October 17, 2018, 06:58:16 AM

Author Topic: Can the Samara Tree cast a Seedling Pod without using a vine token?  (Read 140 times)

Werekingdom

  • Full Mage
  • ***
  • Posts: 137
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Does anyone know if using a vine token is a requirement for casting the Seedling Pod?

I was thinking that since the Pod card says that it can be casted from 0-1, then the Tree could cast the Pod without wasting a Vine token if it was within the 0-1 range.

  • Favourite Mage: Malakai Priest
Kill with Tanglevine

wtcannonjr

  • Ambassador of Wychwood
  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 740
  • Banana Stickers 2
    • View Profile
    • WBC Mage Wars Tournament
Re: Can the Samara Tree cast a Seedling Pod without using a vine token?
« Reply #1 on: September 22, 2018, 09:26:44 PM »
No, the Vine is not a requirement for casting the spell. Only for extending the range of the spell beyond what is printed on the card.

The Samara Tree can cast a Seedling Pod with or without the use of a Vine token. The Vine token is only required if you want to cast the spell beyond the range printed on the card. So, you can cast the spell in range 0 to 1 zone of the Samara Tree without using a Vine token.

This rule applies similarly for when the Druid is casting the spell.
  • Favourite Mage: Wychwood Druid
"Not everything that is faced can be changed, but nothing can be changed until it is faced." - James Baldwin