February 24, 2020, 01:26:34 AM

Author Topic: Tanglevine, Maim Wings, Dispel.  (Read 1506 times)

Chialike

  • New Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Tanglevine, Maim Wings, Dispel.
« on: November 24, 2012, 09:23:56 PM »
So I was playing with my fiance earlier and had one of the legendary angels out. She laid Maim wings on her, then tangle vine (which states that it can not target a creature with flying). Next round i used Dispel, removing the maim wing. My question is what happens to the Tanglevine? Does it fall off and go to the discard because it can no longer legally target the now flying angel, or does the word 'target' refer specifically to when the card is played and thus it remains on her?

Arcanus

  • Administrator
  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 1000
  • Banana Stickers 2
    • View Profile
Re: Tanglevine, Maim Wings, Dispel.
« Reply #1 on: November 24, 2012, 10:11:28 PM »
Great question.

When something is Restrained (such as by Tanglevine), it loses and cannot gain the Flying trait.  So, even though the Maim Wings is removed, the angel still cannot gain flying because it is held by the Tanglevine (Restrained).  She'll need to destroy the Tanglevine to regain flying.

Sounds like you've been having some great fun with the Angels!

Chialike

  • New Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Tanglevine, Maim Wings, Dispel.
« Reply #2 on: November 24, 2012, 10:33:49 PM »
Ah! That makes sense. Thanks for the prompt answer!

The angels are tons of fun!