July 23, 2018, 02:30:50 AM

Author Topic: Decoy  (Read 1549 times)

Aquila

  • New Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 28
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Decoy
« on: December 02, 2012, 06:52:53 PM »
I have a question about Decoy!

Is it possible to play decoy on an opponent mage to force him to reveal a hidden enchantment AND get 2 mana from it? (so for free!)
For example:
Hidden E. is a Nullify. I play Decoy, he must reveal, I get 2 mana, both cards are off the board..?
But Decoy says, that you gain 2 mana only if it's destroyed! And Nullify says, the spell is counterd!
Is this the same as destroyed?
And if this does not work, for what the heck is Decoy than?
I think fooling your opponent to cast a hellfire trap could not be the only idea of this card?

Thanks a lot! :)

Oneig Atyff

  • New Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Decoy
« Reply #1 on: December 05, 2012, 08:12:33 PM »
Decoy have plenty of utility !

First of all you can place it on a zone to make the opponent think it's a trap.
Or you can play it on en creature to make your opponent think you buff/curse the creature.

But the most useful utility is that you reveal the Decoy whenever you want and recover the 2 mana !
So it's a very smart manner to hide mana !

Example :
The opponent have the initiative,
He quick cast a mana powerful mana drain that let you with 2 mana only.
He smile and think you can't do anything against him this turn.
At his full action he cast a powerful attack spell on you such as "chain lightning"
Then you can reveal enchantment after any action, you reveal 2 Decoy you place at the beginning of the game and are now up to 6 mana.
Yes you now have enough mana to reveal your reverse magic as a counterspell to redirect the chain lightning against him !

That's only one example ! I really love the Decoy, it's a very useful mana storage, and I play it when I don't really have better thing to play on a turn (you can play it whenever you want, first quick, after any friendly creature, during your action phase or at the final quick.)

Yes I'm a Decoy fan ! :p

Hedge

  • Full Mage
  • ***
  • Posts: 174
  • Banana Stickers 1
    • View Profile
Re: Decoy
« Reply #2 on: December 05, 2012, 11:23:38 PM »
in the rulebook in the glossary under countered it states that a countered spell is destroyed.

Aquila

  • New Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 28
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Decoy
« Reply #3 on: December 08, 2012, 12:16:08 PM »
Quote from: "Hedge" post=4990
in the rulebook in the glossary under countered it states that a countered spell is destroyed.



Thanks a lot again :-)