Arcane Wonders Forum

Mage Wars => Rules Discussion => Topic started by: exid on October 16, 2017, 12:29:29 AM

Title: formation
Post by: exid on October 16, 2017, 12:29:29 AM
Formations have 2 effects.
Is it right that the first applies in the target's zone and the second everywhere in the arena?
Title: Re: formation
Post by: Halewijn on October 16, 2017, 03:56:25 AM
No, both only apply to soldiers in their zone.
Title: Re: formation
Post by: exid on October 16, 2017, 05:26:44 AM
seems logical... but where is it written?
Title: Re: formation
Post by: Halewijn on October 16, 2017, 09:06:47 AM
It's not written explicitly because these cards are already packed with text.  All formation effects only apply to creatures in their zone. Writing "in this zone" again is pretty redundant because of the rules related to formations (1 per zone) and since it's written at the first effect too.

But, you are correct, it isn't specified again for the second ability, but it's also not specified that this ability would work in the entire arena.

Title: Re: formation
Post by: exid on October 16, 2017, 09:21:30 AM
no more than one revealed formation in a zone (rules).
first effect to "all friendly soldiers in the zone" (card).
but the second effect is specified on the card to "all friendly soldier"... a little unclear at the very least!

thanks for the clarification!
Title: Re: formation
Post by: Zuberi on October 16, 2017, 12:04:25 PM
Looking at the octgn images, since I don't have the physical cards on me, it seems that two of the formations (Fire at Will and Form Ranks) do specify "in this zone" for the secondary ability, while the other two (Dig In and Press the Attack) do not. Without that specification, the understanding would be that location doesn't matter, i.e. the effect is Arena wide.

I do believe that this is an oversight though, given what formations are supposed to represent and how the other two work. I would definitely play them as only affecting the zone and expect them to get an errata to match that. Until then I guess it's a matter of RaW vs RaI.
Title: Re: formation
Post by: exid on October 17, 2017, 06:42:46 AM
you're right!
on the cards too, 2 FaW and FR specifie "in this zone" for the second effect.
Title: Re: formation
Post by: exid on November 28, 2017, 02:55:38 PM
Another question about formation:
can the payed effect be used several times?

for example, can the controler pay 3 times 2 mana on Form ranks to make one attack roll 6 less dices?
Title: Re: formation
Post by: Zuberi on November 28, 2017, 10:00:23 PM
I will confirm with the design team, but I am pretty sure it can not be stacked like that.
Title: Re: formation
Post by: exid on November 28, 2017, 10:32:27 PM
I will confirm with the design team, but I am pretty sure it can not be stacked like that.
thanks!

it would be too powerfull!
but the card as written allows it, doesn't it?
Title: Re: formation
Post by: Zuberi on November 29, 2017, 12:07:39 AM
I donít believe so. When the trigger happens, you have the option to pay 2 mana to reduce the attack by two dice. Not to pay X and reduce the attack for every two mana spent. Iím pretty sure the card is clear, but Iím feeling a bit insecure tonight so will see what others say.
Title: Re: formation
Post by: exid on November 29, 2017, 12:49:31 AM
I see.

I think it would have been clearer to write that when the condition is completed I can do it once (that it doesn't open a window to do it as many time as I want).
I can only find the Faith Healer's staff that isn't clearly bounded too.
Title: Re: formation
Post by: Zuberi on November 29, 2017, 02:50:01 AM
I've gotten confirmation that it is indeed only once per trigger. For what it's worth, the same is true of Faith Healer's Staff (only use it once per upkeep).
Title: Re: formation
Post by: exid on November 29, 2017, 06:21:52 AM
thanks for your efficiency! (as usual)

and i hope there will be an item about formations in the next rules supplement.
Title: Re: formation
Post by: Coshade on December 06, 2017, 02:42:25 PM
I just wanted to award everyone in this thread a Banana Sticker. There is a lot of in depth thinking that went into formations and I appreciate Exid pointing out a flaw in it. Also Exid you should consider signing up to be a playtester. You have consistently pointed out these types of flaws and would be really helpful for the game.
Title: Re: formation
Post by: Kelanen on December 06, 2017, 05:51:24 PM
It does sound like there's a definite clarification section needed in the next document. Good job folks!
Title: Re: formation
Post by: exid on December 07, 2017, 03:40:12 AM
I just wanted to award everyone in this thread a Banana Sticker. There is a lot of in depth thinking that went into formations and I appreciate Exid pointing out a flaw in it. Also Exid you should consider signing up to be a playtester. You have consistently pointed out these types of flaws and would be really helpful for the game.

thank you!
... it would be a pleasure... but I don't have enough time to play (children, job,...), I wouldn't be very usefull.