July 23, 2018, 02:26:05 AM

Author Topic: Voltari Gate  (Read 5310 times)

Klaxas

  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 1092
  • Banana Stickers 1
    • View Profile
Re: Voltari Gate
« Reply #15 on: August 23, 2012, 02:50:18 PM »
so there is no way you can attack the gate to destroy the card unless someone forgets to use it durring the deploy phase.
Favorite Mage: The one I am using.

Shad0w

  • Global Moderator
  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 2934
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Voltari Gate
« Reply #16 on: August 24, 2012, 07:13:55 AM »
Quote from: "1unatic" post=689
Quote from: "Klaxas" post=674
you dont have to put a card on the spawnpoint do you?


No, you don't have to.  Selecting a card for the spawnpoint is optional.


That happens more often than you think it would.
"Darth come prove to meet you are worthy of the fighting for your school in the arena and not just another scholar to be discarded like an worn out rag doll"


Quote: Shad0w the Arcmage

Gigan

  • Elder
  • Jr. Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 59
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Voltari Gate
« Reply #17 on: August 24, 2012, 12:37:21 PM »
No, you can't attack a spell that hasn't been cast.  A spell shouldn't even be on the board that hasn't been cast.

You can always attack a Spawnpoint since it has its own life and armor.  In fact, I would encourage this, so your opponent doesn't overrun you with creatures.

Shad0w

  • Global Moderator
  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 2934
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Voltari Gate
« Reply #18 on: August 24, 2012, 12:51:21 PM »
What he is taking about is during the planning phase when you select a card and choose not to cast or to  cast it. The card is not in play but it is linked to the spawn point. So if you lose the spawn point you lose the card. Gigan is also correct because the card has not been cast it is not in play. therefore it ca not be attacked or targeted.

Here is part of the spawn point rules

Spawnpoints
Conjurations with the Spawnpoint trait have the
ability to cast spells for you. You select spells for your
Spawnpoints during the Planning Phase, at the same
time that you choose spells for your Mage to prepare
(one additional spell for each Spawnpoint). Usually,
the Spawnpoint can only cast certain types of spells,
as listed on the Spawnpoint’s card. Place the spell
face down near your Spawnpoint, and tell your
opponent that it is the Spawnpoint’s spell. Only your
Spawnpoint may cast that spell during the round.

I have seen player forget to cast a card on a spawn point for 3-4 turns before.
"Darth come prove to meet you are worthy of the fighting for your school in the arena and not just another scholar to be discarded like an worn out rag doll"


Quote: Shad0w the Arcmage