March 20, 2019, 04:43:37 AM

Author Topic: Regarding replacement of equipment  (Read 205 times)

cmedyk

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Regarding replacement of equipment
« on: December 21, 2018, 03:45:52 PM »
Can the mage replace the equipment himself for the already occupied location?

Example.
The mage already has a weapon and would like to exchange for a different weapon.

Please point me to text in Rulebook. For now I've found that mage can replace equipment to friendly's mage equipment.
« Last Edit: December 21, 2018, 04:53:11 PM by cmedyk »

farkas1

  • Playtester
  • Sr. Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 497
  • Banana Stickers 1
    • View Profile
Re: Regarding replacement of equipment
« Reply #1 on: December 21, 2018, 07:57:55 PM »
Page 21 under replacing equipment
  • Favourite Mage: Straywood Beastmaster

Arkdeniz

  • Full Mage
  • ***
  • Posts: 235
  • Banana Stickers 2
  • Hated by the Dice
    • View Profile
Re: Regarding replacement of equipment
« Reply #2 on: December 21, 2018, 09:39:39 PM »
the rule on page 21 states:

"If an equipment object of the same name or location is cast upon a Mage, if the spell is friendly controlled, the new equipment object is placed on the Mage, and the duplicate item (the original one which has the same name or location) is removed and placed in its owner’s spellbook. In this manner, friendly Mages can replace equipment on each other with newer or better choices.
"Note that an enemy controlled equipment spell cannot replace equipment on a Mage. In such a case the spell is canceled and discarded without effect."

This means that you can replace your own equipment, since your mage is friendly in regards to itself. This is useful for such purposes as replacing armour that has corrode markers, changing to a new weapon that can counter defences or flying, changing from a spell discount ring to an increased damage ring, and so on.

You can also cast equipment on opponent mages. Generally you wouldn't want to, but equipment like the Eye of Bael can be harmful to some users. 
  • Favourite Mage: Darkfenne Necromancer
"Frost damage is a scam an armor dealer invented once to make a Beastmaster buy a new fur" - Exid


'No! Winter is coming." - Elementalist

Zuberi

  • Rules Guru
  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 2495
  • Banana Stickers 57
    • View Profile
Re: Regarding replacement of equipment
« Reply #3 on: December 22, 2018, 01:01:41 AM »
It mostly repeats what has already been said, but there is a small amount of additional information on page 9 of the Rules supplement. Specifically, it gives the procedure for replacing equipment. That procedure is as follows:

1.First, unattach and remove the original equipment object, with a duplicate name or location. This item is then placed back into its owner’s spellbook.
2.If this Mage has any Corrode markers on himself (see “Corrode”), remove any excess markers so that his armor value is not less than zero.
3.Next, attach the new equipment item onto the Mage.

The two previous replies though did a marvelous job answering the question. I think the most important thing here that was causing confusion is that OP seems to have not realized that their own Mage counts as friendly to themself. According to the codex section for Friendly, it includes any object which is controlled by the player or another player on their team. You control your own Mage, thus your Mage is friendly. Just like Arkdeniz said.

cmedyk

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Regarding replacement of equipment
« Reply #4 on: December 22, 2018, 10:58:33 AM »
the rule on page 21 states:

"If an equipment object of the same name or location is cast upon a Mage, if the spell is friendly controlled, the new equipment object is placed on the Mage, and the duplicate item (the original one which has the same name or location) is removed and placed in its owner’s spellbook. In this manner, friendly Mages can replace equipment on each other with newer or better choices.
"Note that an enemy controlled equipment spell cannot replace equipment on a Mage. In such a case the spell is canceled and discarded without effect."

This means that you can replace your own equipment, since your mage is friendly in regards to itself. This is useful for such purposes as replacing armour that has corrode markers, changing to a new weapon that can counter defences or flying, changing from a spell discount ring to an increased damage ring, and so on.

You can also cast equipment on opponent mages. Generally you wouldn't want to, but equipment like the Eye of Bael can be harmful to some users.

I had the same impression reading this but I asked about this to make sure. Thank you