Arcane Wonders Forum

Mage Wars => Player Feedback and Suggestions => Topic started by: Sailor Vulcan on September 28, 2014, 03:54:08 PM

Title: wording problem in the rulebook regarding familiars
Post by: Sailor Vulcan on September 28, 2014, 03:54:08 PM
The rulebook says "when your familiar takes its action phase" in the section on familiars, which in the context it's written in seems to assume that all familiars can take action phases. My last opponent thought Sectarus had an action phase because of this. Probably should fix this so people are less likely to get confused. Thanks!
Title: Re: wording problem in the rulebook regarding familiars
Post by: Wildhorn on September 29, 2014, 01:32:24 AM
Not really.

Noway it says that Familiair get an action phase if he is not already able to. Your opponent got confused, but there was no reason to.
Title: Re: wording problem in the rulebook regarding familiars
Post by: Shad0w on October 01, 2014, 10:16:27 AM
Familiars only can take actions when they have action markers. In the case of Sectarus the card explains what triggered event allows you to cast.
Title: Re: wording problem in the rulebook regarding familiars
Post by: gdieckhaus on October 03, 2014, 12:03:15 PM
Here is the confusion...
"Sectaurus is a non creature familiar ..If sectaurus is used to attack and damage a creature it may immediately cast the spell as a free action"

Familiar rules state
"Familiars are objects that have the ability
to cast spells. Often, these objects can
channel mana as well. When a Familiar
gains mana, place the appropriate
mana counters on the object.
If you control a Familiar during the
Planning Phase, you may select a
spell for it to cast during the round. The
Familiar may have restrictions on the
types of spells you may choose. Place the spell face
down near your Familiar, and tell your opponent that
it is the Familiarís spell. Only your Familiar may cast
that spell during the round.
When your Familiar takes its Action Phase, you may
have it cast that spell. The type of action the Familiar
must take depends on the spell it is casting. The
Familiar must spend any mana that it has towards the
casting cost first. If it does not have enough mana, you
must make up the difference from your mana supply.
The Familiar is treated as the spell caster for all
purposes, such as range, etc. You control all spells
your Familiar casts"

The point is that card states that sectuarus MAY cast the enchantment as a free action when it hits.  But nowhere does it state that sectaurus has to hit to cast a spell.  Nowhere does it say sectuarus doesn't have a normal action phase... it reads as if it gets a free action in addition to its action phase.
Title: Re: wording problem in the rulebook regarding familiars
Post by: Laddinfance on October 03, 2014, 01:34:25 PM
Only creatures get action phases. Sectarus is an equipment, and so it does not get an action phase. The only time it can cast it's spell is when his ability triggers.