the open eye, is the reveal cost, which
you may pay when the spell is revealed. When an enchantment is
revealed, if the reveal cost is not paid, because you canít pay it or
choose not to, the spell is destroyed immediately without effect.
« Last Edit: June 19, 2018, 04:47:53 AM by Kaarin »
  • Favourite Mage: Bloodwave Warlord
OCTGN: Wstrzasniety (UTC+2)

RomeoXero

  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 591
  • Banana Stickers 6
    • View Profile
Re: Revealing enchantment without paying its reveal cost
« Reply #1 on: June 19, 2018, 07:07:19 AM »
 No. Under those circumstances the spell does not resolve and it would be destroyed with no effect.
  • Favourite Mage: Wychwood Druid
I love this game. Its awesome!

Kaarin

  • Sr. Mage
  • ****
  • Posts: 370
  • Banana Stickers 2
    • View Profile
Re: Revealing enchantment without paying its reveal cost
« Reply #2 on: June 21, 2018, 07:53:02 PM »
I'm not asking about effect of the enchantment but other spell that has 'whenever your Mage casts or reveals a xx spell' effect.
  • Favourite Mage: Bloodwave Warlord
OCTGN: Wstrzasniety (UTC+2)

Puddnhead

  • Member of Arcane Duels; MageCast Co-host
  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 1447
  • Banana Stickers 7
    • View Profile
Re: Revealing enchantment without paying its reveal cost
« Reply #3 on: June 21, 2018, 08:11:41 PM »
The spell has to resolve in order to trigger those effects. So, no, it doesn't work. Romeo is just explaining why it doesn't work.
  • Favourite Mage: Salenia Forcemaster

Zuberi

  • Acolyte of the Dice Gods
  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 2474
  • Banana Stickers 56
    • View Profile
Re: Revealing enchantment without paying its reveal cost
« Reply #4 on: June 21, 2018, 08:27:33 PM »
I'm having trouble thinking of a situation in which this would matter and am curious what you're thinking about to give this more context. As is, I think the most complete answer would be to point you towards the steps for revealing an enchantment in the Supplement. They rarely matter, to the point that they're not even mentioned in the core rules, but they do exist. They are:

1. Show the enchantment
2. Counter the enchantment (only usable by effects that specifically say they can counter reveals)
3. Pay Costs
4. Resolve the effect

When you are unable to pay the cost in step 3, the reveal is canceled and the card is discarded. I believe this would prevent any effects contingent on the reveal occurring.

jacksmack

  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 1012
  • Banana Stickers 19
    • View Profile
Re: Revealing enchantment without paying its reveal costl
« Reply #5 on: June 22, 2018, 02:26:03 AM »
Is it priestess gain 1 life ability?