October 15, 2019, 06:34:17 AM

Author Topic: Counterattack after Counterattack  (Read 1803 times)

Mathias

  • Jr. Mage
  • **
  • Posts: 66
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Counterattack after Counterattack
« on: December 17, 2012, 05:37:00 PM »
Today this happened:

My creature has a (visible) retaliate and it attacks a guarding creature.

My creatures attacks the guard, the guard counterattacks.
Can my creature use his retaliate/counterattack to counter again?

Arcanus

  • Administrator
  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 1000
  • Banana Stickers 2
    • View Profile
Re: Counterattack after Counterattack
« Reply #1 on: December 17, 2012, 06:08:17 PM »
No, Counterstrike does not stack. No matter how many times you get the trait you only get one counterstrike.

For example, the Hydra has Counterstrike, it could be guarding, and it could have a Retaliate on it.  That's 3! Still - it just gets to make one counterstrike.

thanks!

Hedge

  • Full Mage
  • ***
  • Posts: 174
  • Banana Stickers 1
    • View Profile
Re: Counterattack after Counterattack
« Reply #2 on: December 18, 2012, 02:42:22 AM »
Arcanus- I don't think that was what he was asking. he was asking if a counter strike attack would trigger a retaliatory counterstrike.




Hedge

Mathias

  • Jr. Mage
  • **
  • Posts: 66
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Counterattack after Counterattack
« Reply #3 on: December 18, 2012, 04:23:08 AM »
Arcanus, thx for the quick replies on my answers.

Hedge is right, maybe my wording wasn't very clear.

This is what happened:
My bear with retaliate attacks my opponents angel which is in guard stance.
Because my bear attacks, the angel can counterattack.
Can may bear use his retaliate after the counterattack?

Drealin

  • Full Mage
  • ***
  • Posts: 164
  • Banana Stickers 1
    • View Profile
Re: Counterattack after Counterattack
« Reply #4 on: December 18, 2012, 12:08:31 PM »
If I remember correctly, I believe it says in the rulebook where it talks about counterstrike that you only follow the first 4 Steps of the Attack Sequence, which means that there would be no counterstrike step during a counterstrike.  If it were possible to counterstrike a counterstrike, then two hydra's would continuously counterstrike each other until one of them dies.

Mathias

  • Jr. Mage
  • **
  • Posts: 66
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Counterattack after Counterattack
« Reply #5 on: December 18, 2012, 12:14:23 PM »
Thx Drealin,

Makes sense.
I've reread the rules and in the red box it says the 7th step (counterattack) is skipped. :)

Drealin, I'm wondering if you speak Dutch?

Drealin

  • Full Mage
  • ***
  • Posts: 164
  • Banana Stickers 1
    • View Profile
Re: Counterattack after Counterattack
« Reply #6 on: December 18, 2012, 03:33:32 PM »
No, I don't speak Dutch.

Arcanus

  • Administrator
  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 1000
  • Banana Stickers 2
    • View Profile
Re: Counterattack after Counterattack
« Reply #7 on: December 20, 2012, 11:21:38 AM »
Sorry I missed the original intention of the questions, and Drealin is absolutely right - a Counterstrike can never trigger another Counterstrike.