Arcane Wonders Forum

Mage Wars => Rules Discussion => Topic started by: Dravidius on September 25, 2013, 03:48:37 pm

Title: Gate to Votari and Enchantments
Post by: Dravidius on September 25, 2013, 03:48:37 pm
Okay gang here is the question:

Gate to Voltari says "Place one mana on the Gate when an enemy mage cast and resolves a spell."

When you cast an Enchantment, without flipping it up, does the Gate get a mana then and also when you pay mana to flip up the enchantment in order to resolve it?  The Enchantment section says you "Cast" the enchantment when you play it face down, and "resolve" when you flip it up.  If the Gate gets two man for this entire process, would it only get one if you paid the entire cost of the enchantment to play it face up to begin with? 

Any help would be appreciated, oh and I am paraphrasing things up there from memory becasue I am not looking at my spells. Thanks for the help.

sincerely,
Dravidius
Title: Re: Gate to Votari and Enchantments
Post by: sdougla2 on September 25, 2013, 03:58:54 pm
Gate of Voltari will get a mana when you cast the face down enchantment, not when you reveal it.
Title: Re: Gate to Votari and Enchantments
Post by: baronzaltor on September 25, 2013, 03:59:03 pm
Gate to Voltari gains the mana when you cast the enchantment face down.   Successfully attaching the unrevealed Enchantment is a resolved casting, so it triggers the gate.

Revealing the Enchantment isnt a spellcast, so the Gate doesn't gain mana when its revealed. (Requires both a cast and a resolve to trigger the effect)

Also Enchantments cant be played faceup by paying the entire cost, its still done in the two phases of face down casting, then revealing instantly revealing after resolving the facedown cast.  So again, only 1 would be gained
Title: Re: Gate to Votari and Enchantments
Post by: xFWx_FIREBIRD on October 04, 2013, 11:33:15 am
Gate of Voltari will get a mana when you cast the face down enchantment, not when you reveal it.

I was definitely under the impression that "whenever a Mage casts and resolves a spell" when an Enchantment is casted facedown, the Gate to Voltari does not yet receive any mana since it hasn't been resolved yet. Later, when the Enchantment is revealed and resolved, THEN the Gate to Voltari would receive the mana. That's how I've interpreted it! Thoughts?
Title: Re: Gate to Votari and Enchantments
Post by: ringkichard on October 04, 2013, 11:52:14 am
Good thinking, but not quite right. The three steps of spellcasting are:

1. Cast spell
2. Counter spell
3. Resolve spell

All spells pass through this process when they are played. Then, depending on type, some more things may happen. An attack spell, for example, then goes through the 8 steps of an attack.

Enchantments are special in that they resolve twice. The first time as a cast face down enchantment and the second time as a revealed enchantment.

This means that the Gate triggers when the spell is Cast and Resolved the first time as a face down spell, but doesn't a second time, even though it is resolved again, because it was only cast the once.

If you'd like to know more about this, check the rules v.2 pages 13, 14, and 18.
Title: Re: Gate to Votari and Enchantments
Post by: Moonglow on October 04, 2013, 03:40:40 pm
Nice clear explanation. We'd been doing it right, but for the wrong reasons. Had been confusing reveal with resolve, but had read that the gate only got mana on the cast.
Title: Re: Gate to Votari and Enchantments
Post by: Shad0w on October 07, 2013, 04:57:15 pm
Good thinking, but not quite right. The three steps of spellcasting are:

1. Cast spell
2. Counter spell
3. Resolve spell

All spells pass through this process when they are played. Then, depending on type, some more things may happen. An attack spell, for example, then goes through the 8 steps of an attack.

Enchantments are special in that they resolve twice. The first time as a cast face down enchantment and the second time as a revealed enchantment.

This means that the Gate triggers when the spell is Cast and Resolved the first time as a face down spell, but doesn't a second time, even though it is resolved again, because it was only cast the once.

If you'd like to know more about this, check the rules v.2 pages 13, 14, and 18.

Nice work ring